Engine crane buying guide
You are looking at a title that says 2 tonne, and the engine you mean to lift may be a fraction of that. An engine crane buying guide is the order of the checks: which number on the boom you will actually use, when a missing chart means the capacity is unknown, and why a gantry price can still leave the chain block out. The six amazon.co.uk listings, from about £179.99 to about £1,296.51, are on our [workshop crane comparison](/hub/workshop/workshop-crane). Products Compared read these listings and the public sources on 16 October 2026. There was no load test. A purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
You are looking at a title that says 2 tonne, and the engine you mean to lift may be a fraction of that.
You are looking at a title that says 2 tonne, and the engine you mean to lift may be a fraction of that. An engine crane buying guide is the order of the checks: which number on the boom you will actually use, when a missing chart means the capacity is unknown, and why a gantry price can still leave the chain block out. The six amazon.co.uk listings, from about £179.99 to about £1,296.51, are on our workshop crane comparison. Products Compared read these listings and the public sources on 16 October 2026. There was no load test. A purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Chart at the reach | Tackle | Height or size | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Sealey Sealey SC10 1 tonne folding crane | 1,000 kg at 830 mm to 250 kg at 1,190 mm on the maker page | Ram and hook | Folded height 1,440 mm on the instruction | 4.6 | about £275.68 | View offer |
| Alternative | Sealey Sealey SG1000KITG 1 tonne gantry kit | 1 tonne stated on the beam | Package line and safety line conflict | 2,400–3,600 mm, set unladen | 4.5 | about £1,023.35 | View offer |
| Best value | Garvee Garvee 2 tonne folding engine crane | 0.5 t to 2 t named, no millimetres | Not stated | 156 × 92 × 180 cm, folded size not stated | 3.8 | about £199.99 | View offer |
On this page
What the tonne on the title actually rates
A chart you can read, and listings that do not print one
Tackle, ceiling, and who LOLER binds
What you still have not chosen
Common questions
What capacity do I need for a normal car engine?
Why does a 2 tonne crane become 500 kg at full stretch?
What if the listing has no millimetre chart?
Does the price include a chain block?
Will a gantry fit under a garage ceiling?
Does LOLER apply if I only lift my own car?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources and maker pages used for this comparison, last checked on 16 October 2026. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are the amazon.co.uk lines in this set.
- HSE, LOLER overview (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- LOLER 1998, regulation 7 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- HSE, thorough examinations of lifting equipment (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- HSE, work equipment FAQs (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- PUWER 1998 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Sealey SG1000 instructions (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Sealey SC10 folding engine crane (retrieved 16 October 2026)
- Tooled Up, engine cranes (retrieved 16 October 2026)


