Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Robotic pool cleaner buying guide

Updated: 21 October 2026

A robotic pool cleaner buying guide only helps if the first sentence you trust is the one about your floor and your shape. You have a garden pool and eight cordless robots on amazon.co.uk whose titles already sound finished. Price comes after that match. The figures here are the shelf prices and star lines on these eight rows on 19 October 2026. This is not a lab test. The full table sits on the [pool robot comparison](/hub/pool-care/pool-robot). This page is the order of checks, and it does not crown a robot. If you buy through our links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

A robotic pool cleaner buying guide only helps if the first sentence you trust is the one about your floor and your shape.

Our top picks

EVERCROSS EVERCROSS BOT U8-UK3

Best overall

EVERCROSS EVERCROSS BOT U8-UK3
9.4/10about £339.99
Bestway Bestway AquaTronix

Best value

Bestway Bestway AquaTronix
8.8/10about £151.20
On this page

Start with the floor and the shape

Match the floor before the brand. The POOLPURE rows say flat pools up to 90 m² and exclude slopes and heavy wrinkles. The Bestway AquaTronix, BW58864, is narrower: flat above-ground pools up to 18 m², rounds to 4.88 m, rectangles or ovals to 5.49 m. A 90 m² line is the seller’s ceiling, and the wrinkle sentence still applies. The EVERCROSS rows claim rectangular or square pools up to 200 m² and exclude round and oval pools. The WYBOT title says in-ground pools up to 65 ft, while the item-type field says Above Ground Pool. The AIPER row, B0DP6JFJPV, states neither size nor shape. That wall split is the pool robot floor or walls page.

Runtime is only half the wait

A stated run is the printed minutes, not the wait before a second pass. This set prints 30 minutes on the Bestway, 100 on the POOLPURE rows, 120 on both EVERCROSS rows, 150 in the WYBOT title and 180 in the AIPER title. POOLPURE bullets say 2.5–3 hours to charge. Bestway bullets say 2.5–4.5 hours, and the table says 4.5 hours. The U8-2026 states 4.5 hours. The WYBOT states 3 hours. The U8-UK3 and the AIPER row do not state a charge time. One green POOLPURE review needed two runs on a 24 ft by 12 ft pool. The ceiling did not make that one cycle.
EVERCROSS EVERCROSS BOT U8-UK3

Testsieger

EVERCROSS EVERCROSS BOT U8-UK3
9.4/10about £339.99

Weight, hook and the basket

Wet weight is not stated, so plan from the dry weight and expect more once the basket holds water. POOLPURE bullets claim a park near the wall at 5% and a floating handle. UK reviews also describe a mid-pool cut-out. Bestway reviews often finish in the middle, and one says the hook came without a pole. The U8-2026 claims a hook and auto-edge docking. The U8-UK3 does not state retrieval. WYBOT reviews say the hook is not easy. Bestway states 1.5 litres. Both EVERCROSS rows state 6 litres. The AIPER title states a 3 μm filter and not a basket volume. A larger tub does not catch silt a fast robot throws back into the water.

Charger, RCD and a dead unit

The cycle is cordless. The charger is a mains appliance. Use the supplied adaptor, on a dry port, back from the water, on a 30 mA RCD. Electrical Safety First treats that trip as personal protection outdoors. The Health and Safety Executive treats a trip as a fault. BS 7671 section 702 makes the water zone 0. IPX8 on a POOLPURE bullet is about the robot, not the charger. The WYBOT title says cordless and the power-source field says ac. Leave both as printed. A wheel off in the first days, or a pack that will not charge, is a short-term right to reject under the Consumer Rights Act 2015, generally 30 days. RoSPA still wants a childproof fence and a self-locking gate.

Common questions

What do I check first, the price or the pool shape?
Check the floor and the shape sentence first. An about £139 POOLPURE still excludes slopes and heavy wrinkles, and an about £339.99 EVERCROSS still excludes round and oval pools. On 19 October 2026 the floor rows sat from about £139 to £151.20, then the wall claims ran from about £339.99 to about £999. A cheaper robot the listing has already ruled out of your pool is not a saving.
Is 90 m² or 200 m² my pool, or a ceiling?
It is a ceiling printed on that listing, not a survey of your garden. Measure the water you actually have. The Bestway ceiling is the tightest here: 18 m², with rounds to 4.88 m and rectangles or ovals to 5.49 m. The POOLPURE ceiling is 90 m² on a flat floor. The EVERCROSS ceiling is 200 m² only for rectangular or square pools. The AIPER row does not state a size.
What does a 30-minute run mean once the charge time is included?
On the Bestway it means about half an hour of driving, then a stated charge of 2.5–4.5 hours in the bullets, or 4.5 hours in the table, before you can send it again. One UK review put the wait at 2–4 hours and still used the robot up to three times a day, which is three charges. A 100-minute POOLPURE claim does not remove its own wait. Those bullets say 2.5–3 hours on charge.
How heavy is the dry lift, and is wet weight printed?
Dry weight runs from 3.57 kg on the Bestway and 3.8 kg on the POOLPURE rows to 7.7 kg on the AIPER row, 10.4 kg on the WYBOT, 10.5 kg on the U8-UK3 and 12 kg on the U8-2026. Wet weight is not stated. Plan to lift more than the dry figure once the basket holds water, and keep a pole ready if the robot stops in the middle.
Which rows exclude round or oval pools?
Both EVERCROSS rows. The U8-UK3 and the U8-2026 say rectangular or square pools, and they are not compatible with round or oval designs. A round above-ground pool is outside that sentence. The Bestway row allows rounds up to 4.88 m and ovals up to 5.49 m, and it is floor only. The POOLPURE rows say flat-bottom pools inside 90 m², and they still exclude slopes and heavy wrinkles.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources for the 30-day right to reject, charger safety, pool-zone rules and outdoor RCDs. Listing prices, stars and review counts are from amazon.co.uk on 19 October 2026.

  1. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 22 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 23 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK — Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK — product safety advice for businesses (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. NAPIT — BS 7671 section 702, swimming pools (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. Electrical Safety First — garden safety (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. RoSPA — drowning prevention (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. HSE — electrical equipment (retrieved 19 October 2026)