Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Toggle switch comparison 2026

The best toggle switches, compared.

Top pick: Krysel snap-in rocker, 5 pack Best value: White 1-gang 2-way plate – About £3.61 with 4.5 from 2,675 reviews, the largest count in this set, for a 1-way or 2-way plate. Updated October 2026.

A toggle switch on amazon.co.uk is a lighting-plate dolly or a panel lever. These twelve listings contain both, plus rockers the titles still call toggles. A two-door room needs a 1-gang 2-way plate. On the metal bats, 25 A is the 12 V DC line, and the same bullet says 10 A at 250 V. None of these twelve is an intermediate switch. The [toggle switch buying guide](/hub/electrical-equipment/toggle-switch/sub/toggle-switch-buying-guide) separates a plate, a bat, a mini and a rocker. Separate them by the rating string, the terminal, and the hole or the back box.

A toggle switch on amazon.co.uk is a lighting-plate dolly or a panel lever. These twelve listings contain both, plus rockers the titles still call toggles. A two-door room needs a 1-gang 2-way plate.

Krysel snap-in rocker, 5 pack

Best overall

Krysel snap-in rocker, 5 pack
4.8/10∼ £3

42 products checked · 56 hrs invested · +24,100 readers

12 of 12: Best toggle switches compared

Swipe for more

1-2 of 12
Best overall
Krysel snap-in rocker, 5 pack
Uliwamowi KN3(D)-101, 4 pack
Gebildet E1347 mini toggle, 8 pack
QWORK rocker, 4 pack with caps
Gebildet E356 rocker, 8 pack with caps
Gebildet E1086 metal toggle
Gebildet E569 rocker toggle, 8 pack
Best value
White 1-gang 2-way plate
Knightsbridge FPAV1TOGBB brushed brass
Gebildet E1088 with safety cover
QWORK MTS-102 mini, 20 pack
QWORK MTS-101, 12 pack
4.8/10
4.3/10
7.8/10
5.7/10
8.4/10
8.6/10
7.9/10
8.1/10
7.2/10
6.9/10
4.0/10
3.4/10
∼ £3
∼ £8
∼ £7
∼ £6
∼ £9
∼ £4
∼ £8
∼ £4
∼ £13
∼ £5
∼ £6
∼ £6
5.0(8)
5.0(4)
4.8(230)
4.7(27)
4.6(1,498)
4.6(403)
4.6(360)
4.5(2,675)
4.4(145)
4.3(85)
4.1(415)
4.1(8)
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer
View offer

The best toggle switches in detail

Krysel snap-in rocker, 5 pack

Rank 1

Krysel snap-in rocker, 5 pack

Our view

The Krysel pack is five snap-in rockers at about £2.99, titled as 12 V toggles, with the table listing the switch type as rocker. The bullet rates them at 10 A at 125 V or 6 A at 250 V, and it gives a 23 mm outer size, a 20 mm inner size and a 30 mm length. amazon.co.uk shows 5.0 from 8 ratings. The five UK reviews are short praise: exactly what was wanted, quality better than expected, and better than the switch they replaced. One of those reviews names F1 spade connectors on the base. The terminal cell is printed as the character 1, the operating-voltage cell says 5 V, the position count is 1, and the IP cell is IP00. Those five reviews do not describe heat, sealing or durability, so the boat line in the title and the 5.0 sit on a very small sample.

Pros

  • Five snap-in rockers at about £2.99
  • Bullet size 23 mm outer, 20 mm inner, 30 mm long
  • Bullet rating 10 A at 125 V or 6 A at 250 V
  • Five UK reviews are short praise, and one names F1 spades on the base

Cons

  • Only 8 ratings, so the 5.0 does not describe durability, heat or sealing
  • IP cell is IP00, and the title still names boats
  • Operating-voltage cell says 5 V, the position count is 1, and the terminal cell is the character 1

Best for: A dry snap-in spare where you can match the F1 spades on the base to the loom you already have.

Less suitable: A boat or any damp panel, because the IP cell is IP00 and the five UK reviews never mention water.

Specifications

Model
Krysel snap-in rocker, 5 pack
Brand
Krysel
Price
∼£3
Customer rating
5.0/5(8)
Family
Rocker
Action
On/off
Claimed rating
10 A 125 V; 6 A 250 V
Terminal
F1 spade
Mount
Snap-in
Cover
IP00
Pack
5

Common questions

Is this a bat toggle?

The table says rocker and snap-in. It is kept because the title and the Car Toggle Switches rank call it a toggle.

What IP code is in the table?

IP00. The title and a bullet still name boats.

What did UK reviews say about the terminals?

One UK review names F1 spade connectors on the base. The terminal cell is the character 1. The five UK reviews do not state a fault.

Uliwamowi KN3(D)-101, 4 pack

Rank 2

Uliwamowi KN3(D)-101, 4 pack

Our view

The Uliwamowi pack is four KN3(D)-101 metal on/off toggles at about £7.96, and the title rates them at 12 V and 25 A with a rubber cover. The bullets claim a waterproof, dustproof, corrosion-resistant and magnetic switch for lights, motors, boats, trucks and workshops, and one bullet also names low-power devices such as floor lamps. amazon.co.uk lists 5.0 from 4 ratings. The three UK reviews are short: easy to install, delivered as described, and one line of bare praise. None of those reviews mentions the rubber cover, water or the 25 A claim, and none confirms a screw or a spade connector. The IP, mounting, terminal and switch-type cells are a slash, and the circuit-type cell says 2-way on a title that says SPST. Four ratings leave the cover and the 25 A line unchecked.

