IP65 or IP66 floodlight: what the two digits mean on a PIR head
You are comparing a wall head that says IP66 with a sensor that says IP54, and the title still says waterproof. Those words are not the same claim. An IP65 or IP66 floodlight is a code from IEC 60529: one digit for dust, one for water, sometimes on the body and a lower pair on the detector. This page is only that code. It does not rank the eleven heads, and it does not tell you where to aim. The scored listings are on the [LED floodlight with motion sensor](/hub/electronic-surveillance/led-floodlight-with-motion-sensor) comparison. We read amazon.co.uk listings saved around 19 October 2026. We did not spray-test these heads.
You are comparing a wall head that says IP66 with a sensor that says IP54, and the title still says waterproof. Those words are not the same claim.
You are comparing a wall head that says IP66 with a sensor that says IP54, and the title still says waterproof. Those words are not the same claim. An IP65 or IP66 floodlight is a code from IEC 60529: one digit for dust, one for water, sometimes on the body and a lower pair on the detector. This page is only that code. It does not rank the eleven heads, and it does not tell you where to aim. The scored listings are on the LED floodlight with motion sensor comparison. We read amazon.co.uk listings saved around 19 October 2026. We did not spray-test these heads.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Body code | Sensor code | Listing note | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Steinel Steinel FL 1400 S, 4000 K | Not stated | Not stated | Not water resistant | 8.6 | about £55.49 | View offer |
| Alternative | Lepro Lepro 50 W, 4,200 lm | IP65 | IP54 | One review disputes the label | 8.1 | about £19.98 | View offer |
| Best value | MEIKEE MEIKEE 25 W, 2,100 lm | IP66 | IP65 | Both codes printed | 8.4 | about £17.99 | View offer |
On this page
Two digits, not an adjective
When the detector is a lower code
What this set actually prints
Quote the code you can see
Common questions
What do the two digits mean?
Is IP66 waterproof in the sense of a pond?
Why is the sensor a lower code?
Is IP44 enough on an open gable?
Does waterproof on amazon.co.uk equal an IP code?
Which kept rows print a split code?
Why do reviews still report water in an IP66 PIR?
Where does UKCA sit relative to IP?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources from the digest first, then the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Prices and stars were taken on 19 October 2026.
- Approved Document P (2013 PDF) (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Approved Document P (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, artificial light nuisances (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, using the UKCA marking (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Lighting Products Regulations 2021, Schedule 12 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, energy labelling of products (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Glamox, IP classification (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- IET, Part P frequently asked questions (retrieved 19 October 2026)


