Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Rowenta mini or tower heater

Updated: 21 October 2026

You have narrowed a Rowenta to a Mini Excel or the Intense Comfort Hot, and both pages talk about a large room, so they look interchangeable. A Rowenta mini or tower heater choice is about whether you will carry 1.7 kg or leave 4.2 kg in one room. The Products Compared editorial team used the amazon.co.uk listings dated 19 October 2026, not a lab and not a euro shop. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The other heaters in the set are on the [Rowenta fan heater comparison](/hub/portable-heaters/rowenta-fan-heater).

You have narrowed a Rowenta to a Mini Excel or the Intense Comfort Hot, and both pages talk about a large room, so they look interchangeable.

Our top picks

On this page

Two different objects

The SO9266 is 1.7 kg, at £107.19. The SO9420F0 is a tower, 4.2 kg and 81.5 cm tall, at £173.54. You will not want it upstairs every night. The checks are on the Rowenta fan heater buying guide.

Power and the noise claim

The mini states 1000 W and 2000 W, and the title says 50 dB(A). The tower states 1000 W, 1400 W and 2400 W, and 42 dB(A) on minimum, plus 240 V and a 1.85 m cord. The mini states 240 V and does not state a cord length. The 1400 W step is the practical difference on a long evening. The decibel lines are claims on two pages, not one test. A UK-labelled review of the SO9266 reports a metallic sound.
Rowenta Rowenta SO9265F0 Excel Mini

Testsieger

Rowenta Rowenta SO9265F0 Excel Mini
7.6/10about £115.69

The room-size claims do not line up

The SO9266 listing claims 35 m². The tower’s bullets claim 35–40 m². Printed that way, the mini and the tower are the same room, which would make the price gap pointless. Rowenta’s FAQ uses about 100 W per square metre as an average. At that rule of thumb, 2000 W is about 20 m² and 2400 W is about 24 m². That area line is not a UK building regulation. Do not buy either heater on the 35 m² line alone.

When the mini, when the tower

Buy the mini if you will carry it. You get two stated powers, 50 dB(A), a washable filter and automatic shutdown, at £107.19. Buy the tower if it stays in one room and you want three powers and a 1.85 m cord. The 42 dB(A) line is the minimum setting, not 2400 W. Reviews mention a remote. The bullets do not. Placement is on the how to use a Rowenta fan heater page. Neither shape is a bathroom heater.

If you are really choosing a different heater

If the SO9266 still feels dear, the SO9265 is the other compact: 4.4 from 3,330, overheat protection and 230 V, at £115.69, with no stated dimensions or decibel figure. Pay that only if the overheat line matters more than a size on the page. The Vectissimo is the side door, not a third column: a 4.3 kg convector at £123.03, 1200 W or 2400 W, with a frost setting and no stated overheat cut-out. Reviews say the low setting can run without the blower.

Common questions

Is the tower quieter?
Not as a proven result. The tower’s bullets claim 42 dB(A) on the minimum setting. The SO9266 title claims 50 dB(A). Those figures were not taken in one test, and reviews of both still call the high fan the loud step. Expect turbo to be a different noise from the minimum setting.
Will the mini heat the same room as the tower?
Not on the watts. The mini’s top stated step is 2000 W. The tower adds 1400 W and 2400 W. Rowenta’s average is about 100 W per square metre, which puts 2000 W near 20 m². The 35 m² line on the mini and the 35–40 m² line on the tower are listing claims, not a shared measurement of a UK room.
Is the extra £66 worth it?
On the 19 October 2026 snapshot, £173.54 against £107.19 buys three powers, a 1.85 m cord and an 81.5 cm body that stays in one room. It is worth it if you will use the middle step and you will not carry the heater. It is not worth it for a desk, or if you needed a remote confirmed in the box list.
Can I carry the tower upstairs every day?
You can lift 4.2 kg. An 81.5 cm tower is still the wrong shape for a daily trip upstairs. The mini, at 28.5 cm and 1.7 kg, is the carrying heater. Let the tower cool before you move it at all.
Does the tower include a remote?
Not on the UK listing. The bullets and the included-components line do not state a remote. A review mentions one. Until the live page says the remote is in the box, treat it as unconfirmed. Oscillation is in the same position: described in reviews, not stated in the bullets.
Which mini, if I reject the tower?
The SO9266 if you want dimensions, 50 dB(A), a washable filter and automatic shutdown on the listing, at £107.19, with 1000 W and 2000 W. The SO9265 if you want the 4.4 from 3,330 and a stated overheat line, and you can accept that the height is not stated, at £115.69 and 1800 W.
Where does the Vectissimo fit?
Beside this fork, not inside it. It is a convector with a fan on the high setting, 1200 W or 2400 W, at £123.03. Buy it for quiet heat without the blower on low, and a frost setting. Leave it if you wanted the mini’s size or the tower’s three fan powers.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources for the plug, clearance, bathroom zones and the unit rate. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in this set. Shelf date 19 October 2026.

  1. Electrical Safety First — Portable heaters (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. London Fire Brigade — Portable heaters, gas fires and open fires (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK — Fire safety in the winter (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Assimilated Regulation (EU) 2015/1188 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Ofgem — Energy price cap, 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. SELECT — Bath or shower rooms, BS 7671 Section 701 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Rowenta — SO9420 instructions and FAQ (retrieved 19 October 2026)