Allotment, stored autumn crop
You want larger tubers you can keep, for chips and roast potatoes. Maris Piper is 11 tubers at about £10.99, with 4.2 from 1,280 reviews, sold as a floury maincrop. The seller also states containers, grow bags and beds.
The best seed potato packs, compared.
Top pick: Carbeth Charlotte 2 kg Best value: Carbeth Maris Piper 11 tubers – 11 named Maris Piper tubers at about £10.99, with 4.2 from 1,280 reviews, the largest count in the set. Updated October 2026.
Seed potatoes are tubers you plant, not supermarket ware potatoes. UK gardeners buy them in late winter and spring. The split that matters is crop class and texture: earlies for new and salad potatoes, maincrops for larger tubers you can store. A sound pack has eyes, the count or weight on the title, and a blue certification label if it is sold as seed. A bullet that says certified is not that label, and these listings did not show one. The Potato Council cites disease risk if they may have been imported. How to chit, plant and earth up is in [how to plant seed potatoes](/hub/root-vegetables/seed-potatoes/sub/seed-potatoes-how-to-plant). A seed potato is a tuber for planting, not a supermarket ware potato. On the amazon.co.uk listings of 15, the 11 packs are all. That is this set, not a garden-centre survey.
Seed potatoes are tubers you plant, not supermarket ware potatoes. UK gardeners buy them in late winter and spring.
Swipe for more
1-2 of 11Personal buying guide
Question 1 of 2
What do you want to cook?
This 2 kg bag of Charlotte costs about £11.99 and is sold as a waxy second early for salads, boiling and steaming. The amazon.co.uk line is 5.0 out of 5 from 1 review, and that text says the tubers were good quality, sprouted and came up quickly. A single five-star review does not describe a harvest, a yield or how the flesh cooked. There is no critical review in the listing, which is a gap in the evidence. The title does not say certified organic, and only an Amazon material attribute says Organic. The seller mentions good resistance, with no disease score attached. You are buying the variety name, on almost no crop commentary.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A named salad second early, when you accept that this listing has almost no reviews yet
Less suitable: A buyer who wants stars backed by dozens of crops, or chips from a floury maincrop
Specifications
Common questions
What crop class does the seller state?
Second early, waxy salad potatoes.
Is the 5.0 rating from many reviews?
No. The listing line is 5.0 from 1 review.
Is it certified organic?
The title does not say so. Only an Amazon material attribute says Organic.
This 2 kg bag of Golden Wonder costs about £11.99 and is sold as a dry, floury late maincrop for roasting, baking, chips and crisps. The seller says it stores well. The amazon.co.uk line is 4.6 out of 5 from 3 reviews. Of the two texts in the listing, both praise quality on arrival, one crop was still in the ground and looking good, and neither states a defect. Three reviews cannot show how the flesh roasts or how the crop keeps. An Amazon Organic attribute is not a certificate in the title. A late maincrop stays in the ground into autumn, which is the longer blight window, and the seller lists allotments, raised beds and vegetable gardens rather than a pot size. Treat the 4.6 as an arrival note.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A floury autumn potato for chips and roast, if you can leave it in until late in the season and you read three reviews as arrival notes
Less suitable: A June new potato, a small patio bag, or a buyer who wants hundreds of reviews behind the stars
Specifications
Common questions
What is Golden Wonder for, on this listing?
The seller says a dry, floury late maincrop for roasting, baking, chips and crisps, and that it stores well.
How many reviews?
4.6 from 3 reviews. Both texts praise arrival quality. One crop was still in the ground.
Is the organic attribute a certificate?
No. The title does not say certified organic.
At about £14.99 for 3 kg, this bag names Maris Peer, Nicola and Pentland Javelin, sold as early and second early potatoes for boiling, roasting or salads. Across 80 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.5 out of 5, it carries the highest comparison score in this set. Reviewers often praise prompt delivery and sound-looking tubers, and short comments say there were no issues. One reviewer counted 68 tubers and called that good value, which is one person’s count rather than a pack specification. The limits are in the texts: one review said not many tubers had eyes, another found no planting instructions in the parcel, and one said the tubers looked too fresh to chit. The listing does not state a tuber count. There is no organic claim in the title.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A small plot that wants salad and boiling earlies in one bag, without three separate orders
Less suitable: A single floury chip potato, or a buyer who needs a fixed tuber count on the listing
Specifications
Common questions
Which varieties are in the bag?
The title names Maris Peer, Nicola and Pentland Javelin.
Can they be grown in pots?
The seller says bags, tubs, raised beds and borders.
How heavy is the pack?
3 kg, about £14.99 on the listing. Tuber count is not stated.
