Mosquito repellent buying guide
You are on amazon.co.uk before a fortnight away, and the first rows are coloured bracelets. This mosquito repellent buying guide filters by the active and the percentage, then the age on the label, then the format. The [mosquito repellent comparison](/hub/pest-control/mosquito-repellent) is the table of eleven listings, with saved prices in GBP. The pages were captured on 21 October 2026 and read against the UKHSA traveller sheet. We did not run a cage test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
You are on amazon.co.uk before a fortnight away, and the first rows are coloured bracelets. This mosquito repellent buying guide filters by the active and the percentage, then the age on the label, then the format.
You are on amazon.co.uk before a fortnight away, and the first rows are coloured bracelets. This mosquito repellent buying guide filters by the active and the percentage, then the age on the label, then the format. The mosquito repellent comparison is the table of eleven listings, with saved prices in GBP. The pages were captured on 21 October 2026 and read against the UKHSA traveller sheet. We did not run a cage test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Active on listing | Age on label | Duration claim | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Autan Autan mosquito and insect pump spray, 100 ml | Picaridin, % not shown | Over 2 years | 8 h, 6 h, 4 h | 8.2 | about £8.50 | View offer |
Lifesystems Lifesystems Expedition Maximum 50% DEET pump, 50 ml | 50% DEET | 2 years and over | Up to 8 hours | 8.6 | about £8.95 | View offer | |
| Alternative | APHY ENTERPRISES APHY two repellent sprays plus after-bite pen | Not stated | Not stated | All-day claim | 5.4 | about £10.95 | View offer |
On this page
The four actives, and the two strengths that matter
What to ignore on the title
Age, pregnancy, and a UK socket
How to use the main table
Common questions
What strength of DEET should I buy for a malaria-risk trip?
What if I will not use DEET?
Is citronella one of the four actives?
Can I use 50% DEET in pregnancy?
Why do the bracelets have more reviews than the sprays?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources used for this comparison. Shelf prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures captured for these eleven listings. Last checked 21 October 2026.
- UKHSA mosquito bite avoidance for travellers (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- UKMEAG bite prevention 2026 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- fitfortravel malaria bite avoidance (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- HSE biocide advertisement requirements (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- HSE active substance expiry postponements (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- Which? mosquito repellents that last under three minutes (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- Rodriguez and others, 2017, bracelet trial (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- ASA ruling A16-359663 (retrieved 21 October 2026)


