Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

50 litre hot water cylinder comparison 2026

The best 50 litre hot water cylinders, compared.

Top pick: Eldom Favourite 50 litre Wi-Fi – Highest score at 86: class B, 2 kW at 230 V, a safety valve in the box, and 4.6 from 12 ratings, if you can ignore the app. Best value: TESY BiLight 50 litre horizontal – Lowest price at about £159.99, on a different listing, and the only one that states class C, profile M and 1,418 kWh a year. Updated October 2026.

Peter F.
Peter F.Editor

You buy this size for a studio, a one-person flat, a static caravan or a single shower, where a 1.5 kW or 2 kW element reheats the tank between uses. The Hot Water rule of thumb is 35–45 litres stored per person, and a bath is about 100 litres at 40 °C, so 50 litres is a short shower one person. A bath needs a larger store, such as an [80 litre hot water cylinder](/hub/hot-water/80-litre-hot-water-cylinder). The page has no star line, and the fixing bolts are not in the box. A 50 litre hot water cylinder is a wall-hung electric storage heater. An element, a thermostat, insulation and a wall bracket heat and hold about 50 litres. It is not an electric shower, which has no 50 litre store. Indirect cylinders heated by a boiler coil are a different purchase. BS EN 12897 covers indirectly heated unvented stores. Fifty litres is a short shower for one person who can wait to reheat. It is the wrong store for a bath, or for two showers back to back. What to measure before you choose orientation, watts and box contents is set out in the [50 litre cylinder buying guide](/hub/hot-water/50-litre-hot-water-cylinder/sub/50-litre-hot-water-cylinder-buying-guide).

You buy this size for a studio, a one-person flat, a static caravan or a single shower, where a 1.5 kW or 2 kW element reheats the tank between uses.

Eldom Favourite 50 litre Wi-Fi

Best overall

Eldom Favourite 50 litre Wi-Fi
8.6/10∼ £189

14 products checked · 57 hrs invested · +16,800 readers

4 of 4: Best 50 litre hot water cylinders compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 4
Best overall
Eldom Favourite 50 litre Wi-Fi
Eldom Spectra 50 litre vertical
GEESEN GK050 50 litre storage
Best value
TESY BiLight 50 litre horizontal
8.6/10
7.8/10
6.2/10
7.4/10
∼ £189
∼ £175
∼ £219
∼ £160
4.6(12)
4.2(18)
3.5(17)
–
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best 50 litre hot water cylinders in detail

Eldom Favourite 50 litre Wi-Fi

Rank 1

Eldom Favourite 50 litre Wi-Fi

∼£189

Our view

The Eldom Favourite listing is a 50 litre, 2 kW, 230 V wall store at about £189.35 with energy class B and a safety valve in the box. It scores 86, the highest in this set, and the amazon.co.uk line is 4.6 out of 5 from 12 ratings. The table size is 38.7 cm wide by 76 cm high, with a depth of 410 mm and an empty weight of 18 kg. The title says electronic control and Wi-Fi. Written reviews marked as reviewed in Germany say the My Eldom app can run it and that the panel also works without the app. Several say the paper manual did not get the Wi-Fi connected. Wall plugs and screws are not in the components line. There is no UK annual kWh figure next to the class B letter. It will not fill a bath.

Pros

  • Energy class B on the listing
  • 230 V and 2000 W agree across the title and the cells
  • Safety valve included
  • 4.6 out of 5 from 12 ratings
  • Panel works without the app, according to one review

Cons

  • Written reviews are from Germany, not the UK
  • Wi-Fi pairing is a repeated complaint
  • Wall plugs are not listed in the box
  • No annual kWh figure next to the class B letter

Best for: A one-person electric store where you want class B, a stated safety valve and app control, and you can follow the Wi-Fi steps or ignore the app.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs UK-written reviews, supplied wall fixings, or a tank that will fill a bath.

