Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best Makita cordless angle grinder

Updated: 22 October 2026

You want a short list, not a tour of every Makita grinder a UK shop can order. The best Makita cordless angle grinder in this comparison is the listing with the deepest UK review file, and it still has a spindle you have to check. The [Makita cordless angle grinder comparison](/hub/tools/makita-cordless-angle-grinder) scores seven amazon.co.uk listings captured on 21 October 2026. This page says who each pattern is for. Products Compared did not run a lab. If you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You want a short list, not a tour of every Makita grinder a UK shop can order.

Our top picks

Makita Makita DGA454Z

Best overall

Makita Makita DGA454Z
9.1/10about £179.06
Makita Makita XAG25Z

Alternative

Makita Makita XAG25Z
9.0/10about £124.27
Laloohome Laloohome 125 mm

Best value

Laloohome Laloohome 125 mm
6.2/10about £29.99
On this page

How this short list is scored

The score is out of 100: stars up to 40, the review sample, whether the brand is Makita, and a price band. A file under 10 reviews contributes 2, so 5.0 from four reviews cannot outrank 4.8 from 465. A genuine Makita body takes the fit points. There is no lab. The DGA454Z leads at 83 and the XAG25Z at 82. The best value badge is the £29.99 laloohome, ahead of the Gautesy on the total. Five reviews do not prove a durable tool. The checks, in order, are on the buying guide.

Makita DGA454Z when you want the reviewed bare tool

The top pick is the Makita DGA454Z at £179.06, with 4.8 from 465 amazon.co.uk reviews. UK reviewers use it on SFS stud and track and talk about a 5 Ah pack. The warranty line says one year. There is no battery and no case. Skip it if your flanges are M14. The listing does not state the thread, and UK reviews say the spindle is 5/8 inch, in line with Makita Canada's 5/8"-11 UNC note. The UK sample is why the score leads. The spindle warning stays with that lead.
Makita Makita DGA454Z

Testsieger

Makita Makita DGA454Z
9.1/10about £179.06

The £29.99 laloohome body is the value badge

The best value row is the laloohome 125 mm at £29.99, 3.7 from five reviews. Reviewers say Makita 18 V packs fit. The thread is not stated. A verified review says it cuts out for about 15 minutes even though the case is not hot. The Gautesy at £34.99 scores 53 against this row's 54 and prints both 9,000 rpm and 90,000 rpm. The badge follows the higher total. Skip this body if the job cannot stop. Who built the gearbox is on the genuine or compatible page.

XAG25Z if you specifically want X-LOCK

The Makita XAG25Z at £124.27 scores 82 on 4.5 from 395 reviews marked United States. The manufacturer line is Makita U.S.A. Inc. Ordinary discs do not fit the X-LOCK mount. The attribute block prints 120 and 454 g, which do not describe an 18 V grinder of this size. Buy it when you will stock X-LOCK wheels. Skip it when your discs are M14 or 5/8 inch. US reviews are not the same evidence as the DGA454Z's UK file. Diameter is on the 115 mm or 125 mm page.

Models people expect that are not in this table

Makita UK lists the DGA504Z as a 125 mm brushless body at 8,500 /min, M14, 22.23 mm bore and 29 mm stated depth. A reseller showed £119.99 including VAT. The DGA513Z adds 3,000–8,500 /min, a brake and AFT, and a reseller showed £181.95 including VAT. We did not capture those as amazon.co.uk rows. The Synxiter at £57.99 is 5.0 from four reviews and stays at 62. The JOJOCY at £50.99 includes a verified review that the trigger fell apart. The 76 mm laloohome at £38.99 is a corner tool at a listed 20,000 rpm.

Common questions

Which listing scored highest, and why?
The Makita DGA454Z at £179.06 scored 83. It takes the star points from 4.8, the sample points from 465 reviews, and the fit points as a genuine Makita body. The price band adds little because £179.06 is above £130. The lead is the depth of the UK review file. It is not a lab result, and it does not cancel the spindle comments.
Who should not buy the DGA454Z even though it leads?
You, if your discs and flanges are M14. UK reviews say this spindle is 5/8 inch and not M14, and the listing does not print a thread. Look elsewhere if you need a battery in the box, a storage case, or a single pack to finish a long cut. Reviewers say heavy cutting wants more than one 5 Ah pack.
What does the best value badge mean when the review count is five?
The £29.99 laloohome scored 54 against the Gautesy's 53 on the small price slice. Both have a sample score of 2. A verified review says the tool cuts out for about 15 minutes. The badge records the formula. It does not record a durability test, and it does not tell you to prefer five reviews over 465.
Is the XAG25Z a good UK buy?
It is a Makita X-LOCK bare tool at £124.27 with 4.5 from 395 reviews marked United States. It suits you if you will buy X-LOCK wheels. It is a poor default for UK-written reviews or the threaded discs already in a drawer. The 120 volt and 454 g lines conflict with the 18 V title.
Where does the Synxiter sit if it has five stars from four reviews?
At 62, below both Makita rows. The stars are 5.0, and the sample part is 2 because four reviews do not clear the next step. UK reviewers say packs click in, and the listing asks for at least a 4.0 Ah pack. Four five-star reviews are not a larger fact than 465 reviews at 4.8.
Should I buy a DGA504Z or a DGA513Z instead?
They are the UK catalogue 125 mm brushless bodies, with M14 spindles, and they are not in this scored table. Reseller pages showed £119.99 and £181.95 including VAT. Those are not amazon.co.uk prices from this capture. Buy one when you want that spindle from a reseller, and do not pretend this comparison tested it.
Does best mean a lab test?
No. The score uses amazon.co.uk stars, review counts, whether the brand is Makita, and a price band. Nobody here ran the tools, timed a cut, or measured vibration. A higher score means a stronger combination of those listing facts, with the limits written next to each pick.

Related pages

Sources

Public sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the seven amazon.co.uk listings captured on 21 October 2026. PUWER and HSG17 apply at work. They are not a certificate for a domestic grinder. There is no laboratory cut.

  1. Makita UK, DGA504Z (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. Makita UK, DGA513Z (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. Makita USA, XAG25Z (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. Makita Canada, DGA454Z (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. HSE, HSG17 abrasive wheels (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. HSE, training and competence (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. FEPA, bonded abrasives safety leaflet (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. GOV.UK, Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008 (retrieved 21 October 2026)