Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best telephone socket: the listing that matches the hole

Updated: October 2026

You already know the job: a white screw master, a bedroom extension, a black nickel match, or a new front on the Openreach box. The best telephone socket here is the listing whose role matches that hole, not the highest star figure. A 5.0 from three reviews is a thinner check than 4.6 from 325. The eight listings, priced on 16 October 2026, are on the [telephone socket comparison](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/telephone-socket). The decision order is the [telephone socket buying guide](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/telephone-socket/sub/telephone-socket-buying-guide). If the handset already plugs into the router, buy none of these plates.

You already know the job: a white screw master, a bedroom extension, a black nickel match, or a new front on the Openreach box.

Our top picks

On this page

Best is a job, not a star rating

The longest review line is the 1STec NTE5c MK2 faceplate, B07WR6YBZ7. That is why it is the top pick for a customer-side NTE front, and a poor spare-room socket, because the title says faceplate only. The BG white secondary, B004TRRVA2, is the best value for an extra point when a master and a box are already there. It is the wrong open if it would be the only socket on the lead-in. The DRUT secondary, B0CJQFSMZ9, shows 5.0 from three reviews and no texts. The white BG master, B004TRRV48, is 4.1 from six reviews, also with no texts. You cannot treat those stars as a described fit.

Replacing the plate where the line enters

Open B004TRRV48 when the line enters on a white 86 mm plate and you want screw terminals. It claims BS 6312-2, a 25 mm minimum box, and a 30-year warranty. There is no back box and no review text. Leave it if you wanted IDC or an NTE faceplate. Open B00KCYLMWO for black nickel at £5.99, with 4.5 from 100 reviews. One text says the instructions were useless and the BG helpline did not call back. Terminals and a box are not stated. Open B07KGHMVKB for antique brass at £11.72. The line is 4.8 from 10 reviews, with no texts. A separate block prints 13 A, 240 V and Wi-Fi, which is not this socket. Fitting is on how to fit a telephone socket.

An extra point

Open B004TRRVA2 for a white extra point fed from a master you are keeping. Across 19 texts, reviewers say it works once fitted. The repeated complaint is that it is not IDC. The connector attribute says RJ45, which conflicts with the BT title. Leave B0CJQFSMZ9 at £11.20 unless you already know the terminals. Terminal type, size, and a BS number are absent. The page asks about outdoor use and does not answer. Open B08L6G7XZJ when you need a surface point, a back box, and an IDC tool, and a master is already fitted. Several texts say it is smaller than a traditional socket. Leave it if you are covering an 85 mm NTE.

The Openreach faceplate

Open B07WR6YBZ7 to replace the customer-side front of an existing NTE5A or NTE5c box. A bullet says it accepts a separate MK4. The pack is not that filter. Most of 35 texts say it fits. Complaints are short screws, a plate that would not click, and one unit that did not work. Open B0CPD1DG9B only if you want an NTE5a form and you will check the photos for a back box. It is £14.20. Three texts say it replaced a yellowed socket. The back box and the VDSL line are bullets, with no MK4 part number. Leave it if the wall box is already an NTE5c.

When none of these is the right open

Buy none of them if the phone already plugs into the hub. That stop is telephone socket on full fibre. A new secondary will not restore a Digital Voice extension. One review of the £3.89 plate describes a BT-to-RJ11 lead after full fibre. That is one setup, not a fibre product. One master on the line is the rule. Stop if you cannot find a split master, or if the work has become a new mains circuit or a bathroom. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you. There was no lab test.

Common questions

Which listing is the white screw master?
Open B004TRRV48, the BG 8BTM/1, at £5.99. It states a master, screw terminals, BS 6312-2, and a 25 mm minimum box, with no back box. The line is 4.1 from six reviews and the file has no texts. It is the entry plate, not a bedroom extension and not an NTE5c faceplate.
Which one replaces an NTE5c plate?
Open B07WR6YBZ7 at £9.95. It is faceplate-only, with tool-less IDC and 4.6 from 325 reviews, and it claims to retrofit an NTE5A box. It does not include an MK4 or a built-in RJ11 splitter. Reviewers report short screws and, in one case, a plate that would not click. The £14.20 DRUT listing is an NTE5a claim, not the same faceplate.
Is the highest star rating the one to buy?
No. B0CJQFSMZ9 shows 5.0 from three reviews and does not state terminals or size. B07KGHMVKB shows 4.8 from 10 reviews with no texts, beside a 13 A block that is not the socket. Use the stars with the role and the terminal type. The top pick here is the NTE5c faceplate for that job, because 325 reviews support it.
Is the £3.89 socket a master?
No. B004TRRVA2 is the BG 8BTS/1 secondary. The listing says you use it with a master. The white master is B004TRRV48 at £5.99. The faces look similar because both are 86 mm white moulded plates. Putting the cheaper one where the line enters leaves out the master components the line expects.
Does the £14.20 NTE5a include a proven back box?
Not from this file. A bullet on B0CPD1DG9B says the back box is included. There is no components list. The VDSL wording is the same kind of bullet, without an MK4 number. Three reviews describe an easy swap, and one calls the price high. Check the photographs on the day you order.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources on the master socket, BS 6312, and the digital landline switch. Listings checked 16 October 2026. Prices on amazon.co.uk move.

  1. Openreach copper handbook (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. Openreach new-sites wiring, August 2024 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. Openreach PSTN switch-off (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK telecommunications modernisation timeline (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. Ofcom, future of landline calls (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. Ofcom, broadband and landline faults (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. BSI BS 6312-1:1994 plugs (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. BT Digital Voice setup (retrieved 16 October 2026)