Specifications

Model
Eldom Favourite 50 litre Wi-Fi
Brand
Eldom
Price
∼£189
Customer rating
4.6/5(12)
Capacity
50 litres
Orientation
Not stated
Power
2000 W
Voltage
230 V
Energy class
B
Max. temperature
75 °C
In the box
Inlet safety valve
Wi-Fi
Yes
Empty weight
18 kg
Dimensions
38.7 × 76 cm
Max. pressure
8 bar

Common questions

Is the listed capacity 50 litres?

Yes. The amazon.co.uk capacity line says 50 litres, and the title says 50 litres. The table size is 38.7 cm wide by 76 cm high, with a depth of 410 mm and an empty weight of 18 kg.

Does it include a safety valve?

Yes. Included components are listed as an inlet and safety valve, and the special-features cell says pressure release valve. Wall plugs and screws are not in that components line. One review says the buyer had to get two plugs and screws.

Can you control it from a phone?

The title says electronic control and Wi-Fi. Written reviews, all marked as reviewed in Germany, say the My Eldom app can run it and that the panel also works without the app. Several say the paper manual did not get the Wi-Fi connected.

Eldom Spectra 50 litre vertical

Rank 2

Eldom Spectra 50 litre vertical

∼£175

Our view

The Eldom Spectra listing is a vertical 50 litre store at about £175.00. It scores 78. The title says 1.5 kW and 230 V, energy class C, and the review line is 4.2 out of 5 from 18 ratings, including UK reviews that say it runs and fits a kitchen cupboard. The table size is 45.7 cm wide by 59.5 cm high, depth 457 mm, empty weight 17 kg. The specification table also prints a wattage, a heat output and a maximum temperature that do not match the title. Those cells are not the rating to plan from. Pressure is printed as both 7 bar and 8 bar. The box lists a pressure reservoir and a 3-way inlet valve, not wall screws. A Netherlands review says connection material and screws were not included.

Pros

  • Vertical 50 litres at £175.00
  • 4.2 out of 5 from 18 ratings
  • UK reviews describe everyday use at about 1.5 kW
  • 3-way inlet valve listed
  • On/off switch named in the bullets

Cons

  • The wattage cell conflicts with the 1.5 kW title
  • The heat-output cell conflicts with the title
  • The maximum-temperature cell conflicts with a normal store
  • Pressure printed as both 7 bar and 8 bar
  • Screws not listed, and one review says they were missing

Best for: A cupboard that can take a vertical tank, if you treat 1.5 kW in the title as the figure to check with the installer and ignore the conflicting cells.

Less suitable: Anyone who needs the specification table to agree with itself, or a Wi-Fi model.

Specifications

Model
Eldom Spectra 50 litre vertical
Brand
Eldom
Price
∼£175
Customer rating
4.2/5(18)
Capacity
50 litres
Orientation
Vertical
Power
1500 W
Voltage
230 V
Energy class
C
In the box
3-way inlet valve
Empty weight
17 kg
Dimensions
45.7 × 59.5 cm
Max. pressure
7–8 bar

Common questions

Is it a vertical 50 litre heater?

Yes. The title says Eldom Spectra 50 litre, vertical mount. The capacity cell is 50 litres. The table size is 45.7 cm wide by 59.5 cm high, depth 457 mm, empty weight 17 kg.

What power should you plan for?

The title and the bullets say 1.5 kW at 230 V. The wattage cell and the heat-output cell do not match that title. A UK review describes it as roughly a 1.5 kW heater. Plan from the title, and check it with the installer.

What is in the box?

The included-components line says a pressure reservoir and a 3-way inlet valve. It does not list wall screws. A Netherlands review says connection material and screws were not included.

