Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Electric fireplace console UK plug

Updated: 22 October 2026

A fireplace console can sit on amazon.co.uk and still be a 110 V heater. The page looks British because the price is in pounds. The rating plate may not be. If the listing or the plate says 110 V or 120 V, do not buy it for a UK socket and do not plan a transformer. This page is that rule, tied to the OneBlis review in this set, and then what a 230 V fire actually needs once you are sure. The six rows are on the [fireplace console comparison](/hub/fireplaces-and-stoves/fireplace-console). We read the listings, legislation.gov.uk, GOV.UK and Electrical Safety First. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

A fireplace console can sit on amazon.co.uk and still be a 110 V heater. The page looks British because the price is in pounds. The rating plate may not be.

Our top picks

On this page

What the OneBlis review actually says

Two listings carry the same kind of note. The OneBlis 70 inch fireplace TV stand, model H21014vc, ASIN B0FMFJM6SG, is £564.91. The OneBlis 90 inch, model H21014, ASIN B0G5WZ3DVN, is £809.50. Neither specification block states voltage or watts. A review dated 10 January 2026 and headed United Kingdom says the fire is 110 V and needs a heavy-duty transformer, and that this was not clear in the description. The bullets on both cite CSA and ETL, and a thermostat of 62–82°F. That review is one shopper's report, not a laboratory tear-down. It is still enough to refuse the purchase. The 4.4 from 477 reviews is a shared pool, mostly from the United States, not 477 UK buyers of one width. Do not order a transformer to fix it. Do not plug a 110 V fire into a UK socket. The other two OneBlis rows are not the same sentence. The fluted 70 inch, ASIN B0H4GTKDMR, at £565.21, does not state voltage, and its thermostat is also in Fahrenheit. The 98 inch farmhouse unit, ASIN B0GGSDKRQZ, at £1,260.85, does not state voltage or watts, and the extract has no UK review. Missing volts are a reason to pause, not proof that those two are 110 V, and not proof that they are 230 V. The YITAHOME suite states 1,800 W and does not state voltage either, so the plate still matters on a product we otherwise treat as the top pick. Who should skip which row is on the best fireplace console page.

The plug and the voltage the UK expects

UK mains are 230 V. A domestic plug-in appliance for a British socket uses a BS 1363 plug with a BS 1362 fuse. The Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35, require that connection for equipment meant to be plugged in at home. The Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 say a domestic appliance at 200 V or more, within 13 A, for a BS 1363 socket, is not to be supplied without a correctly fitted standard plug. A two-pin plug, or a flat American blade, is a buying problem. GOV.UK's product-safety example of a non-compliant room heater treats a missing UK plug and a voltage that does not cover 230 V as a serious hazard. The travel adaptor is part of that risk, because it is how a badly matched heater gets into a socket it was not built for. Northern Ireland uses the same plug system. A listing that does print the right line is easy to recognise. A Living and Home console at House of Fraser, which is not one of our six rows and not a recommendation from this comparison, stated 220–240 V and 900/1,800 W. That is what the page tells you looks like. CSA and ETL on a Fahrenheit thermostat are not the same sentence.

What CSA and ETL do not prove

CSA and ETL are North American conformity marks. They do not say the heater is approved for a UK 13 A socket, and they do not convert 110 V into 230 V. A Fahrenheit thermostat, 62–82°F or 60–99°F on the farmhouse unit, is a hint that the copy was written for a US buyer. Hints are not a plate. You still need the voltage in digits. Do not use a step-down transformer or a travel adaptor to make a furniture fire match the wall. The reviewer mentioned a heavy-duty transformer because the description had not been clear. That is a complaint, not a method. A heater of this size is not a phone charger. If the listing only works with an extra box of electronics, choose a different listing. Industrial 110 V site gear is a different subject. Do not borrow it to justify a living-room console.

Using a fire that is actually 230 V

Once the plate says 220–240 V and the plug is BS 1363, the heater goes into its own wall socket. Electrical Safety First wants a UK three-pin plug, about a metre of clearance from curtains and furniture, and no extension lead. GOV.UK's winter fire guidance says to unplug when you leave or go to bed, and not to cover the heater or dry clothes on it. A television can use another socket. It should not share a reel with a 1–2 kW element. An electric console or suite does not need a chimney. That is why the category exists for flats. It does not need a new circuit if an existing socket is in reach and in good condition. Retailers often quote a lead of about 1.5–2 m on suites in general. That length was not measured on these six ASINs, so use the lead in the box. A new socket, or a cable chased behind the unit, is an electrician. If the plug or the faceplate runs hot, stop and have it checked. Do not open the fire. Assembly comes after this check, not before. There is no point building a 60 kg wall unit and then reading 110 V on the plate. Boxes, anti-tip straps and the first switch-on are on how to fit a fireplace console.

Common questions

Does amazon.co.uk mean the fire is 230 V?
No. The site shows a pound price to a UK shopper. The specification block can still omit voltage, and a review on the same page can say 110 V. Read the plate or a stated 220–240 V line. A North American mark on the bullets is not a substitute.
What is a BS 1363 plug?
It is the standard UK three-pin domestic plug, used with a BS 1362 fuse. Regulation 35 of the Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 and the Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 are the legal frame for plug-in appliances meant for UK sockets. A two-pin plug in the box is a reason to stop, not a reason to hunt for an adaptor.
Do CSA and ETL mean it is fine in Britain?
No. They are North American marks. On the OneBlis 70 inch H21014vc and the 90 inch H21014 they sit next to a Fahrenheit thermostat and a UK review that says 110 V. They do not prove a BS 1363 plug or a voltage that covers 230 V.
Can I use a step-down transformer?
Do not. The 10 January 2026 UK review describes a 110 V fire and a transformer the description had not made clear. That is a reason to reject the listing. GOV.UK treats a non-UK plug and a voltage that misses 230 V as a serious hazard on a room heater, and the adaptor is part of the risk.
Can the heater go on an extension lead?
No, once you do have a genuine 230 V fire. Electrical Safety First says a portable heater should be on a wall socket, not an extension lead, and about a metre from curtains. Unplug it when you leave or sleep. The television does not have to use that same socket.
Which listings in this set have the 110 V review?
The OneBlis 70 inch H21014vc (B0FMFJM6SG) and the 90 inch H21014 (B0G5WZ3DVN). The review is dated 10 January 2026 and headed United Kingdom. The fluted 70 inch and the 98 inch unit do not state voltage, so they are a pause, not a confirmed 110 V finding. Do not treat every OneBlis as the same plate.
What should the rating plate say?
It should show a voltage that includes 230 V, typically written 220–240 V, and the plug on the lead should be BS 1363 with a BS 1362 fuse. Watts should be readable too if you are trying to judge heat. Fahrenheit alone, or a CSA logo alone, does not meet that test.
Does an electric console need a chimney?
No. These electric suites and consoles are sold for rooms without a flue. You still need the right voltage, a sound UK socket, clearance, and a lead that reaches. A missing chimney is not permission to use a 110 V heater.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts were taken from the listings on 19 October 2026.

  1. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK, non-compliant room heater example (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK, fire safety in the winter (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Electrical Safety First, portable heaters (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Ofgem price cap, 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Which?, buying an electric fire or stove (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk listings for the six ASINs (retrieved 19 October 2026)