Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best tubular motor

Updated: October 2026

The best tubular motor in this amazon.co.uk set depends on the barrel you have measured. A light window shutter on an SW60 shaft, a heavier curtain that still has to open in a power cut, and a 38 mm indoor blind are three different machines. This page names one listing for each job and leaves a listing uncrowned when the tube, the supply, or the override is missing. Prices and stars are the 15 October 2026 scrape in our [tubular motor comparison](/hub/diy-supplies/tubular-motor). Peter F. compared those listings with public UK sources and did not lab-test a motor. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.

The best tubular motor in this amazon.co.uk set depends on the barrel you have measured.

Our top picks

On this page

A light SW60 window shutter

For a light window shutter on a measured 60 mm shaft, inside 4.2 m² or 22 kg, the listing that states the job is the superrollo RM10MM. It is 10 Nm, at £46.34, with an adjustment tool. Voltage is not printed, and manual override is not stated. Skip it if the curtain is a way out, or if you need 230 V written on the page. If the same SW60 shaft carries a larger curtain, still inside 12 m² or 66 kg, the step up is the superrollo RM30MM at £68.84, with the same gaps. Trowbridge Electrical singles the RM30MM out for a medium shutter. The check order, without a winner, is on the tubular motor buying guide.

A heavier shutter that has to open in a power cut

When the curtain is a way out, the pick is the Neco ED2/180-M only after you have checked the body. It prints 180 Nm, 230 V at 50 Hz, 540 W, and 7 rpm, with manual override and a 4-minute duty, at £88.99. The body is 59 mm. "Up to 220 kg" is the seller's figure. There is no star line, and it does not say SW60. The Neco 60 Nm prints 230 V and override, and UK reviews describe swapping end pieces, so it stays a candidate rather than a crowned best. Garage and shop curtains are on the roller shutter tubular motor page.

A 38 mm indoor roller blind

The only kit here that states a 38 mm tube, a remote, and a pull of 4 kg is the Rollerhouse, at £92.99. It does not print newton-metres and it does not state 230 V. The listing excludes pleated, aluminium, and vertical blinds. You buy it for an indoor blind on that tube, inside 4 kg, when you want a remote and you are not adding a mains cable. A remote is what the listing states. A different Rollerhouse ASIN advertises Alexa or Google Home. This ASIN does not. The two types are separated on the roller blind motor or tubular motor page.

Listings this page will not crown

The Ttgo TGM3017 is £16.39 and does not print the tube or the voltage. In the first 50 texts, two are marked United Kingdom. The Generico TGM5012 is £34.35, with a manual the listing says is not in English. uk.which.one ranks some of these motors on its own scores, which are not amazon.co.uk stars. If the tube is still unknown, the buying guide is the page that refuses the order. More newton-metres are not always safer, and the 180 Nm Neco does not replace the Rollerhouse.

Common questions

Is there one best tubular motor for every shutter?
No. A 10 Nm motor for a light SW60 window shutter, a 180 Nm motor with a stated override, and a rechargeable kit for a 38 mm blind are different products. This page names the superrollo RM10MM or RM30MM for the SW60 window job, the Neco ED2/180-M only after you have checked a 59 mm body, and the Rollerhouse for the blind.
Which listing is the pick for a light SW60 window shutter?
The superrollo RM10MM, at £46.34, when the curtain is inside 4.2 m² or 22 kg. The RM30MM, at £68.84, when it is inside 12 m² or 66 kg. Both state SW60 and include an end-point tool. Both leave voltage and override unprinted, and neither has a UK star line in this scrape. Skip both if the curtain has to open by hand in a power cut.
Which listing is the pick when the curtain is a way out?
The Neco ED2/180-M, at £88.99, if you need a printed 230 V supply, a printed override, and you have checked that the 59 mm body will enter the barrel. It also prints 7 rpm and a 4-minute duty. There are no reviews. The seller's "up to 220 kg" is not your curtain. The Ellard 100 Nm states an override and does not state the tube or the voltage, so it stays uncrowned.
Why is the £16.39 Ttgo not the best value?
The listing does not print the tube or the voltage. It prints 30 Nm and a mechanical stroke end, and amazon.co.uk showed 4.5 from 452 reviews. Two of the first 50 texts are marked United Kingdom. A mechanical end is a limit, not a crank. The best value line here is the superrollo RM10MM, which names SW60 and 4.2 m² or 22 kg, at £46.34, with voltage still unprinted.
Why is the Ellard 140 Nm not the top pick?
The title states 140 Nm and the summary line is 4.8 from 5, at £110. Voltage, tube, override, watts, and weight are not printed. The brand field says Kba and the manufacturer field says Ellard. The stored review talks about delivery, not fitting. Five reviews are too small a pool to crown a motor whose crown is not on the page.
Which listing is the pick for a 38 mm indoor blind?
The Rollerhouse, at £92.99, 3.6 from 11, when the tube is 38 mm, the fabric is inside the stated 4 kg, and you want the remote and 8.4 V charger. Skip it for any roller shutter, for pleated, aluminium, or vertical blinds, and for a diameter that is not in the box. Do not treat it as an Alexa or Google Home motor. A remote is what this listing states.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources on electrical notification, product safety and shutter drives. Listings checked 15 October 2026. Prices on amazon.co.uk move.

  1. Approved Document P (2013) (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. Building Regulations amendment 2012, regulation 12(6A) (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. BS EN IEC 60335-2-97:2023+A11:2023 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. Trade Roller Shutters, tubular motors (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. Eurodrive catalogue via Fox Doors (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. SIMU motor charts for roller shutters (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. HSE, PUWER (retrieved 16 October 2026)