This 2 kg bag of International Kidney costs about £11.99 and is sold as a waxy first early for boiling, steaming and salads. Across 27 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.4 out of 5, the sampled texts mostly praise prompt delivery, packing and tubers that looked good, and one reviewer said they were larger than expected. Most of the 11 texts in the listing were written before a harvest, so the 4.4 is an arrival score rather than a crop report. One reviewer called the bag overpriced and gave no crop detail. The seller says this is the variety grown as Jersey Royals only when it is cultivated in Jersey, and the bag is not sold as a Jersey Royal. An Amazon Organic attribute is not a certificate in the title, and the disease-resistance line has no score.
Pros
Cons
Best for: Salad and new-potato planting in beds or bags, when you want this named variety and can judge the crop yourself
Less suitable: A buyer expecting Jersey Royals from a mainland bag, or a floury baker for autumn chips
Specifications
Common questions
Is this a Jersey Royal?
The seller says International Kidney is the variety grown as Jersey Royals when it is cultivated in Jersey. The bag is not sold as a Jersey Royal.
Can it be grown in pots?
The seller says beds, containers, raised planters and grow bags.
What do you pay?
About £11.99 for 2 kg on the listing. 4.4 from 27 reviews.
Across 1,280 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.2 out of 5, this pack at about £10.99 is 11 Maris Piper tubers sold as a floury maincrop for chips, roast potatoes, baking and mash. Reviewers often say the tubers arrived quickly and looked a decent size, and several report shoots or growth once they were in the ground. Repeat buyers mention a previous crop. The complaints are specific: one order arrived as 10 tubers, not 11, with small and slit seed, and another tuber was diseased and smelly, with that reviewer saying Carbeth refunded them. About half a pack failed to sprout while chitting in one review, and a minority report no emergence, including a trough in hot weather. One harvest was described as red-skinned and not Maris Piper. The bullets say certified and disease-free, though the listing has no official label, and an Amazon Organic attribute is not a certificate in the title. At this price, with the largest review count in the set, it is the best value here.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A chip and roast crop from a named maincrop, when you want the review volume of this pack at about £10.99
Less suitable: A certified-organic label, or a first early you want to lift as June new potatoes
Specifications
Common questions
Can it be grown in pots?
The listing says yes: containers, grow bags and garden beds. No pot size is given.
Is this pack certified organic?
The title does not say certified organic. An Amazon material attribute says Organic. The bullets say certified seed tubers, and the listing shows no official label.
What is the pack?
11 Maris Piper tubers at about £10.99 on the listing.
This pack at about £10.99 is 11 Pentland Javelin tubers, sold as a first early with short oval tubers, white skin and white flesh. Across 243 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.1 out of 5, long-term growers report a heavy crop and good flavour, and several mention fast delivery and healthy-looking tubers. Some Christmas-timed orders arrived already chitting. The repeated limit is size: some seed was small, and one crop three months later was small and disappointing. Not every review waited for a harvest before scoring. The sampled texts do not show a repeated rot theme, which sets this pack apart from Swift at the same price. The seller’s high-yield line is a claim, and the bullets do not give a pot size. The seller says plant in February for a harvest around May or June.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A white-fleshed first early at about £10.99, when you want a review count in the hundreds rather than a single five-star line
Less suitable: A floury chip maincrop, or a pot if you need a stated container size before you buy
Specifications
Common questions
When does the seller say to harvest?
Around May or June if planted in February.
What do the tubers look like, on the listing?
Short, oval, white skin, white flesh.
What is the star line?
4.1 from 243 reviews.
This pack at about £10.99 is 9 mixed tubers for gardens, allotments, raised beds, containers and bags. The seller’s examples are Maris Peer, Charlotte, Pentland Javelin and Maris Piper, or similar, so the bag is not a fixed set of those four. Across 306 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.0 out of 5, one recent review reported a good crop so far in bags, and some Christmas or polytunnel plantings grew on. Buyers who read the title as nine varieties report receiving three varieties, three of each. One August order arrived in October, and one planting produced no potatoes. Some tubers were small or soft, and one Swift tuber in a mix rotted, with those three weaker. You pay the same about £10.99 as an 11-tuber named pack, for two fewer tubers, and the names are not guaranteed.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A trial of a few earlies alongside a maincrop, when the exact names in the bag can change
Less suitable: A cook who needs Maris Piper specifically, or a count of 11 firm tubers of one variety
Specifications
Common questions
Is this nine different varieties?
The title is 9 tubers. The bullet says varieties such as four names, or similar. One reviewer reported three varieties, three tubers each.
Can they be grown in pots?
The seller says containers and potato growing bags as well as beds.
What is the price?
About £10.99 on the listing. 4.0 from 306 reviews.