GEESEN GK050 50 litre storage

Rank 3

GEESEN GK050 50 litre storage

∼£219

Our view

The GEESEN GK050 listing is a 50 litre, 2 kW, 240 V store at about £219.00, the highest price in this set. It scores 62. A safety valve, a drip pipe and screws are in the box, and the review line is 3.5 out of 5 from 17 ratings. The title says UK plug, while the components list an American NTP 1/2 adapter. That plug line is not proof of UK pipe fittings. The maximum-temperature cell is 55 °C, below the 60 °C storage figure from the HSE. The efficiency cell is A with no annual kWh. Empty weight is 14.9 kg and the table size is 30 cm wide by 60 cm high. Depth is not given. UK texts say it got hot, that a thermometer was missing, and that the body is round so the wall has to be planned. One UK text is about a damaged 32 litre unit and is not evidence for this tank.

Pros

  • 2 kW and 50 litres agree across the title and the cells
  • Safety valve, drip pipe and screws listed
  • Dry-fire and overheat protection named
  • UK reviews say it heated

Cons

  • £219.00 is the highest price in this set
  • 3.5 out of 5 from 17 ratings
  • NTP 1/2 adapter rather than a UK pipe fitting
  • Maximum temperature cell is 55 °C
  • One review reports a missing thermometer

Best for: A compact point-of-use tank where the screws and safety valve matter and you can sort the pipe thread before you fit it.

Less suitable: A UK bathroom install that assumes a BS 1363 plug and UK compression fittings are already in the box.

Specifications

Model
GEESEN GK050 50 litre storage
Brand
GEESEN
Price
∼£219
Customer rating
3.5/5(17)
Capacity
50 litres
Orientation
Not stated
Power
2000 W
Voltage
240 V
Energy class
A, no kWh
Max. temperature
55 °C
In the box
Valve, screws, NTP
Empty weight
14.9 kg
Dimensions
30 × 60 cm

Common questions

Is the tank 50 litres?

Yes. The title and the capacity cell say 50 litres. The model cell is GK050. Empty weight is 14.9 kg and the table size is 30 cm wide by 60 cm high. Depth is not given.

Does the box include a safety valve and fixings?

Yes. Included components list instructions, a drip pipe, an American NTP 1/2 adapter, a hanging plate, a safety valve and screws. The title says UK plug. The components line does not name a BS 1363 plug, and the adapter is not a UK pipe fitting.

What do the UK reviews say?

The listing line is 3.5 out of 5 from 17 ratings. UK texts say it got hot and drew little power, that a thermometer was missing, and that the body is round so the wall has to be planned. One UK text is about a damaged 32 litre unit and is not evidence for this tank.

TESY BiLight 50 litre horizontal

Rank 4

TESY BiLight 50 litre horizontal

∼£160

Our view

The TESY BiLight listing is the lowest price in this set at about £159.99, and it is the only one that states energy class C with load profile M and 1,418 kWh a year. It scores 74. It is horizontal, 1,500 W, and the listing asks for a 16 A fused spur. The wall bracket is included and the fixing bolts are not. Overheat and anti-freeze protection are named. The bullets give a diameter of 353 mm, a width of 803 mm and a depth of 380 mm, while the depth cell says 44.0 cm. The heat-up bullet, 1 hour 18 minutes from 15 °C to 60 °C, and the V40 figure of 78 litres are listing claims, not an independent test. The page has no star line. The voltage cell says 220 V AC.

Pros

  • £159.99, the lowest price in this set
  • Horizontal, for a space with no vertical height
  • Class C with 1,418 kWh and profile M stated
  • Wall bracket included
  • Overheat and anti-freeze protection named

Cons

  • No customer-review line
  • Fixing bolts not included
  • Bullet depth of 380 mm does not match the 44.0 cm depth cell
  • No safety valve named in the box list

Best for: A single-person slot where the tank has to lie horizontally and you can supply your own wall bolts and a 16 A spur.

Less suitable: A buyer who wants star ratings, a vertical tank, or a valve listed in the box.

Specifications

Model
TESY BiLight 50 litre horizontal
Brand
TESY
Price
∼£160
Capacity
50 litres
Orientation
Horizontal
Power
1500 W
Voltage
220 V
Energy class
C, 1418 kWh/year
Max. temperature
65 °C
In the box
Bracket, no bolts
Empty weight
17 kg
Dimensions
81 × 38 cm
Max. pressure
6 bar

Common questions

Is it a horizontal 50 litre cylinder?

