Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Socket set or tool kit

Updated: October 2026

You have a flat-pack bed in the hall, or a metric bolt under the bonnet, and amazon.co.uk calls both a Mannesmann tool box. A socket set or tool kit is the fork. If the job needs a hammer, buy a household case. If it needs three drive sizes, the title that says so is the M98430, and you still check the socket list. The [Mannesmann tool box comparison](/hub/workshop/mannesmann-tool-box) keeps the six cards. Household models are on [tool kit for a first home](/hub/workshop/mannesmann-tool-box/sub/mannesmann-tool-box-household-kit). Who should skip each model is on the [best Mannesmann tool set](/hub/workshop/mannesmann-tool-box/sub/mannesmann-tool-box-best) page. Titles were read on 19 October 2026. Klevaro’s sizes below are a retailer’s rule of thumb.

You have a flat-pack bed in the hall, or a metric bolt under the bonnet, and amazon.co.uk calls both a Mannesmann tool box. A socket set or tool kit is the fork. If the job needs a hammer, buy a household case.

Our top picks

Mannesmann Mannesmann M98430

Best overall

Mannesmann Mannesmann M98430
8.5/10about £111.76
Mannesmann Mannesmann M29084

Alternative

Mannesmann Mannesmann M29084
8.3/10about £48.00
Mannesmann Mannesmann M29166

Best value

Mannesmann Mannesmann M29166
8.3/10about £24.45
On this page

When a household case is the right Mannesmann buy

A household case here is the M29084, the M29086, the M29001 or the M29024. You are in that group when the fastener is a wood screw, a flat-pack cam, or a nail. The M29084 highlight names a hammer, pliers and a spirit level, at about £48.00, with 4.6 from 6,511 ratings. The included line adds a screwdriver and a spanner. The title says CrV and the material field says carbon steel. The M29001 at about £41.98 names a locksmith’s hammer, combination pliers, an adjustable wrench and an Allen key, on 49 ratings. The M29024 at about £54.45 names none of its 24 tools. Flat-pack fixings are often screws, cams and small hex keys, and a named Allen key covers the usual bolt. The M29086 highlight includes a 3/8 inch ratchet and drill bits, at about £69.98. That is one stated drive, and the listing does not include a drill.

When you are in the socket sets

You are in the socket sets when the fastener is a hex head and you need a square drive. The M29166 at about £24.45 is a 130-piece chrome-vanadium set, 1.5 kg, with a 72-tooth ratchet. The highlight names electronics, a bicycle and car interior work. It does not state 1/4 inch, 3/8 inch or 1/2 inch. UK reviews report rust, loose Allen keys and a damaged case. That is a light bit case. The M98430 at about £111.76 states 1/4 inch, 3/8 inch and 1/2 inch, 215 pieces, metric, chrome vanadium. It was 4.6 from 10,712 ratings and rank 55 in Socket Sets. One UK review describes a missing 18 mm socket. Klevaro’s rule of thumb, not a Mannesmann figure, is why a title might list three squares.
Mannesmann Mannesmann M98430

Testsieger

Mannesmann Mannesmann M98430
8.5/10about £111.76

Seventy-two teeth are not a square

Seventy-two teeth tell you how fine the M29166 ratchet is. They do not tell you the square size. For a small interior bolt, the highlight already covers the job. For a wheel nut, the missing square is the reason to leave this ASIN. The M29086 states 3/8 inch and stops. Treating 176 pieces as proof of a 1/2 inch drive invents a square the highlight did not sell.

No title includes a torque wrench

No title includes a torque wrench. A 1/2 inch drive on the M98430 can undo a large nut and still has nothing to say about a workshop torque figure. Stop and use a torque wrench for that fastening. An adjustable spanner, which the M29086 names, is a poor substitute for a socket on a recessed brake bolt. Hammer and wood screws start from the M29084, unless you need the M29001’s printed list. Three stated drives mean the M98430, after you check for the missing 18 mm. Bits and car interior mean the M29166.

Common questions

Do I need a socket set for flat-pack furniture?
Usually no. Flat-pack fixings are wood screws, cams and small hex keys. The M29001 names an Allen key. The M29084 names a hammer, pliers and a spirit level. A 130-piece or 215-piece socket set does not add the hammer, and the piece count does not assemble the wardrobe.
What is the difference between 1/4, 3/8 and 1/2 inch?
Only the M98430’s title states all three, and the M29086’s highlight states a 3/8 inch ratchet alone. A UK retailer’s rule of thumb, not a figure from these listings, treats 1/4 inch as the small drive, 3/8 inch as the general size, and 1/2 inch as the higher-torque drive. The M29166 states 72 teeth and does not state the square.
Is the 130-piece set a wheel-nut set?
No. The M29166 highlight stops at electronics, a bicycle and car interior work, and the drive size is not printed. UK reviews describe bits failing on rusty, high-torque fasteners. Wheel nuts need a torque wrench these titles do not include, and they sit outside that highlight.
Does the 176-piece set include three drives?
The M29086 highlight names a 3/8 inch ratchet, an adjustable spanner, pliers and drill bits. It does not state 1/4 inch or 1/2 inch. The piece count does not fill in the squares the highlight left out, and the listing does not include a drill.
What if a socket size is missing?
A UK review of the M98430 describes a missing 18 mm socket among skipped 1/2 inch sizes. Check the tray against the bolt you have, on the day the case arrives, and reject a short set while the 30-day right still applies. The next size up, with extra force, marks the fastener and does not replace the missing one.
Can I use a household set on a car?
You can use it on trim and on clips a screwdriver will move, which is closer to the M29166 highlight than to brake work. An adjustable spanner in the M29086 is not a 1/2 inch socket on a recessed bolt. Brake fasteners that need a stated drive and a torque wrench are outside every household title here.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Updated October 2026.

  1. amazon.co.uk Mannesmann listings, 19 October 2026 (retrieved October 2026)
  2. Brüder Mannesmann: Green Line (retrieved October 2026)
  3. Brüder Mannesmann: Produktinfo and guarantee (retrieved October 2026)
  4. BAuA: GS mark FAQ (retrieved October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK: General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved October 2026)
  6. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22 (retrieved October 2026)
  7. HSE GS38: Electrical test equipment for use on low voltage electrical systems (retrieved October 2026)
  8. Which?: Toolbox essentials (retrieved October 2026)