This pack at about £10.99 is 11 Arran Pilot tubers, sold as a firm, waxy first early with white skin and white flesh. Across 144 amazon.co.uk reviews at 4.0 out of 5, several reviewers say the seed arrived in good condition and grew on, and one called it their best and biggest crop. A long-term customer stayed with the seller after a short count was replaced. The size spread is the repeated complaint, including tiny seed, and one 2021 review described five very small tubers, one green and one soft with brown mush. One order of two packs of 11 arrived as 14, then a replacement of 11 after a photo. One review said the tubers did not grow at all. The seller’s January or February planting for a May harvest is earlier than the usual RHS June to July lift for first earlies. No pot size is given, and bestseller rank is absent from the listing.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A waxy new potato from a named first early, if you count the tubers and reject soft seed when the parcel arrives
Less suitable: A stored autumn baker, or a bag you intend to plant without checking tuber size
Specifications
Common questions
When does the seller say to plant?
January or February, for a May harvest. That is the seller’s line, earlier than the usual RHS June to July lift for first earlies.
What texture does the seller state?
Firm and waxy, white skin and white flesh.
Were counts short?
One reviewer ordered two packs of 11 and received 14, then a replacement of 11 after a photo.
This pack at about £10.99 is 9 unnamed tubers sold for an autumn planting and a Christmas crop. The seller says the varieties may differ from the listing depending on the time of year. Across 203 amazon.co.uk reviews at 3.8 out of 5, some tubers arrived fresh rather than soft like shop potatoes, and some buyers planted a second crop they called good quality. The failures are plain in the texts: fewer than half started and the rest rotted in the ground; packs arrived with no chits, and the seller told one buyer that did not matter; others had no eyes, were withered and split, or the plants died with nothing underneath. Because the mix is unnamed, a failed third of the bag cannot be tied to a variety. Two of three types grew for one reviewer, and one of three did nothing under the same conditions.
Pros
Cons
Best for: An autumn second crop, if you inspect every tuber for eyes and firmness and you do not need a named variety
Less suitable: A spring maincrop you will store, or anyone who wants to know which potato they planted
Specifications
Common questions
Are the varieties named?
No. The seller says the mix may differ from the listing depending on the time of year.
When does the seller say to plant?
Autumn, for a Christmas crop.
Did reviewers get a Christmas crop?
Mixed. Some planted a second crop successfully. Others report rot, no eyes, or plants that died with nothing underneath.
This pack at about £10.99 is 11 Swift tubers, sold as a first early that the seller says can be ready in as little as eight weeks, with golden skin and creamy flesh for chips, roast potatoes, mash and wedges. Across 96 amazon.co.uk reviews at 3.6 out of 5, the lowest score here with a double-digit count, some buyers planted tubers that arrived in good condition and one reported shoots. The recurring complaints are about stock: most went soft while chitting, and the reviewer called them old stock; another pack had no eyes; another was extremely small, with the reviewer saying about three tubers were needed per hole. One earlier crop was a low yield, and one planting had no leaves after two weeks. The eight-week figure is seller copy. The listing asks about pots, and the bullets do not answer.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A grower who specifically wants Swift and will check every tuber for eyes and firmness on arrival
Less suitable: A first pack chosen on stars, or a sowing you cannot replace if the seed fails to chit
Specifications
Common questions
How many tubers?
11, at about £10.99 on the listing.
What does the seller say about speed?
As little as eight weeks. That figure is seller copy, not an RHS measurement.
How is the star line?
3.6 from 96 reviews, the lowest score in this set with a double-digit count.
This 1.5 kg bag of Colleen is about £9.99, the lowest shelf price in the set, and the title and first bullet say certified organic. The listing does not name the certification body. There is no customer-review line at all, so there is no star rating to read and the comparison score sits at 0. The seller calls it an early maincrop with yellow skin and firm creamy flesh for boiling, mashing, baking or roasting, and lists allotments, gardens, raised beds and grow bags. Without reviews you cannot see whether tubers arrived firm, eyed or short of the bag. The bestseller rank on the listing is 224,717 in Garden, the weakest rank here. At about £6.66 per kg, calculated from £9.99 for 1.5 kg, it is dearer by weight than the 3 kg mix at about £5 per kg.
Pros
Cons
Best for: A buyer who wants the only title here that says certified organic, and who will check the certifier’s mark in the parcel
Less suitable: Anyone choosing on reviews, or a long row where 1.5 kg will not go far
Specifications
Common questions
Does the listing say certified organic?
Yes, in the title and the first bullet. The listing does not name the certification body.
Are there reviews?
No customer-review line in the listing.
What is the price?
About £9.99 for 1.5 kg, the lowest price in this set.
Eleven Carbeth seed potato packs on amazon.co.uk were compared from the listing facts in this set on 15 October 2026. Crop class and kitchen job, a named variety against a mix, tuber condition and count, whether a certification label is actually shown, and the review count were weighted and then set to 100. There was no growing trial and no taste test. A bullet that says certified is not treated as the blue official label.