Pros

  • Four metal on/off toggles at about £7.96
  • Title rating 12 V and 25 A, with a rubber cover claimed
  • Bullets name lights, motors, boats, trucks and workshops
  • The three UK reviews that exist call the swap easy or as described

Cons

  • Only 4 ratings and three UK reviews, and none mentions the cover, water or 25 A
  • IP, mounting, terminal and switch-type cells are a slash
  • Circuit-type cell says 2-way on a title that says SPST

Best for: A 12 V workshop or vehicle light where you can look at the cover and the terminals in your hand before you rely on them.

Less suitable: A wet boat, or a floor lamp on UK mains, because there is no IP code and no second voltage line beside 12 V.

Specifications

Model
Uliwamowi KN3(D)-101, 4 pack
Brand
Uliwamowi
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
5.0/5(4)
Family
Panel bat
Action
On/off
Claimed rating
12 V, 25 A
Terminal
Screw or spade
Cover
Rubber claimed
Pack
4

Common questions

Is the waterproof claim an IP rating?

The bullets say waterproof, dustproof and corrosion-resistant. The IP cell is a slash. The three UK reviews do not mention water.

What voltage and current are printed?

The title and the cells say 12 V and 25 A. There is no second line for 230 V.

How many UK reviews are in the file?

Three, all short praise. The listing score is 5.0 from 4 ratings.

Gebildet E1347 mini toggle, 8 pack

Rank 3

Gebildet E1347 mini toggle, 8 pack

Our view

The Gebildet E1347 pack is eight mini 2-pin on/off switches at about £6.99, each for a 6 mm hole, with a body of about 13 x 7 x 32 mm. The bullet rates them at 6 A at 125 V AC and 3 A at 250 V AC, and it claims more than 50,000 mechanical cycles and more than 10,000 electrical cycles. amazon.co.uk lists 4.8 from 230 ratings. UK reviews put them on a simulator, 00-gauge lighting and LED strings, and one buyer said soldering was not required. The title says prewired, and the terminal cell says solder. On one UK mains job at about 240 V and 0.75 A, two switches stayed on. That reviewer saw no burning when they were opened, they worked again after reassembly, and the square pivot and the plastic were the suspected cause. Those two stuck switches are the limit on a mains load.

Pros

  • Eight 2-pin minis for a 6 mm hole at about £6.99
  • 4.8 from 230 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • Bullet rating 6 A at 125 V AC and 3 A at 250 V AC, body about 13 x 7 x 32 mm
  • UK reviews cite a simulator, 00-gauge lighting and LED strings

Cons

  • Two switches stuck on at about 240 V and 0.75 A in one UK review
  • Title says prewired, and the terminal cell says solder
  • That reviewer suspected the square pivot and the plastic

Best for: Model-railway lighting, LED strings and other small panels where the hole is 6 mm and the current stays well under the 3 A at 250 V AC line.

Less suitable: A mains load you cannot leave stuck on, or a buyer who needs the title and the terminal cell to say the same thing.

Specifications

Model
Gebildet E1347 mini toggle, 8 pack
Brand
Gebildet
Price
∼£7
Customer rating
4.8/5(230)
Family
Mini
Action
On/off, 2-pin
Claimed rating
6 A 125 V; 3 A 250 V
Terminal
Solder
Mount
6 mm hole
Cover
No
Pack
8

Common questions

Are the minis prewired?

The title says prewired. The terminal cell says solder. One UK review said soldering was not required.

What load does the bullet state?

6 A at 125 V AC and 3 A at 250 V AC. The hole is 6 mm.

What life does the bullet claim?

More than 50,000 mechanical cycles and more than 10,000 electrical cycles.

QWORK rocker, 4 pack with caps

Rank 4

QWORK rocker, 4 pack with caps

Our view

The QWORK pack is four SPST rocker toggles at about £5.95, with a red waterproof cap claimed for each and a 12 mm hole. The bullet rates them at 10 A at 12 V DC and 6 A at 24 V DC, and it claims more than 50,000 mechanical cycles and more than 10,000 electrical cycles. amazon.co.uk lists 4.7 from 27 ratings. Only two reviews in the file are from the United Kingdom, and both are short praise: a satisfying click, and good value for a project. Those two reviews do not mention the caps, water, or the terminals. The terminal cell says solder and the connector cell says screw. A Spanish review in the same file says they light up, and the bullets do not mention a lamp, so a light is neither a UK finding nor a listed feature. With 27 ratings and two UK texts, the caps remain an untested claim for outdoor use.