Yes. The title says TESY BiLight horizontal electric water heater, 50 litres, wall mounted. The capacity cell is 50 litres. The bullets describe it for spaces where a vertical tank will not fit.

Are the wall bolts included?

No. Included components are the heater, instructions and a wall bracket. The same line says fixing bolts are not included.

What energy figures does the listing give?

Efficiency is C. The bullets add load profile M and annual electricity consumption of 1,418 kWh, and they ask for a 16 A fused spur. There is no customer-review line on the listing.

How we compared

The four scores come from the amazon.co.uk listings kept on this page. They are not a laboratory test. The Eldom Favourite scores 86 and is the top pick. The Eldom Spectra scores 78. The TESY BiLight scores 74 and is best value, as the lowest price with the only stated annual kWh. The GEESEN GK050 scores 62. The weights below are the display criteria for this comparison and sum to 100.

1

Capacity

8%

Every listing kept here states 50 litres. The Hot Water Association's rule of thumb is 35 to 45 litres stored per person, and a bath is about 100 litres at 40 °C, so this size is a short shower for one person.

2

Orientation

12%

TESY BiLight is horizontal. The Eldom Spectra title says vertical. The Favourite and the GEESEN do not state orientation, so you measure the table size against the cupboard.

3

Listed power

14%

Titles say 1.5 kW or 2 kW. The Favourite and the GEESEN agree at 2 kW. TESY agrees at 1,500 W and asks for a 16 A fused spur. The Spectra title says 1.5 kW. Cells on that page that fight the title are not the rating.

4

Energy class

14%

Only TESY states class C with load profile M and 1,418 kWh a year. The Favourite states class B with no annual kWh. The Spectra states class C. The GEESEN states class A with no kWh or profile.

5

Maximum temperature

8%

The Health and Safety Executive says store at 60 °C. The Favourite cell is 75 °C and the TESY cell is 65 °C. The GEESEN cell is 55 °C. The Spectra temperature cell conflicts with the title, so it is not used as the rating.

6

Safety devices

12%

A safety valve the listing actually names scores here. The Favourite and the GEESEN name a valve. The Spectra names a 3-way inlet valve. TESY names overheat and anti-freeze protection and does not name a valve in the box.

7

In the box

12%

The Favourite includes an inlet and safety valve, not wall plugs. Spectra includes a 3-way inlet valve, not screws. TESY includes a bracket and not the bolts. GEESEN includes a valve, screws and an NTP 1/2 adapter.

8

Wi-Fi

4%

Only the Eldom Favourite title says Wi-Fi. Written reviews say the panel also works without the app, and several describe a difficult pairing. The other three listings do not state Wi-Fi.

9

Customer rating

8%

Stars are the amazon.co.uk line. Favourite is 4.6 from 12, with written reviews from Germany. Spectra is 4.2 from 18, with UK texts. GEESEN is 3.5 from 17. TESY has no review line.

10

Price

8%

Shelf prices on these four listings run from £159.99 to £219.00. TESY is the lowest. Spectra is £175.00. The Favourite is £189.35. GEESEN is £219.00. A 3 kW store seen at £478.95 was not kept.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

50 litre hot water cylinder buying guide

Match the tank to one person, the shape of the cupboard, and the parts the listing actually includes. A class letter without annual kWh is weaker than a full energy line, and a bath is the wrong job for 50 litres.

What is a 50 litre hot water cylinder?

A 50 litre hot water cylinder in this comparison is a wall-hung electric storage heater. An element, a thermostat, insulation and a wall bracket heat and hold about 50 litres. It is not a café urn. A drinks boiler marked 50L/H means litres per hour, not a stored volume. It is not an electric shower, which has no 50 litre store. Indirect cylinders heated by a boiler coil are a different purchase. BS EN 12897 covers indirectly heated unvented stores.

