Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best chainsaw gloves

Updated: 21 October 2026

The busiest review counts in this amazon.co.uk set are not sitting on the same kind of glove. Best chainsaw gloves, on this page, means a stated class, the hand you actually use, and a reason to skip the pair if those two do not match. It does not mean the longest star line. One pair prints a class and a standard. Another, with 2,705 reviews, does not print a class at all. Scores and shelf prices are on the [chainsaw gloves comparison](/hub/protective-clothing/chainsaw-gloves). Peter F. set these conditions on 19 October 2026 from the ten kept listings. There was no lab test. A qualifying purchase on amazon.co.uk can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

The busiest review counts in this amazon.co.uk set are not sitting on the same kind of glove.

Our top picks

On this page

What best means here

A top pick in this set has to name EN 381-7 or EN ISO 11393-4, and a class you can put next to the saw manual, without contradicting the hand. Stars come after that. A 2,705-review Oregon listing here still prints no class, and a star line cannot fill that in. Oregon 91305L is the top pick when your manual stays within 16 m/s and you are right-handed. The speeds are on chainsaw gloves class 0 or class 1.

If you are right-handed and want class 1

Intra-FIT 7829, size XL, states design A type 2, class 1 at 20 m/s to EN ISO 11393-4, with the pad on the back of the left hand, and EN 388:2016 4122X. Skip it if XL is already bigger than your hand, or if the fit got worse after wetting and drying. Skip it if you are left-handed. Type 2 is the left glove only. Skip the sentence that calls 4122X the highest level among chainsaw gloves. That ranking is seller copy. Care is hand wash.

If you need both hands

Intra-FIT 7839, size L, states design A type 1, class 1 at 20 m/s to EN ISO 11393-4:2019, with pads on both hands. Skip it if you never swap hands. The coverage choice is on chainsaw gloves left hand or both hands. Rotatech also prints class 1 at 20 m/s, then says type 2 and both hands together. A UK review says the instructions show the left hand only. Do not treat it as the both-hands alternative while the leaflet and the title disagree.

If the saw manual allows class 0

Oregon 91305L is size L, also labelled size 10, with extra material on the left hand to EN ISO 11393-4 class 0 at 16 m/s. This is the class 0 pick if you are right-handed and the manual is within 16 m/s. It is not the class 1 pick. Care is wipe clean and do not wash in water. Stein, size 9, is the other stated class 0, to EN 381-7. Skip it if you are choosing on class speed, because the class 1 left-hand glove is cheaper here. Skip it if early stitching matters: UK reviews include a seam that failed after one day's work.

Pairs that cannot be ranked on class

Oregon 295399 in M, L, and XL states both hands and does not name a class, EN 381-7, or EN ISO 11393. The class is not stated, so these three cannot win a class ranking. DLY is a 12-layer left pad, 3.8 from 42 reviews, and no chainsaw standard. YARDMARIS claims class 1 and has 4.8 from 5 reviews, while the standard bullet stops at "EN I". Five stars do not repair a cut-off line. Near £20, a named class 1 is not in this set.

Common questions

Why is the cheapest Oregon left-hand glove not automatically the top pick?
Oregon 91305L at about £15.75 leads this set when you are right-handed and the saw manual is within 16 m/s, because the class and the standard are printed and the review file is large. It is class 0, not class 1. Stihl UK recommends class 1 for home use. If your manual is above 16 m/s, or it does not state a speed, the cheap pair is the wrong automatic choice. It is also left-hand only.
Why does a 4.7 rating not prove a class?
Oregon 295399 is 4.7 from 2,705 reviews and the bullets still do not state a class. Buyers are describing leather, fit, and both-hands use. They are not publishing a chain speed. The same review text is shared across M, L, and XL, so the number is not three independent tests. A class you cannot read is not a class you can assume is 0 or 1.
Who should skip Rotatech until they read the glove label?
Anyone who needs to know which hand is protected before they pay about £30.99. The listing says class 1 at 20 m/s and then says type 2 and both hands. A UK review reports instructions that show the left hand only. Until the mark on the glove matches the hand you use, leave it. A seam that opened after about 3 hours is a separate reason to be wary.
Who should skip DLY if they need a named standard?
Skip DLY if the glove has to name EN 381-7 or EN ISO 11393-4. The listing at about £19.99 does not. It offers a 12-layer claim on the left hand, size XL, at 3.8 from 42 reviews, and reviewers say the pad is small. A layer count does not become a class because the title says chainsaw.
What is a fair skip if the budget stops near £20?
If you can use class 0 on the left hand, Oregon 91305L at about £15.75 is the stated pair in that band. Skip it if you need 20 m/s or both hands. Oregon 295399 at about £19.98 states both hands and no class. YARDMARIS at about £20.99 has five reviews and a truncated standard line. DLY at about £19.99 has no standard. Near £20, a named class 1 is not in this set.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources for the glove standard, the class speeds, and the PPE duty. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in this set. Retrieved 19 October 2026.

  1. HSE — Chainsaw PPE (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. HSE — INDG317 Personal protective equipment at work (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. The Personal Protective Equipment at Work Regulations 1992 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. HSENI — Chainsaw safety (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Stihl GB — Cut-protection classes (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. ISO 11393-4:2018 — Protective gloves for chainsaw users (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Arbortec — Safety standards for chainsaw PPE (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Husqvarna UK — Functional gloves with saw protection (retrieved 19 October 2026)