Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

How to choose a 125mm variable speed angle grinder

Updated: 22 October 2026

You have probably landed on a mix of 115 mm grinders, fixed-speed 125 mm tools and a few dial models. A 125mm variable speed angle grinder is the class to keep when you want a 125 mm disc and a printed rpm range, not only a maximum. The checks run in order: disc class, the numbers on the dial, the spindle, then the plug or the battery, then what is in the box. Prices and the seven amazon.co.uk rows, captured on 20 October 2026, sit on the [125 mm variable speed angle grinder comparison](/hub/tools/125mm-variable-speed-angle-grinder). This is not a lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission.

You have probably landed on a mix of 115 mm grinders, fixed-speed 125 mm tools and a few dial models.

Our top picks

On this page

When a variable-speed 125 mm grinder is the right class

A fixed-speed 125 mm grinder is enough when you only cut mild steel and the disc is marked for the tool's full rpm. Variable speed earns its place when the same body also has to flap-sand, run a wire wheel or hold a polish mop. A title that only says max 12,000 rpm and six speeds, without the step numbers, is a weaker claim. The disc's own maximum still has to sit at or above the grinder's maximum, and FEPA says you do not take the guard off. The bands are on what speed to use.

Disc size, spindle and bore

125 mm and 5 inch are the same disc class. 115 mm is not close enough for a wheel you already own, and 230 mm is a different machine. If a title prints both sizes, treat that as a conflict. The TOPWAY listing does exactly that, while a bullet also says 125 mm capacity. Drop mixed titles before you compare wattage. M14 is the usual spindle thread. The usual bore is 22.23 mm. One cordless bullet states both M14 and a 22.2 mm arbor. Another corded listing mentions a spindle lock and does not state M14, so do not assume the nut in your drawer will fit.

Power, voltage and what the box must say

Screwfix frames a corded 125 mm grinder at about 700–1,200 W. The corded tools in this capture sit at 1,000–1,200 W. A cordless line that prints 200 W or 640 W is not the same kind of number. Mains tools should be 230 V with a BS 1363 plug. Two corded listings here state 230 V. Two others leave voltage unstated. A disc in the box is only real when one parts list agrees with itself. On the POSENPRO files, a short bullet can omit a wheel while another field names one. The Makita 9565CVR and Bosch GWS 14-125 S sit outside this amazon set, and these listings do not establish soft start or restart protection.

Safety marks you can check without a lab

The disc should show a maximum rpm or a peripheral speed in metres per second. BS EN IEC 62841-2-3 keeps a rated no-load peripheral speed at not over 80 m/s. On a 125 mm disc that is about 12,200 rpm. A grinder at 12,000 rpm can take a disc marked 12,200 rpm. It cannot take a disc marked lower. The guard stays on. None of the seven listings prints a vibration figure. On a UK construction site, HSE prefers cordless tools or 110 V centre-tapped-to-earth, not a domestic 230 V lead.

Which blank field should stop the buy

If the live title still mixes 115 mm and 125 mm, stop before wattage. If the listing never says M14, it has not confirmed the nut. If voltage is blank, check the live page or choose a row that prints 230 V. Buy the dial when flap discs, wire wheels or a polish mop are already on the list.

Common questions

Do I need variable speed if I only cut mild steel?
If every disc you fit is a cutting wheel marked for at least the grinder's maximum rpm, a single speed can do that one job. You lose the lower band as soon as you move to a flap disc, a wire wheel or a polish mop. Buy the dial when those jobs are already on the list, not as a spare feature you might never use.
What is M14, and what is the hole in the disc?
M14 is the usual spindle thread. The usual hole in a 125 mm disc is 22.23 mm. You need both: the nut has to match the thread, and the disc has to sit on the flanges. A listing that never says M14 has not confirmed the thread, even if it mentions a spindle lock.
How do I know the disc is fast enough for the grinder?
Read the maximum on the disc and the maximum on the grinder. The machine must not be faster than the wheel. FEPA states that rule, and a 125 mm wheel at 80 m/s is about 12,200 rpm. If the disc shows no rpm and no metres-per-second mark, do not fit it.
Should a 230 V amazon grinder go on a UK building site?
HSE's construction guidance prefers cordless tools or a 110 V centre-tapped-to-earth supply on site. A domestic 230 V lead from this capture is a poor default for that work, even when the listing looks complete. A home socket is a different setting from a site supply.
What is missing if voltage or the step speeds are not stated?
You cannot confirm a BS 1363, 230 V plug from a blank voltage line, and you cannot plan a flap-disc band from six speeds with no rpm steps. Leave those fields as unknown and either confirm them on the live page or choose a listing that prints the numbers.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the seven amazon.co.uk listings captured on 20 October 2026. HSE vibration limits, PUWER and COSHH apply at work. They are not a certificate for a domestic grinder. No listing here prints a vibration figure.

  1. HSE INDG175, Hand-arm vibration (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. Control of Vibration at Work Regulations 2005, regulation 4 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. HSE, Electrical systems on construction sites (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. HSE CN1, Scabbling or grinding (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. BSI, BS EN IEC 62841-2-3 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. FEPA, Safety leaflet for bonded abrasives (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. oSa, EN 12413 marking note (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. Norton, Guide to cordless angle grinders (retrieved 20 October 2026)