Pros

  • Four rockers and four caps at about £5.95, with the bullets saying the caps are red
  • Bullet rating 10 A at 12 V DC and 6 A at 24 V DC, for a 12 mm hole
  • 4.7 from 27 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • Two UK reviews mention a satisfying click and good value for a project

Cons

  • Only two UK reviews, and neither mentions the caps or water
  • Terminal cell says solder, and the connector cell says screw
  • No IP code, and the unit-count cell says 1 against a title quantity of four

Best for: A small 12 V vehicle panel where four capped rockers are enough and you can check the terminals before you buy crimps or a soldering iron.

Less suitable: An outdoor or boat circuit that needs an IP code, or a lit switch, because neither is established in the UK reviews or the bullets.

Specifications

Model
QWORK rocker, 4 pack with caps
Brand
QWORK
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.7/5(27)
Family
Rocker
Action
On/off, 2-pin
Claimed rating
10 A 12 V; 6 A 24 V
Terminal
Solder or screw
Mount
12 mm hole
Cover
Cap, no IP
Pack
4

Common questions

Solder or screw?

The terminal cell says solder. The connector cell says screw. Both are copied.

Do the bullets mention a lamp?

No. A Spanish review, which is not a UK review, says they light up. That is not added as a feature.

What do the UK reviews say?

Two UK reviews, both short praise. The 4.7 from 27 is the listing aggregate, not a UK-only score.

Gebildet E356 rocker, 8 pack with caps

Rank 5

Gebildet E356 rocker, 8 pack with caps

Our view

The Gebildet E356 pack is eight SPST rockers at about £8.99 for a 12 mm hole, with eight waterproof caps and a clear storage box. The bullet rates them at 10 A at 12 V DC and 6 A at 24 V DC, and it claims more than 50,000 mechanical cycles and more than 10,000 electrical cycles. The title also prints 12-24 V / 15 A, above the bullet's 10 A and 6 A lines. amazon.co.uk lists 4.6 from 1,498 ratings. Sampled UK reviews call the rubber covers robust and flexible and the action positive, and one buyer used them indoors, outside and on a model railroad. One UK review calls a switch very flimsy and broken after about five minutes, a single report against that rating count. The table states no IP code, and the UK texts do not describe a water test of the caps. One buyer also found them bigger than expected and still kept the pack.

Pros

  • Eight rockers, eight waterproof caps and a storage box at about £8.99
  • 4.6 from 1,498 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • Bullet rating 10 A at 12 V DC and 6 A at 24 V DC, for a 12 mm hole
  • UK reviews describe flexible rubber covers and a positive action

Cons

  • Title says 12-24 V / 15 A, and the bullet says 10 A at 12 V DC and 6 A at 24 V DC
  • One UK review: very flimsy, and broken after about five minutes
  • No IP code, and the UK texts do not describe a water test of the caps

Best for: A 12 V dashboard or model-rail panel where you want a cap on each of eight rockers and you follow the bullet current, 10 A at 12 V DC.

Less suitable: A load that needs the 15 A figure in the title, or a wet fitting where you need an IP code rather than a cap in the bag.

Specifications

Model
Gebildet E356 rocker, 8 pack with caps
Brand
Gebildet
Price
∼£9
Customer rating
4.6/5(1,498)
Family
Rocker
Action
On/off, 2-pin
Claimed rating
10 A 12 V; 6 A 24 V
Terminal
Screw
Mount
12 mm hole
Cover
Cap, no IP
Pack
8

Common questions

Which current figure is in the bullet?

10 A at 12 V DC and 6 A at 24 V DC. The title says 12-24 V / 15 A.

Are the caps an IP rating?

The pack includes eight waterproof caps. The table does not state an IP code.

What fault appears in the UK sample?

One UK review says a switch was very flimsy and broke after about five minutes. Other sampled UK reviews praise the feel and the rubber covers.

Gebildet E1086 metal toggle

Rank 6

Gebildet E1086 metal toggle

Our view

The Gebildet E1086 is a metal 2-pin SPST on/off bat for a 12.2 mm hole, at about £3.99 with two wire connectors and #250 spade terminals. The bullet rates it at 25 A at 12 V DC, 15 A at 24 V DC, 10 A at 250 V AC and 15 A at 125 V AC, so the 25 A cell is the 12 V line. amazon.co.uk lists 4.6 from 403 ratings. Sampled UK reviews describe a firm action, nuts and a spring washer, plus a small motor and a replacement on an electric-fence energiser, and the praise includes good value. One UK reviewer calls the finish the unfinished imported kind, set against a memory of older UK switches. Most of the other sampled UK reviews are only a few words, so long-term durability is barely described. The control-method cell says Push Button, the bullets describe a toggle lever, and the table gives no IP code for the marine-boat use named in the bullet. It is the top pick here when you already have a 12.2 mm hole and you can live with that finish.

Pros

  • Metal 2-pin SPST on/off for a 12.2 mm hole, with #250 spades and two connectors, at about £3.99
  • Bullet rating 25 A at 12 V DC, 15 A at 24 V DC, 10 A at 250 V AC and 15 A at 125 V AC
  • 4.6 from 403 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • UK reviews cite a firm action, nuts, a spring washer, a small motor and an electric-fence energiser

Cons

  • One UK reviewer calls the finish unfinished compared with older UK switches
  • Most sampled UK reviews are only a few words, so durability is barely described
  • Control-method cell says Push Button, and there is no IP code for the marine-boat bullet

Best for: A 12 V extra light or similar panel load where the hole is already 12.2 mm and you can crimp #250 spades.

