Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best mechanic's seat

Updated: October 2026

You want one seat for brake and wheel work in a home garage, and amazon.co.uk still mixes a £36.99 roller with a £109.99 shop stool. The best mechanic's seat in this set is a conditional pick, not a lab winner. Five listings were compared on 16 October 2026 from prices, stars, and UK review text. The Products Compared editorial team did not sit on them. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Cards and prices live on the [workshop stool comparison](/hub/workshop/workshop-stool). Height and brakes as a checklist live on the [mechanic's seat buying guide](/hub/workshop/workshop-stool/sub/workshop-stool-buying-guide).

You want one seat for brake and wheel work in a home garage, and amazon.co.uk still mixes a £36.99 roller with a £109.99 shop stool. The best mechanic's seat in this set is a conditional pick, not a lab winner.

Our top picks

On this page

What this page means by best

Best here means the top pick inside this amazon.co.uk set for adjustable low work, judged on review volume, a stated height around 400–520 mm, and faults we can read. Best value means the lowest price that still lists brakes and storage, with the faults written next to it. Neither phrase means the safest stool. The set runs from £36.99 to £109.99. Stars alone do not pick a winner. The BILITOOLS stool shows 4.4 from 63, and the source file has no United Kingdom review text. A roller title does not count if the box has foot pads.

Top pick, Hilka 82620100

The top pick is the Hilka 82620100, ASIN B0198XEM0I, at £50.00. The listing states 400–520 mm, five swivel castors, integrated trays, a maximum of 120 kg, and a product weight of 6.62 kg. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.7 stars from 148 reviews, the only large UK count in this set. A fixed 33 cm roller cannot come up, and a 70 cm shop stool cannot come down. Skip it if brakes are not on the listing, or if a sinking gas strut is unacceptable. The 120 kg line was not retested.

Best value, HOMCOM red

The best value pick is the red HOMCOM, ASIN B0F9KKNSBF, at £36.99. It is a fixed seat the bullets call 33 cm high, with four swivel castors, two of them braked, a drawer, two trays, and two cup holders. The listing states 135 kg and a weight of 5.6 kg. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 stars from 21 reviews. You give up the Hilka's height range and its 148 reviews. Skip it if you will lift a loaded stool by the pad. UK reviews say the cushion unclips, and the width line disagrees with itself: 86 cm in the bullets and 64.5 cm on the technical line. The 135 kg figure is a claim. The black HOMCOM, at £38.99, is the seat reviewers bought for uneven tarmac because it states 10 cm wheels. That case, including a bent frame, is on the garage floor page, not a second best-value award.

What the older UK tests add

Hagerty UK ranked a Hilka Pro-Craft first, at £39.99 then, with a height they gave as 42–54 cm. Auto Express, in a 2020 group test, named a Hilka Best Buy. Those are their tests and their dates. Hagerty's £39.99 is not the £50.00 amazon.co.uk line. Start from height on the mechanic's seat or shop stool page when neither the Hilka nor the red HOMCOM fits.

Common questions

Which seat is the top pick in this set, and for whom?
The top pick is the Hilka 82620100 at £50.00, for adjustable work around 400–520 mm, with 4.7 stars from 148 amazon.co.uk reviews. Skip it if you need brakes printed on the listing, or if you cannot accept UK reports of a seat that sinks and castors that loosened after two years. It is not a lab result.
Which seat is best value, and what do you give up?
The best value pick is the red HOMCOM at £36.99. You get a fixed seat the bullets call 33 cm high, two stated brake castors, and trays. You give up the Hilka's height range and its larger review count. Skip it if you will lift the loaded stool by the pad, because UK reviews say the cushion unclips.
Why not the £109.99 stool with 4.4 stars?
The BILITOOLS stool is a tall shop seat at 21.5–29.5 inches, not a low mechanic's roller. Amazon.co.uk shows 4.4 from 63, and the source file has no United Kingdom review text. Brakes and castor size are not stated. Stars without UK comments do not make it the top pick for wheel work.
Did a UK magazine already pick a Hilka?
Hagerty UK ranked a Hilka-type seat first in their test, and Auto Express named a Hilka Best Buy in 2020. Those are their sittings and their dates. Hagerty's price then was £39.99, which is not the £50.00 amazon.co.uk line in this set. Use the magazine for the product shape, not for today's price.
Who should skip the Hilka?
Skip the Hilka if the floor slopes and you need a brake written on the listing, because brakes are not stated. Also skip it if a gas strut that one UK owner saw sink from top to bottom in minutes is unacceptable. The 120 kg line is the seller's figure and was not retested here.
Is best a lab result?
No. This page compares five amazon.co.uk listings, their stated specs, and the UK review text in the source files. Products Compared did not load the stools or measure them. Top pick and best value are editorial labels for this set, with a skip line on each, not a safety certificate.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, plus the stored amazon.co.uk listings for the five ASINs. Shelf prices and star lines are the UK figures in the display file. Page updated October 2026.

  1. Workplace (Health, Safety and Welfare) Regulations 1992, regulation 11 (retrieved October 2026)
  2. HSE L24: Workplace health, safety and welfare (retrieved October 2026)
  3. HSE: seated manual handling risk filter (retrieved October 2026)
  4. Auto Express: best mechanic’s seats (2020) (retrieved October 2026)
  5. Hagerty UK: mechanic’s seats (retrieved October 2026)
  6. BSI: BS EN 1335-2:2018 office work chair (retrieved October 2026)
  7. Machine Mart: Clarke car creepers and seats (retrieved October 2026)
  8. Consumer Rights Act 2015, Part 1 Chapter 2 (retrieved October 2026)