Electric vs cordless nail gun: which suits your job?
You can fit trim in one room beside a socket or move between a staircase, loft and garden structure, and that difference often decides the tool before brand or star rating. In an electric vs cordless nail gun comparison, electric is confusing because both mains and battery tools use electricity. Here, electric means a corded 230 V gun with a plug; cordless means a gun powered by a removable or built-in battery. Choose corded when the work stays within safe reach of one UK socket and its fastener range fits. Choose cordless when the socket is absent or the lead would obstruct the job. The [main electric nailer comparison](/hub/staplers-and-nail-guns/electric-nailer) covers the seven mains listings.
You can fit trim in one room beside a socket or move between a staircase, loft and garden structure, and that difference often decides the tool before brand or star rating.
You can fit trim in one room beside a socket or move between a staircase, loft and garden structure, and that difference often decides the tool before brand or star rating. In an electric vs cordless nail gun comparison, electric is confusing because both mains and battery tools use electricity. Here, electric means a corded 230 V gun with a plug; cordless means a gun powered by a removable or built-in battery. Choose corded when the work stays within safe reach of one UK socket and its fastener range fits. Choose cordless when the socket is absent or the lead would obstruct the job. The main electric nailer comparison covers the seven mains listings.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Lead | UK plug | Fastener | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | NEU MASTER NEU MASTER NTC0040 | Not stated. Listing says do not use an extension lead. | UK BS 3-pin | 18-gauge brads 15–32 mm and staples 15–25 mm | 9.2 | about £75.99 | View offer |
| Preis-Tipp | STANLEY Stanley TRE550 | Not stated. Reviews say about eight feet. | Not stated | Type G staples 6–14 mm and Type J pins to 15 mm | 8.8 | about £19.99 | View offer |
| Alternative | Tacwise Tacwise 181ELS | 2.4 m | Interchangeable UK and EU plug, 2.4 m lead | Straight Type 180 18-gauge brads, 15–35 mm | 8.4 | about £79.95 | View offer |
On this page
The same label covers two power systems
When the lead is the better compromise
When cordless is worth the battery
Extending a corded nailer safely
A conditional recommendation
Common questions
Will a corded nail gun run all afternoon?
Is a cordless nail gun more powerful?
Can I use a corded nailer outdoors?
What if the supplied lead is only two metres?
Should I buy corded if I already own batteries?
Where are the battery models compared?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources for nail-gun safety, plugs, and consumer rights. Listing prices and specs are the amazon.co.uk pages for these seven ASINs. Checked 17 October 2026. Prices move.
- HSE, Nail guns (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- HSE, PUWER overview (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Electrical Safety First, Nail guns (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Electrical Safety First, Plugs and fuses (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008 (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- GOV.UK, Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Consumer Rights Act 2015 (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Screwfix, Nail gun buying guide (retrieved 17 October 2026)