Less suitable: A UK wall plate, or a wet deck, because the table gives no IP code and the control-method cell does not describe the lever.

Specifications

Model
Gebildet E1086 metal toggle
Brand
Gebildet
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.6/5(403)
Family
Panel bat
Action
On/off, 2-pin
Claimed rating
25 A 12 V; 10 A 250 V
Terminal
#250 spade
Mount
12.2 mm hole
Cover
No
Pack
1

Common questions

What current does the listing claim?

The bullet states 25 A at 12 V DC, 15 A at 24 V DC, 10 A at 250 V AC and 15 A at 125 V AC. The 25 A cell is the 12 V line.

What hole and terminals does it use?

The bullet says a 12.2 mm hole and #250 spade terminals, 6.35 by 0.8 mm. Two wire connectors are in the pack.

Does the listing state a boat rating?

The bullet names marine boats for lights and similar extras. The table does not state an IP code.

Gebildet E569 rocker toggle, 8 pack

Rank 7

Gebildet E569 rocker toggle, 8 pack

Our view

The Gebildet E569 pack is eight SPST rocker toggles at about £7.99 for a 12 mm hole, with a clear storage box. The package bullet lists the eight switches and the box. The bullet rates them at 10 A at 12 V DC and 6 A at 24 V DC, and it claims more than 50,000 mechanical cycles and more than 10,000 electrical cycles. amazon.co.uk lists 4.6 from 360 ratings. UK reviews describe a solid toggle action, a replacement that filled an existing gap, and one use as a battery-charger disconnect. The repeated complaint is the slide on/off labels, which are weak and easily damaged. One buyer calls the build very cheap and accepts it because the price is low. Sampled UK reviews do not repeat an electrical failure, and the title names boats with no IP code in the table.

Pros

  • Eight rocker toggles and a storage box at about £7.99
  • 4.6 from 360 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • Bullet rating 10 A at 12 V DC and 6 A at 24 V DC, for a 12 mm hole
  • UK use as a battery-charger disconnect and as a replacement in an existing gap

Cons

  • Slide on/off labels are weak and easily damaged
  • One UK review calls the build very cheap
  • The package bullet does not include caps, and there is no IP code for the boat named in the title

Best for: A 12 V project or a charger disconnect where a plain 12 mm rocker is enough and the on/off legend can wear.

Less suitable: A damp boat panel, or a dashboard where the on/off legend has to stay readable.

Specifications

Model
Gebildet E569 rocker toggle, 8 pack
Brand
Gebildet
Price
∼£8
Customer rating
4.6/5(360)
Family
Rocker
Action
On/off, 2-pin
Claimed rating
10 A 12 V; 6 A 24 V
Terminal
Pin
Mount
12 mm hole
Cover
No
Pack
8

Common questions

Does this pack include waterproof caps?

The package bullet lists eight switches and a storage box. It does not list caps.

What current is claimed?

10 A at 12 V DC and 6 A at 24 V DC. The current cell says 10 A.

What did UK reviews criticise?

The slide on/off labels are described as easily damaged. Sampled UK reviews do not repeat an electrical failure.

White 1-gang 2-way plate

Rank 8

White 1-gang 2-way plate

Our view

The Marbo Sport white plastic 1-gang plate is about £3.61, with 10 A in the title, and the bullet says you can use it as a 1-way or a 2-way switch, with fixing screws in the pack. amazon.co.uk lists 4.5 from 2,675 ratings, the largest count in this set. UK reviews treat it as a straightforward replacement for a broken hinge or a wobbly plate, with a click and an easy screw-in to an existing box, and one buyer read BS EN 60669-1 stamped on the rear. Buyers also say they ordered it again, including as a one-way feed to a home-automation module. The recurring limit is the screws: the supplied ones were too short, so old screws were reused, and the brass terminal screws are described as easy to fall out and hard to trust when tightened. There is left-to-right play if you wiggle the dolly. The table adds Wi-Fi, Touch, IP65, ON-OFF-ON and a body of 2 mm by 2 mm by 2 mm, and no sampled UK review treats those cells as real features. At about £3.61 it is the best value lighting plate in this set if you bring your own screws and treat those cells as listing noise.

Pros

  • White 1-gang plate at about £3.61, with fixing screws, and the bullet says 1-way or 2-way
  • 4.5 from 2,675 amazon.co.uk ratings
  • UK reviews describe a click and a straightforward swap for a broken hinge or a wobbly plate
  • One UK reviewer read BS EN 60669-1 stamped on the rear

Cons

  • Supplied fixing screws were too short, so old screws were reused
  • Brass terminal screws are described as easy to fall out and hard to trust when tightened
  • Left-to-right play if the dolly is wiggled
  • Wi-Fi, Touch, IP65 and a 2 mm body are table cells the UK reviews do not treat as real features

Best for: Replacing a like-for-like white lighting plate on an existing box, including a one-way feed to a home-automation module, if you can reuse the old screws.

Less suitable: A smart switch, an IP65 bathroom fitting, or a job that needs terminal screws which stay put on their own.