Best for

  • One person in a small flat or static caravan who can wait to reheat and does not take a bath
  • A fitter replacing a like-for-like 50 litre wall tank who will check the valve, the spur and the paperwork

Not ideal for

  • A bath, or two showers back to back, which need a larger store or another heat source
  • A buyer who treats an American pipe adapter, or a conflicting wattage cell, as a UK install

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    Reading 50L/H as stored litres

    On a drinks boiler, 50L/H means litres per hour. The four listings here are stored volume of about 50 litres. The TESY V40 figure of 78 litres is mixed water at 40 °C, not extra capacity in the tank.

  2. 2

    Trusting a specification cell that fights the title

    The Eldom Spectra title says 1.5 kW. Other cells on that page do not match the title. Do not plan the circuit from those cells. A UK review describes the heater as roughly 1.5 kW. Check the figure with the installer.

  3. 3

    Sizing a bath from 50 litres

    A bath is about 100 litres at 40 °C. The Hot Water Association’s rule of thumb is 35–45 litres stored per person, and about 18 litres a minute at 40 °C for a decent shower. Fifty litres is one short shower, then a wait while the element recovers the tank.

What to weigh up

Box contents, fittings and the circuit

High

The carton decides the first hour of the install. The Eldom Favourite includes an inlet and safety valve, and the components line does not list wall plugs. The Eldom Spectra includes a 3-way inlet valve, and screws are not listed. A Netherlands review on that listing says connection material and screws were missing. The TESY BiLight includes a wall bracket and not the bolts, and it does not name a safety valve. It asks for a 16 A fused spur, and the voltage cell says 220 V AC.

Energy evidence and the review line

High

Only the TESY states a class, a load profile and an annual figure together: class C, profile M and 1,418 kWh a year. The Eldom Favourite states class B and no annual kWh. The Eldom Spectra states class C. The GEESEN states class A with no kWh or profile. A lone letter in an Amazon cell is weak evidence, especially where another cell on the same page disagrees with the title. Stars are the amazon.co.uk line, and the country of the written text matters.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

One person, no bath

You can wait to reheat and you do not take a bath. The Eldom Favourite is the top pick: class B, 2 kW at 230 V, and a safety valve in the box. The written reviews are from Germany, and the Wi-Fi steps are the usual complaint. The panel also works without the app, according to one of those reviews.

A slot with no height

The tank has to lie flat. The TESY BiLight is the only horizontal listing here, at about £159.99, and it is the best value. It states class C, profile M and 1,418 kWh a year, and it asks for a 16 A fused spur. The bracket is included. The bolts are not, and there is no star line.

A vertical cupboard

You are replacing an upright 50 litre tank and you want United Kingdom review texts. The Eldom Spectra title says vertical, 1.5 kW and 230 V, at about £175, with 4.2 from 18 ratings. Treat the title as the power to check with the installer. The specification table does not agree with itself.

