Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Rowenta fan heater buying guide

Updated: 21 October 2026

A Rowenta fan heater buying guide for a UK room starts with the job, then the watts you will run, then the plug and the cut-out the listing prints, and only then the shelf price. The Products Compared editorial team compared these five amazon.co.uk listings on 19 October 2026. This is not a lab test, and a qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you. The rows sit on the [Rowenta fan heater comparison](/hub/portable-heaters/rowenta-fan-heater). This page is the order of the checks. It does not name a winner.

A Rowenta fan heater buying guide for a UK room starts with the job, then the watts you will run, then the plug and the cut-out the listing prints, and only then the shelf price.

Our top picks

On this page

Start with the room, not the badge

The five bodies are not one heater. The SO2330F2 is 1.8 kg, at £50.93. The SO9266 is 1.7 kg, at £107.19. The Vectissimo is a 4.3 kg convector at £123.03. The SO9420F0 is an 81.5 cm tower, 4.2 kg, at £173.54. Carry it and the minis fit. Leave it and the tower states a 1.85 m cord. The shape fork is on the Rowenta mini or tower heater page.

Watts, and what an hour costs

Rowenta’s FAQ offers about 100 W per square metre as an average, so 2,000 W is about 20 m². The SO9266 states 1000 W and 2000 W. The Vectissimo states 1200 W or 2400 W. The tower states 1000, 1400 and 2400 W. The SO9265 states 1800 W. The SO2330 title states 2400 W and no lower wattage. At Ofgem’s 26.32 p/kWh for 1 October to 31 December 2026, 2.4 kW is about 63 pence an hour while the element is on.

Plug, cut-out and noise

A 2,400 W load is about 10 A at 230 V. Regulation 35 of the Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 expects a BS 1363 plug and a BS 1362 fuse. None of these five states the plug standard. Use a wall socket, not an extension lead. The SO9266 says automatic shutdown. The SO9265 says overheat protection. The Vectissimo states a frost setting, not an overheat cut-out. The SO2330 and the tower do not state a cut-out. If a bathroom is the room, read the Rowenta fan heater bathroom page.

What the eco line is allowed to mean

The SO9266 bullet says an Eco Energy function to save up to 50 percent versus full power or the maximum thermostat settings. The tower’s eco bullet says it maintains 19°C to save up to 50 percent, and the comparison base is not printed. None of that is a cut against a gas boiler. A timer is not stated on any of the five. If the heater must stop while you sleep, you use the socket.

Then sort by price

Once the job, the watts, the plug and the printed cut-out are acceptable, price is the last sort. On 19 October 2026 the snapshot was £50.93, £107.19, £115.69, £123.03 and £173.54. This guide stops before a crown.

Common questions

How many watts do I need for one room?
Rowenta’s FAQ uses about 100 W per square metre as an average, so 1,000–1,200 W is the long setting for a small room and 1,800–2,400 W is the boost. That average is not a survey of your flat. A thermostat only reduces the cost while the element is off. At 26.32 p/kWh, 2.4 kW is about 63 pence an hour while that boost stays on.
Does ceramic cost less to run than a wire element?
No. Rowenta’s FAQ says consumption depends on the power, not on the technology name. A 2,000 W ceramic step and a 2,000 W wire step draw the same electricity while they are on. Check the stated wattage, the thermostat band, and whether a lower step is printed at all.
What does up to 50 percent actually compare?
On the SO9266 it compares with full power or the maximum thermostat settings, as the bullet prints it. It does not compare the heater with gas central heating. The tower’s eco line also says up to 50 percent while holding 19°C, and the listing does not print what that 50 percent is measured against.
Will a 2400 W heater run from a normal UK socket?
A 2,400 W load is about 10 A at 230 V, which sits inside a 13 A circuit if the plug and the fuse match the Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016. These listings do not state a BS 1363 plug. Use a wall socket. Electrical Safety First advises against an extension lead for a portable heater.
Which listing states a cut-out?
The SO9266 title says automatic shutdown. The SO9265 states overheat protection. The Vectissimo states a frost setting and does not state an overheat cut-out. The SO2330 and the SO9420 do not state a cut-out. A tip-over switch is not stated on any of the five.
Is the Vectissimo the same type as the Mini Excel?
No. The Mini Excel is a compact fan heater. The Vectissimo title says convector fan heater, with 1,200 W or 2,400 W and a mechanical thermostat. Reviews say the blower runs on the high setting and the low setting can heat without it. Fan heat on both powers is the mini’s job, and turbo is still the loud step.
Should I trust 4.4 stars over a listing that states more facts?
The 4.4 belongs to the SO9265, from 3,330 reviews, and that sample does not show a cluster of early failures. The listing still omits dimensions, a decibel figure and coverage. Use the stars after the job, the watts and the printed cut-out. A higher star line does not fill a blank specification.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources for the plug, clearance, bathroom zones and the unit rate. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in this set. Shelf date 19 October 2026.

  1. Electrical Safety First — Portable heaters (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. London Fire Brigade — Portable heaters, gas fires and open fires (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK — Fire safety in the winter (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Assimilated Regulation (EU) 2015/1188 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Ofgem — Energy price cap, 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. SELECT — Bath or shower rooms, BS 7671 Section 701 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Rowenta — SO9420 instructions and FAQ (retrieved 19 October 2026)