Specifications

Model
White 1-gang 2-way plate
Brand
Marbo Sport
Price
∼£4
Customer rating
4.5/5(2,675)
Family
Wall plate
Action
1-way or 2-way
Claimed rating
10 A
Terminal
Screw
Mount
Wall plate
Cover
No
Pack
1

Common questions

Can this plate be used as 1-way or 2-way?

The bullet says it can be used as a 1-way or a 2-way switch, and that fixing screws are included.

Is it a Wi-Fi or IP65 switch?

Those words are in the table. The bullets describe a white plastic plate. A UK review says the rear is stamped BS EN 60669-1. That stamp is a review observation, not a specification cell.

What did UK reviews criticise?

Short fixing screws, brass terminal screws that fall out or are hard to tighten, and some left-to-right play in the dolly.

Knightsbridge FPAV1TOGBB brushed brass

Rank 9

Knightsbridge FPAV1TOGBB brushed brass

∼£13

Our view

The Knightsbridge FPAV1TOGBB is a brushed-brass 1-gang 2-way plate at about £12.70, 8.7 cm wide and 8.7 cm high, with 10 A in the title. The bullet describes two switches controlling one light, as in a room with an entrance at each end, and an ultra-slim plate with an integral gasket. amazon.co.uk lists 4.4 from 145 ratings, and the manufacturer warranty description says 15 years. UK reviews praise the brushed finish, a firm click and easy wiping, and one buyer says an electrician uses them and could not get them much cheaper wholesale. The same sample includes a plate that arrived broken, sharp edges with a broken rivet that was still fitted, and one review of two units with scrap through one plate and a tarnished toggle ball on the other. Screws were slightly too long for a thinner back box on one order, and another order arrived without screws until the seller sorted it. The gasket is described as moisture protection, and the listing states no IP code and no bathroom zone. The model cell reads FP1TOGBB, and the title and part number read FPAV1TOGBB.

Pros

  • Brushed-brass 1-gang 2-way plate, 8.7 cm square, with 10 A in the title, at about £12.70
  • 4.4 from 145 reviews, with UK notes on the finish, a firm click and wiping
  • Integral gasket claimed, plus installation instructions and screws
  • Manufacturer warranty description of 15 years

Cons

  • UK reviews include a broken arrival, sharp edges, a broken rivet, scrap through a plate and a tarnished toggle ball
  • Screws slightly too long for a thinner back box, and one order arrived without screws
  • No voltage cell, and no IP code or bathroom zone for the gasket claim
  • Model cell FP1TOGBB differs from the title and part number FPAV1TOGBB

Best for: A brushed-brass 2-way plate for a living room or a Victorian house, if you check the screws against the back-box depth before you finish the job.

Less suitable: A bathroom zone, because no IP code is stated, or a buyer who needs every plate to arrive unmarked.

Specifications

Model
Knightsbridge FPAV1TOGBB brushed brass
Brand
Knightsbridge
Price
∼£13
Customer rating
4.4/5(145)
Family
Wall plate
Action
2-way
Claimed rating
10 A
Terminal
Screw
Mount
Wall plate
Cover
Gasket, no IP
Pack
1

Common questions

What does 2-way mean on this listing?

The bullet says two switches control one light, for a room with two entrances.

What finish and current are stated?

Brushed brass, and 10 A in the title. No voltage cell is printed. The manufacturer warranty description says 15 years.

What did UK reviews say about the screws?

One review says the screws were slightly too long for a thinner back box. Another order arrived without screws, and the seller then sorted it.

Gebildet E1088 with safety cover

Rank 10

Gebildet E1088 with safety cover

Our view

The Gebildet E1088 is a metal SPST on/off bat at about £4.99, with a safety cover and two wire connectors, for a 12.2 mm hole and #250 spades. The bullet rates it at 25 A at 12 V DC, 15 A at 24 V DC, 10 A at 250 V AC and 15 A at 125 V AC, so the 25 A line is the 12 V DC rating. amazon.co.uk lists 4.3 from 85 ratings. The five UK reviews call it easy to fit, and one buyer wanted the red covered look. One buyer ran it on 1,500 W bass bins and called the quality good. That 1,500 W figure is the reviewer's load, and the bullet stays on the amp and voltage lines. In the only fault among those five reviews, the cover failed on first use: a piece fell out, described as looking like a spring cap, and the switch still passed an ohmmeter check. The title also says rocker and KN3D-101, and the table gives no IP code for the marine boats named in the bullet.

Pros

  • One switch, one safety cover and two wire connectors at about £4.99
  • Bullet rating 25 A at 12 V DC, 15 A at 24 V DC, 10 A at 250 V AC and 15 A at 125 V AC
  • 12.2 mm hole and #250 spade terminals
  • UK reviews call it easy to fit, and one buyer wanted the red covered look

Cons

  • Cover shed a piece on first use in one UK review, described as looking like a spring cap
  • The switch in that review still passed an ohmmeter check, so the cover was the failed part
  • 4.3 from 85 ratings, with no IP code, and the title also says rocker and KN3D-101

Best for: A 12 V light on a car or truck panel where you want a flip cover over a 12.2 mm bat and you can spare the cover if a piece comes loose.