Common questions about 50 litre hot water cylinders

Which 50 litre hot water cylinder is the top pick?
The top pick is the Eldom Favourite, a 50 litre, 2 kW, 230 V wall store at about £189.35. It scores 86, the highest of these four amazon.co.uk listings. Class B is stated, a safety valve is in the box, and the star line is 4.6 from 12 ratings. The written reviews are from Germany. Best value is the TESY BiLight at about £159.99, with class C, load profile M and 1,418 kWh a year, and no star line.
How much does a 50 litre hot water cylinder cost?
On the four amazon.co.uk listings kept here, the shelf price runs from £159.99 to £219.00. The TESY BiLight is £159.99. The Eldom Spectra is £175.00. The Eldom Favourite is £189.35. The GEESEN GK050 is £219.00. Two other 50 litre stores were seen and not kept: a Thermex flat tank at £170.56 and an Ariston Pro1 Eco at £478.95. These are the prices on those pages, not a market average, and they can move.
Is 50 litres enough for a shower?
Fifty litres is a short shower for one person, not a bath. The Hot Water Association’s rule of thumb is 35–45 litres stored per person, and about 18 litres a minute at 40 °C for a decent shower. A bath is about 100 litres at 40 °C. The TESY V40 figure of 78 litres is mixed water at 40 °C, not extra stored volume. One shower against this tank is set out in 50 litres for a shower.
What temperature should a 50 litre cylinder store?
Store hot water at 60 °C. That is the Health and Safety Executive figure, with outlets considered at 50 °C. Approved Document G caps stored water at 100 °C and limits bath delivery to 48 °C where that rule applies. The Favourite cell says 75 °C and the TESY cell says 65 °C. The GEESEN cell says 55 °C, below that 60 °C figure. The Spectra temperature cell conflicts with the title, so it is not used here.
Do you need a competent person to fit one?
Unvented storage over 15 litres needs a competent person. These tanks are about 50 litres, so that applies if the install is unvented. In England, a new circuit or work in a bath or shower zone is notifiable under Approved Document P. Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland have their own rules. Call a professional for the discharge pipe, and for a wall that cannot carry the filled weight. Empty weight is 14.9–18 kg, before about 50 kg of water.
What should be in the box?
Read the included-components line. The Favourite lists an inlet and safety valve, not the wall plugs. The Spectra lists a 3-way inlet valve, not the screws. The TESY lists a wall bracket, and the bolts are not included. The GEESEN lists a safety valve, screws and a drip pipe, plus an American NTP 1/2 adapter. A UK plug in that title is not a UK pipe fitting.
Is this the same as an indirect hot water cylinder?
No. These four listings are direct electric storage: an element, a thermostat, insulation and a wall bracket. An indirect cylinder is heated by a boiler coil and is a different purchase. BS EN 12897 covers indirectly heated unvented stores, and none of these four states that certificate. A marking of 50L/H on a drinks boiler means litres per hour, not 50 litres stored. An electric shower has no 50 litre store.

Our verdict

The top pick is the Eldom Favourite at about £189.35. It scores 86, the highest here: 2 kW and 230 V agree across the title and the cells, energy class B is stated, a safety valve is in the box, and the star line is 4.6 from 12 ratings. The written reviews are from Germany, and Wi-Fi pairing is a repeated complaint. Best value is the TESY BiLight at about £159.99, a different listing and the lowest price, with class C, load profile M and 1,418 kWh a year stated. It has no star line, and the bolts are not included. Skip the Favourite if you need UK-written reviews. Skip the TESY if you need a vertical tank or a safety valve named in the box.

Best overall
Eldom Favourite 50 litre Wi-Fi

Eldom Favourite 50 litre Wi-Fi

Highest score at 86: class B, 2 kW at 230 V, a safety valve in the box, and 4.6 from 12 ratings, if you can ignore the app.

View offer
Best value
TESY BiLight 50 litre horizontal

TESY BiLight 50 litre horizontal

Lowest price at about £159.99, on a different listing, and the only one that states class C, profile M and 1,418 kWh a year.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Hot water cylindersamazon.co.uk listingsUK plumbing and Part P

Peter F. is the editor for DIY & tools at productscompared.co.uk. Comparisons in this category are checked against amazon.co.uk listings, review evidence and public UK sources.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to 50 litre hot water cylinders

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources named below, as used for this comparison. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts are the figures on the four listings in the product data. Page updated 21 October 2026.

  1. Approved Document G (2024 amendments) (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. HSE hot and cold water systems (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. CNC Building Control: hot water cylinder permission (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. BSI BS EN 12897:2016+A1:2020 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. Regulation (EU) No 812/2013 on legislation.gov.uk (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. Hot Water Association: sizing a hot water cylinder (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. Approved Document P 2013 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. IEC 60379:2023 electric storage water heater methods (retrieved 21 October 2026)

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk (tag pcuk26-21). If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are taken from those listings. We did not run a lab test.