Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best spokeshave for each woodworking job

Updated: October 2026

The best spokeshave is not the listing with the highest star average. A flat sole that has worked for hundreds of buyers is a more defensible choice for a door edge than a specialist curved tool, or a 4.5-star listing backed by five ratings. The [spokeshave comparison](/hub/diy-supplies/spokeshave) contains all twelve amazon.co.uk listings and captured prices. The Swpeet 10 inch flat is our top pick for general flat-sole work, the Swpeet pair is the best value, and the Spear & Jackson models make sense only for particular curves. Peter F. used listing figures captured on 15 October 2026, not a laboratory test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

The best spokeshave is not the listing with the highest star average.

Our top picks

Swpeet Swpeet 10 inch pair

Preis-Tipp

Swpeet Swpeet 10 inch pair
8.6/10about £4.44
Swpeet Swpeet 10 inch flat

Rank 3

Swpeet Swpeet 10 inch flat
9.0/10about £8.99
On this page

Best for a flat sole and a large review sample

Swpeet B0773LKJ5Y is the strongest general-purpose choice in this group. It costs £8.99 in the captured listing, names a flat cast-iron base and claims a 46 mm carbon-steel blade with twin adjustment. Its 3.9-star average comes from 1,928 ratings. That average is not spectacular, but it gives you far more evidence than Lumanious B0FZ964N29 at 4.5 from five. A flat sole is the sensible shape for a straight door edge, a chamfer, a convex rail or a broad, gentle curve. Reviewers describe the Swpeet completing door-edge jobs once adjusted, but they also mention paint or unevenness on the sole, a blade that needs sharpening and fiddly setting. It is a top pick for someone willing to tune an inexpensive tool. Skip it for a tight hollow, a promised spare cutter, or if flattening a painted sole is work you do not want. The spokeshave buying guide explains why sole shape and adjustment should be decided before you compare stars.

Best value when you want two flat shaves

Swpeet B07NVYHGGG is the best-value listing at £4.44 because it says you receive two 10-inch flat-base shaves. Both use the twin-screw pattern and claim 46 mm carbon-steel cutters, so you can keep one setting fine and the other slightly heavier. Its 4.1-star average is based on 66 ratings, and the listing does not promise spare blades. The two shaves are the same flat-base type, not a concave-and-convex set. If you prefer a clearer spare package, Glarks B07PT43VJS costs £12.99 and has 4.1 stars from 225 ratings. It states two flat-base shaves and two extra 45 mm blades. Reviews still mention paint on the soles and edges that need sharpening, so the extra spend buys a clearer package rather than freedom from setup. See flat versus round spokeshaves before treating a second flat shave as a specialist option.

Best when the curve is a hollow

Spear & Jackson SSROUND B0H2Z5N6SS is the relevant choice when a flat sole bridges a tight concave curve. The £13.33 listing identifies a round shoe, cast-iron construction and an adjustable carbon-steel blade. Its 4.1-star average comes from 93 ratings. It is one tool, no spare blade is stated, and it is a specialist second shave rather than a door-edge tool. Spear & Jackson SSCON B0H2YW8WKL serves a different purpose. At £26.74 it supplies concave and convex blade profiles and holds 4.5 stars from 106 ratings. Reviewers describe a single locking screw. SSCON is not a flat Stanley 151 plus a round-sole 151R. Buy it for those cutter profiles.

Rows to skip unless the compromise suits you

Several low-cost entries conceal the sole shape. Voskilon B0H2DLNL1P, Wjelet B0DT6XB176, GIONAR B0H19VHQCW and MHYMX B0DSC4FJXH do not say flat or round. Silence is not evidence of a flat sole. Voskilon also has only three ratings, with one complaint that every blade arrived blunt. Wjelet B0DK2VMLRW names a flat base and claims four spares at £7.69. Conflicting spare reports, an implausible 54 g weight and a corded-electric field for a manual tool weaken confidence. The Glarks G2657 bundle includes two shaves, four spare blades, a small plane and a rasp, but its shave soles are not named. For a local door rub, the sticking-door guide also checks whether you should remove timber at all.

Common questions

Which spokeshave is the top pick here?
Swpeet B0773LKJ5Y is the top pick for general flat-sole work because it names the sole and blade, costs £8.99 in the captured listing and has 1,928 ratings. It still needs checking, sharpening and adjustment. The recommendation does not extend to tight hollows, where the Spear & Jackson SSROUND is the more suitable geometry.
Which is the best-value spokeshave?
Swpeet B07NVYHGGG is the best value in this comparison because £4.44 buys two named flat-base shaves. The listing does not state spare blades, and inexpensive tools may need sole and edge preparation. Choose Glarks B07PT43VJS instead if two stated replacement cutters and a larger review sample justify the higher price to you.
Why not choose the highest star rating?
A star average needs its review count and product fit beside it. Lumanious has 4.5 stars from only five ratings, while the single Swpeet flat shave has 3.9 from 1,928. The latter gives a much broader record of setup strengths and faults. Neither number can compensate for buying the wrong sole shape.
What is best for a tight hollow?
Spear & Jackson SSROUND is the named round-sole option and is designed to enter concave work that a flat sole bridges. SSCON is different: it uses concave and convex cutter profiles. Select SSROUND for round-sole geometry, and select SSCON only when the shaped cutters match the component you are making.
Is the Glarks eight-piece set the best package?
It is the broadest bundle, with two shaves, four claimed spare blades, a small plane and a rasp for £16.99. The shave soles are not specified and the extra plane attracts complaints. It makes sense when you need several low-cost shaping tools, not when you want one clearly defined spokeshave.
Are these recommendations based on testing?
No. Products Compared assessed the captured amazon.co.uk listings, prices, rating counts and recurring public review themes on 15 October 2026. We did not conduct a laboratory or workshop test. The recommendations describe the best fit within these twelve listings and retain the limitations reported in the source material.

Related pages

Sources

Public sources named in the research digest for this spokeshave comparison. Listing prices and star counts are amazon.co.uk figures from that digest. Prices move. Sources checked 15 October 2026.

  1. Common Woodworking, Buying a spokeshave (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. Paul Sellers, spokeshave Q&A (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. Fine Woodworking, low-angle vs standard-angle spokeshaves (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. Fine Woodworking, spokeshaves can be pushed or pulled (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. HSE, PUWER overview (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. MoneyHelper, consumer rights (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. Tooled-Up, Record A151 flat spokeshave (retrieved 15 October 2026)