Less suitable: A wet boat, or a job that depends on the cover staying in one piece, because one UK review lost a piece of it on first use.

Specifications

Model
Gebildet E1088 with safety cover
Brand
Gebildet
Price
∼£5
Customer rating
4.3/5(85)
Family
Panel bat
Action
On/off, 2-pin
Claimed rating
25 A 12 V; 10 A 250 V
Terminal
#250 spade
Mount
12.2 mm hole
Cover
Safety cover
Pack
1

Common questions

What is in the pack?

One switch, one safety cover and two wire connectors. The hole is 12.2 mm and the terminals are #250 spades.

What did a UK review say about the cover?

One UK review says the switch still passed an ohmmeter check, but a piece of the cover fell out on first use.

Is 25 A the mains figure?

The 25 A line is at 12 V DC. The same bullet states 10 A at 250 V AC.

QWORK MTS-102 mini, 20 pack

Rank 11

QWORK MTS-102 mini, 20 pack

Our view

The QWORK pack is 20 mini toggles at about £6.45, titled MTS-102, rated in the bullet at AC 125 V and 6 A, with two hex nuts, a flat washer and a locking washer on each switch. The title says SPST and also ON-ON with three pins, and the mounting cell says surface mount while the bullet describes a panel nut. amazon.co.uk lists 4.1 from 415 ratings, and the UK sample is heavily critical. Reviewers say the body melts if the terminals are soldered, and the switch then shorts. One buyer says only 8 of 20 worked, the rest failing to toggle or sticking on a 2 A, 12 V motor, and another states about a 25 percent failure rate and will not solder them. A buyer who fitted 2.8 mm female spades reported that those worked, and one review says low-voltage logic only, beside the printed 6 A at 125 V. Another failed after a few weeks. The nuts and the anti-spin lug are the useful part if you already expect to discard some of the pack.

Pros

  • 20 switches at about £6.45, each with two hex nuts, a flat washer and a locking washer
  • Bullet rating AC 125 V, 6 A, model MTS-102
  • One UK buyer found 2.8 mm female spades worked where solder did not
  • Nuts and an anti-spin lug, which one buyer found useful on small projects

Cons

  • Body melts if the terminals are soldered, and the switch then shorts
  • One buyer says only 8 of 20 worked; another cites about a 25 percent failure rate
  • Title says both SPST and ON-ON with three pins, and the mounting cell says surface mount

Best for: A low-voltage project where you fit 2.8 mm spades, expect to reject some of the 20, and keep a soldering iron away from the pins.

Less suitable: A load near the stated 6 A at 125 V, or any job that needs every switch in the pack to complete its throw.

Specifications

Model
QWORK MTS-102 mini, 20 pack
Brand
QWORK
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.1/5(415)
Family
Mini
Action
ON-ON, 3-pin
Claimed rating
125 V AC, 6 A
Terminal
Pins
Mount
Panel nuts
Cover
No
Pack
20

Common questions

Is this a simple on/off switch?

The title says SPST and also ON-ON with three pins and two positions. The table says SPST. Both are copied.

What did UK reviews say about soldering?

Several UK reviews say the body melts under a soldering iron and then shorts, or that many of the 20 fail to toggle. One buyer used 2.8 mm female spades instead and those worked.

What rating is printed?

AC 125 V, 6 A. The compatible-devices cell says Arduino.

QWORK MTS-101, 12 pack

Rank 12

QWORK MTS-101, 12 pack

Our view

The QWORK MTS-101 pack is twelve 2-pin SPST on/off toggles at about £5.99, with a bullet rating of AC 125 V at 6 A and silver contacts claimed. The terminals are PCB pins, the table gives no mounting-hole size, and there is no IP code. amazon.co.uk lists 4.1 from 8 ratings. The saved listing has no review headed as the United Kingdom, so that 4.1 stays a listing aggregate. Written comments in the file come from Spain, Germany and Italy. Those non-UK texts say pieces broke while the mini contacts were soldered, with heat and the small size suggested in one of them, and a Spain review says the position lock washer has too much play. The 125 V bullet has no 250 V line beside it, which leaves UK 230 V mains outside the printed rating. You would be buying this pack with no UK review text to read.

Pros

  • Twelve 2-pin SPST on/off toggles at about £5.99
  • Bullet rating AC 125 V, 6 A
  • Silver contacts claimed on the listing
  • Panel mount with PCB pin terminals

Cons

  • No United Kingdom review text in the file, so 4.1 from 8 is only the listing aggregate
  • Non-UK texts describe pieces breaking while the mini contacts were soldered
  • No hole size is printed, and there is no 250 V line beside the 125 V bullet

Best for: A hobby panel already inside the printed AC 125 V, 6 A line, where you can solder quickly and you accept that the file has no UK review to read.

Less suitable: UK 230 V lighting, or any circuit where you need a stated hole size and a United Kingdom review.

Specifications

Model
QWORK MTS-101, 12 pack
Brand
QWORK
Price
∼£6
Customer rating
4.1/5(8)
Family
Mini
Action
On/off, 2-pin
Claimed rating
125 V AC, 6 A
Terminal
PCB pin
Mount
Panel
Cover
No
Pack
12

Common questions

Is 125 V the same as UK mains?

