Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Mini fan heater buying guide

Updated: 21 October 2026

A £9 box at 2,000 W can look like the sensible buy. A mini fan heater buying guide starts with the job, because the shelf price is not the hourly cost and the star rating is not a safety test. Five hundred watts is personal heat beside you. One to two kilowatts is a small closed room or a short boost. Three kilowatts is about 13 A. The eleven listings are on our [mini fan heater comparison](/hub/portable-heaters/mini-fan-heater). This page is the order of the checks, from amazon.co.uk listings read on 19 October 2026. No heater was tested. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

A £9 box at 2,000 W can look like the sensible buy. A mini fan heater buying guide starts with the job, because the shelf price is not the hourly cost and the star rating is not a safety test.

Our top picks

On this page

Start with the job, not the star rating

If you only need the chill off your hands at a high socket, 500 W is the size, and the Russell Hobbs RHPH2001 at about £25.99 is the plug-in example. A box room looks at 1–2 kW. Watts on the label are the draw while the element is on. Ceramic does not change that. At 26.32p per kWh, full power is about 13p an hour at 500 W, about 39p at 1,500 W and about 53p at 2,000 W. A thermostat cuts the average, not the peak. The fork is the plug-in heater or 2 kW fan heater page.

Plug, socket and lead

UK mains are 230 V, and the heater needs a UK 3-pin plug into a wall socket. Electrical Safety First rules out an extension lead. The Dimplex 3 kW listing states 13 A, so it belongs in a socket on its own. The Russell Hobbs has no lead. Dunelm states 20 cm below the socket, and reviewers cite more than 30 cm from the floor, which is why so many of the 6,510 reviews are returns. Socket height is on the heater for under a desk page. An OPSS alert on an Alpha plug-in heater (2403-0079) is not a finding about the Russell Hobbs. One Amazon Basics review says a European plug arrived.

Tip-over, overheat and the thermostat

Overheat protection cuts the element if the grille is blocked. A tip-over switch cuts power if the body leaves upright. A thermostat cycles the heat. It is not a reason to leave the heater on overnight. The Warmlite WL44002, at about £9.00 with 4.0 from 14,122 reviews, claims overheat protection. A tilt switch is not stated, and UK reviews say there is none. The Amazon Basics, the Dreo, the Pro Breeze and the Dimplex desk heater claim tip-over protection. The Warmlite WL44001 does not state one. On the Pro Breeze, some reviewers say the heater does not switch off. If a heater cuts out on a thick carpet, move it. Do not pack the base so the switch stays closed. Where it sits is on the how to use a fan heater safely page.

What not to treat as proof

Stars do not mean the heater can run while you sleep. The CUQOO, at 4.2 from 1,804 reviews, has reports of sparking and a tripped consumer unit. Coverage figures do not share a ruler: the Dreo states 20 m², the Pro Breeze 28 square feet, the CUQOO 300 square feet. BEAB on a listing is a seller’s claim. IP21 on the Dimplex desk heater is not a bathroom rating.

Common questions

Is 500 W enough for a bedroom?
Usually no, if you mean the air in the room rather than the air on your hands. The Russell Hobbs RHPH2001 states 500 W and claims up to 10 square metres, and reviewers say a living room is too much. A small, well-insulated box room may feel less cold beside the heater. A bedroom you want warm at the far wall needs a cabled 1–2 kW fan heater, switched off when you sleep.
What is the difference between overheat protection and a tip-over switch?
Overheat protection is meant to cut the element if the heater overheats, often from a blocked grille. A tip-over switch is meant to cut power if the heater is knocked over. A listing can claim one and stay silent on the other. The Warmlite WL44002 claims overheat protection, does not state a tilt switch, and UK reviews say there is none.
Does ceramic use less electricity than a wire element?
Not while both are drawing the watts on the label. A 1,500 W ceramic heater and a 1,500 W wire heater cost the same per hour if the element stays on. A lower setting, or a thermostat that cycles, reduces the average. The element type does not.
Can I use an extension lead?
Electrical Safety First says no. Plug the heater into a wall socket. The Dimplex 3 kW listing states 13 A, which is the full rating of a standard UK 13 A plug. A short factory lead is a reason to place the heater nearer the socket, not a reason to add a reel.
How much is 2 kW an hour at the current price cap?
About 53p an hour if the element stays on, using Ofgem’s Direct Debit average of 26.32p per kWh from 1 October to 31 December 2026. Your tariff may differ. A thermostat that cycles lowers the average for the evening. It does not lower the cost of each minute the element is heating. A 500 W draw on the same rate is about 13p an hour.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources for the plug, bathroom use, fire clearance, BS 1363 plug failures and the unit rate. Listing prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in this set.

  1. Electrical Safety First — Portable heaters (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. Electrical Safety First — Bathrooms (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue — Portable heater safety (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. Humberside Fire and Rescue — Winter electrical fire safety 2025 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. OPSS — Alpha plug-in fan heater 2403-0079 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. OPSS — Portable fan heater sold via OnBuy 2212-0176 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. Ofgem — Energy price cap unit rates and standing charges (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. BSI — BS EN 60335-2-30 room heaters (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  9. SELECT — BS 7671 section 701, bath or shower (retrieved 21 October 2026)