Compost for flowers buying guide
You have a patio pot or a window box to fill, and the bag has to match that job before the price does. A compost for flowers buying guide starts with how long the plant stays, then the peat words, then the litres you can check. Heap compost from a bin is a soil improver for open ground. Bagged potting compost is what goes in the container. The [Flowers compost comparison](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/flowers-compost) lists seven amazon.co.uk multi-purpose bags, with shelf prices in GBP from those listings on 21 October 2026. We did not run a lab trial.
You have a patio pot or a window box to fill, and the bag has to match that job before the price does.
You have a patio pot or a window box to fill, and the bag has to match that job before the price does. A compost for flowers buying guide starts with how long the plant stays, then the peat words, then the litres you can check. Heap compost from a bin is a soil improver for open ground. Bagged potting compost is what goes in the container. The Flowers compost comparison lists seven amazon.co.uk multi-purpose bags, with shelf prices in GBP from those listings on 21 October 2026. We did not run a lab trial.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Volume | Peat wording | Feed window | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Munnie Munnie multi-purpose compost 60 L | 60 L | Reduced peat use | Not stated | 8.1 | about £9.34 | View offer |
| Preis-Tipp | GROWMOOR Growmoor multi-purpose compost 50 L | 50 L | Not stated | Not stated | 8.0 | about £9.25 | View offer |
Miracle-Gro Miracle-Gro peat-free compost 20 L | 20 L | Peat-free | Up to 3 months | 8.6 | about £7.95 | View offer |
On this page
What the bag is for
Type before brand
Litres, peat wording and feed
Weight and what to leave
Which check comes first
Common questions
Is multi-purpose compost the right bag for summer flowers in pots?
How many litres does a patio pot actually hold?
Does organic or reduces peat use mean peat-free?
How long does the feed last if the bag says nothing?
Is a cheaper large sack always better value than a 20 litre bag?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the seven amazon.co.uk listings read on 21 October 2026. There is no laboratory test. Peat-free means the listing prints peat-free. An announced retail end date is not an Act. The Growmoor 50 litre and 60 litre review texts in this set are one shared sample.
- Defra, sale of horticultural peat to be banned (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- Written question 99957, 18 December 2025 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- Deposited letter, 29 January 2026 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- RHS, hanging baskets (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- RHS, growing plants in containers (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- RHS, peat-free tips (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- RHS, John Innes compost (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- RHS, minimising health risks in the garden (retrieved 21 October 2026)