The bullet says AC 125 V, 6 A. No 250 V line is printed.

Are there United Kingdom reviews in the file?

No. The 4.1 from 8 is the listing aggregate. Soldering complaints in the file are from Germany, Spain and Italy, not the United Kingdom.

How does it mount?

Panel mount, 2-pin, PCB pin terminals. No hole size is in the table.

How we compared

We compared 12 toggle switches on amazon.co.uk and scored them from the listing facts in this set. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK lines, dated 15 October 2026. There was no lab test. Public sources cover Part P in England, the product-safety voltage window, and household switch standards. The five weights below sum to 100.

1

The job

25%

A two-door room needs a 1-gang 2-way plate. A dashboard lamp needs a panel switch. A model needs a mini. The £2.99 to £12.70 span is not a quality ladder.

2

Rating bullet

25%

On the Gebildet metal bats, 25 A is the 12 V DC line. The same bullet says 10 A at 250 V AC. The eight-pack mini says 6 A at 125 V AC and 3 A at 250 V AC.

3

Pins and throws

15%

Two-pin on/off is the SPST claim. The QWORK MTS-102 title says SPST and also ON-ON with three pins. None of the twelve claims to be an intermediate switch.

4

Hole and terminal

20%

Stated holes are 12.2 mm, 12 mm and 6 mm. Terminals are 6.35 mm spades, solder, PCB pins, screws, or a snap-in. UK reviews of the 20-pack say the body melts when soldered.

5

Cover and IP

15%

Krysel's table says IP00. Uliwamowi says waterproof and leaves IP blank. Caps on the Gebildet eight-pack and the QWORK four-pack are caps, not a stated IP code.

Independent review
Last updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Toggle switch buying guide

A toggle switch only earns its place if the job, the rating bullet, and the hole or back box match what you are fitting. The notes below follow that order. Where 12 V stops and UK mains start is in [12 V or mains](/hub/electrical-equipment/toggle-switch/sub/toggle-switch-12v-or-mains).

What is a toggle switch?

On amazon.co.uk a toggle switch is a lighting-plate dolly or a panel lever. These twelve listings contain both, plus rockers the titles still call toggles. Buyers are replacing a 1-gang 2-way plate, adding a 12 V accessory, or fitting a mini to a model. Separate them by the rating string, the terminal, and the hole or the back box. The plates state 10 A. The metal bats state 25 A at 12 V DC and, in the same bullet, 10 A at 250 V AC. The £2.99 to £12.70 span is not a quality ladder.

Best for

  • A like-for-like 1-gang plate, if you isolate and prove dead
  • A 12 V lamp through a hole of about 12 mm
  • A model or LED string on a 6 mm mini

Not ideal for

  • A new circuit, a consumer-unit change, or a bath, shower, pool or sauna space
  • A wet deck when the IP cell is blank, IP00, or only a rubber cap
  • UK 230 V lighting on a switch printed only at 125 V

Mistakes to avoid

  1. 1

    A car bat on a back box

    A panel bat is not a 1-gang lighting plate. The plates state 10 A. The metal bats state 25 A at 12 V DC and, in the same bullet, 10 A at 250 V AC. Read 25 A as the 12 V line.

  2. 2

    Soldering minis that melt

    UK reviews of the 20-piece MTS-102 pack say the body melts under a soldering iron and then shorts. One buyer says only 8 of 20 worked. A 2.8 mm spade is the workaround those reviews name.

  3. 3

    A waterproof bullet with no IP code

    Krysel prints IP00. Uliwamowi says waterproof and leaves IP blank. Caps in a pack are caps, not a stated IP code. Do not turn that into a weatherproof approval.

What to weigh up

Job, rating bullet, pins

High

Start with the job, not the star line. A two-door room needs a 1-gang 2-way plate, which in this set is the Knightsbridge brushed brass plate or the white plastic plate. A dashboard lamp needs a panel bat such as the Gebildet E1086. A model needs a mini, such as the Gebildet eight-pack for a 6 mm hole. The £2.99 to £12.70 span is not a quality ladder. Then read the whole rating bullet. On the Gebildet metal bats, 25 A is the 12 V DC line, and the same bullet says 10 A at 250 V AC.

Hole, terminal, cover and IP

High

Match the hole and the terminal to the panel or the back box you already have. Stated holes are 12.2 mm on the Gebildet metal bats, 12 mm on the rockers, and 6 mm on the Gebildet mini. Terminals are 6.35 mm spades, solder, PCB pins, screws, or a snap-in. UK reviews of the 20-piece MTS-102 pack say the body melts under a soldering iron and then shorts. One of those buyers used 2.8 mm female spades instead. Read covers and IP cells literally.

Which option suits you?

Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.

Like-for-like plate swap

You are replacing a white 1-gang plate on an existing box, and you will isolate and prove dead. The bullet says 1-way or 2-way. Bring the old screws, because UK reviews found the supplied ones too short.

12 V panel lamp

You are adding a 12 V lamp through a hole that is already about 12 mm, and you can crimp #250 spades. Read 25 A as the 12 V DC line, not as the rating at 230 V.