Crop class and kitchen job
30%First or second earlies for June to August salads and new potatoes. A maincrop for chips, roast potatoes or a stored baker. RHS planting windows sit behind that split.
Named variety or a mix
20%A named bag can be matched to floury or waxy use. Packs that say or similar, or that varieties may change, cannot.
Tuber condition and count
20%Soft, smelly or eyeless tubers appear in reviews across several packs. The count is checked against 11 tubers or the stated weight.
A label you can see
15%Marketed seed in England and Wales has to be certified. A blue official label is that grade. Seller copy that says certified is not the label.
Review count
15%A 5.0 from one review, or a 4.6 from three, is not read as a better crop than a 4.2 from 1,280. Thin samples stay thin.
Start with the crop class and the kitchen job, then with whether the bag names the variety. Tuber condition, the certification label and the review count come after those two checks. The notes below follow that order for these 11 listings.
A seed potato is a tuber for planting, not a supermarket ware potato. UK gardeners buy them in late winter and spring. On the amazon.co.uk listings of 15 October 2026, the 11 packs on this page are all Carbeth Plants. Shelf prices run from about £9.99 to about £14.99. That is this set, not a garden-centre survey. The entry price is about £9.99 for Organic Colleen, 1.5 kg, with no star line on the listing. The mid price is about £10.99.

On several packs Organic is only an Amazon attribute. The title does not say certified organic. Colleen does say certified organic, and still does not name the certifier. A bullet that says certified seed is not the blue official label.
Charlotte is 5.0 from 1 review. Golden Wonder is 4.6 from 3. Neither text is a finished harvest you can set above Maris Piper at 4.2 from 1,280. Swift at 3.6 from 96 is a large enough sample to show a soft-stock pattern.
Chitting belongs in the cool and light, not the warm dark. A bag needs drainage. The Christmas mix does not name its varieties, and they may change with the time of year. A failed tuber in that bag cannot be tied to a name.
The first check is what you want to lift, and when. First earlies in this set are Pentland Javelin, Swift and Arran Pilot, all 11 tubers at about £10.99. Pentland Javelin has 4.1 from 243 reviews. Arran Pilot has 4.0 from 144. Swift has 3.6 from 96, with reviews of soft stock, missing eyes and very small seed. The seller’s eight-week line for Swift is seller copy, not an RHS measurement.
The second check is whether the title names the potato, and whether anyone has reported a crop. The 3 kg bag names Maris Peer, Nicola and Pentland Javelin. The 9-tuber mix gives those sorts of names and then says or similar. Reviewers of that mix reported three varieties, three tubers each, not nine. The Christmas pack is nine unnamed tubers, and the seller says the mix may differ by the time of year. You pay about £10.99 for nine tubers, the same shelf price as an 11-tuber named pack.
Three typical situations, each with a recommendation from this comparison.
You want larger tubers you can keep, for chips and roast potatoes. Maris Piper is 11 tubers at about £10.99, with 4.2 from 1,280 reviews, sold as a floury maincrop. The seller also states containers, grow bags and beds.
You have a drained container at least 30 cm wide and deep, and you want one named early rather than a mix. International Kidney is 2 kg at about £11.99, sold as a waxy potato for boiling and salads. The seller states beds, containers and grow bags. It is not a Jersey Royal.
Start with one named variety and a written chitting sequence, not an unnamed Christmas mix. The 3 kg bag names Maris Peer, Nicola and Pentland Javelin at about £14.99, with 4.5 from 80 reviews. The listing does not state a tuber count.
In this set of 11 amazon.co.uk listings, the top pick is the Carbeth 3 kg bag of Maris Peer, Nicola and Pentland Javelin at about £14.99. It has 4.5 from 80 reviews, the highest comparison score here, and the seller describes firm early potatoes for boiling, roasting or salads. The listing does not state a tuber count, and it is the highest price in the set. The best value is Maris Piper, 11 tubers at about £10.99, with 4.2 from 1,280 reviews, the largest count here, sold as a floury maincrop for chips and roast potatoes. Do not read Charlotte’s 5.0 from one review, or Golden Wonder’s 4.6 from three, as a better crop. Do not treat an Amazon Organic attribute as a certificate.

Carbeth Maris Piper 11 tubers
11 named Maris Piper tubers at about £10.99, with 4.2 from 1,280 reviews, the largest count in the set.
Editorial

Products Compared publishes British-English buying guides based on amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. We do not run a lab and we do not invent test scores.
Guides on what to look for, how to use a product, and common mistakes.
Public UK sources, checked with the amazon.co.uk listings of 15 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the figures in the display file. This page did not visit a garden centre.
This page contains affiliate links to amazon.co.uk. If you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Prices, stars and review counts are from the UK listings checked on 15 October 2026. We did not grow or taste these tubers.