Model or LED strings

You want a 6 mm mini for a simulator, 00-gauge lighting or LED strings, and you will keep the current well under the 3 A at 250 V AC line. Do not treat the 20-pack soldering complaints as a reason to ignore heat.

Common questions about toggle switches

Which toggle switch is the top pick in this set?
The top pick for a metal panel bat is the Gebildet E1086 at about £3.99. amazon.co.uk lists 4.6 from 403 reviews. The bullet rates 25 A at 12 V DC and 10 A at 250 V AC, for a 12.2 mm hole and #250 spades. UK reviews mention a firm action, a small motor and an electric-fence energiser. One UK reviewer calls the finish unfinished. There is no IP code, so it is not a wet-deck switch.
How much does a toggle switch cost on amazon.co.uk?
On these twelve amazon.co.uk files, dated 15 October 2026, prices run from about £2.99 to £12.70. Under £5 you get one metal bat, the covered bat, the five-pack rocker and the white plate. About £6 to £9 covers mini and rocker multi-packs and four metal switches with boots. The top of this sample is the Knightsbridge plate at about £12.70. These bands are this set, not a market survey.
Should I buy a plate, a panel bat, a mini or a rocker?
Name the job first. A 1-gang 2-way plate is for a room with two doors. A panel bat is for a 12 V accessory in a round hole. A mini is for a model. Rockers in this set are sold with toggle in the title, and the Krysel table says the type is rocker. The price order is not a quality ladder. Two-pin on/off is the SPST claim, and none of the twelve is an intermediate switch.
Is 25 A the mains rating on a metal toggle?
No. On the Gebildet E1086 and E1088, 25 A is the 12 V DC line. The same bullet says 10 A at 250 V AC, plus 15 A at 24 V DC and 15 A at 125 V AC. The plates state 10 A and do not print that 25 A line. A 125 V mini is not a UK lighting switch. Read the whole bullet before you put a car bat on a lighting back box.
Does a like-for-like plate swap have to be notified in England?
In England, Approved Document P (2013) makes a new circuit, a consumer-unit replacement, or an alteration in a special location notifiable. A like-for-like replacement is generally non-notifiable and still has to be safe. Around a bath or shower that space is 2.25 m high and 0.6 m out, or 1.2 m from the shower head if there is no tray. Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland do not use that England list as local law.
Does a waterproof cap make a toggle switch weatherproof?
No. Read the IP cell as printed. Krysel prints IP00. Uliwamowi says waterproof and leaves IP blank. Caps on the Gebildet E356 eight-pack and the QWORK four-pack are caps in the bag, not a stated IP code. UK texts in this set do not describe a water test of those caps. A rubber boot is not approval for a wet deck or a boat circuit.
Why do UK reviews warn about the QWORK 20-pack?
The QWORK MTS-102 title says SPST and also ON-ON with three pins, rated AC 125 V at 6 A, twenty switches at about £6.45. UK reviews say the body melts under a soldering iron and then shorts. One buyer says only 8 of 20 worked. Another cites about a 25 percent failure rate. One buyer fitted 2.8 mm female spades and those worked. Do not read the ON-ON 3-pin title as simple on/off.
When is a wired toggle the wrong product?
A wired plate or panel bat needs a cable and a matching rating. If you want a battery remote for a lamp you already have, that is a different comparison: the wireless switch listings are not these twelve toggles. Do not treat the white plate's Wi-Fi cell as a smart switch. The bullets describe an ordinary 10 A plate, and UK reviews do not treat Wi-Fi or IP65 as real features.

Our verdict

Across these twelve amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick for a metal panel bat is the Gebildet E1086: about £3.99, 4.6 from 403 reviews, a 12.2 mm hole, #250 spades, and a bullet that states 25 A at 12 V DC and 10 A at 250 V AC. One UK reviewer calls the finish unfinished, and the table gives no IP code. The best value is the white 1-gang plate at about £3.61, with 4.5 from 2,675 reviews, if you reuse the old screws and ignore Wi-Fi, IP65 and the 2 mm body cell. The Knightsbridge brushed-brass plate is the 2-way finish at about £12.70 when the white plastic plate is the wrong look.

Best overall
Krysel snap-in rocker, 5 pack

Krysel snap-in rocker, 5 pack

View offer
Best value
White 1-gang 2-way plate

White 1-gang 2-way plate

About £3.61 with 4.5 from 2,675 reviews, the largest count in this set, for a 1-way or 2-way plate.

View offer

Editorial

Peter F. - Editor
Editor
Toggle switchesUK electrical fittingsamazon.co.uk listings

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.

Updated: October 2026
8 sources checked

Guides to toggle switches

Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.

Related comparisons

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars and review counts are from the amazon.co.uk files dated 15 October 2026.

  1. Approved Document P, 2013 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. IET Part P FAQ (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. IET, About BS 7671 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 3 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. Electricity at Work Regulations 1989, regulation 4 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. HSE, electricity at work: the law (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. BSI, BS EN 60669-1:2018 (retrieved 15 October 2026)

Expert source (DIY & tools): Charlie White (Charlie DIYte) (external profile) – public expert commentary used as a research source, not as a contributor to our pages.

This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars, and review counts are the UK listing lines. We did not run a lab test.