Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Howie lab coat vs standard

Updated: 21 October 2026

You are holding a normal white stud coat, and the practical handbook may be about to refuse it. Howie lab coat vs standard is a difference of neck, front, and cuffs, not a difference of whiteness. A Howie coat has a high neck, a side, wrap, or asymmetrical stud front, and ribbed or knitted cuffs. A standard coat has a collar or a V opening, a centre-front fastening, and open cuffs. Buy the Howie when the department or the containment rule names that cut. Buy a standard stud coat when the brief is lower-hazard work or a workshop and nobody named Howie. The [Lab coat comparison](/hub/occupational-safety/lab-coat) is twelve amazon.co.uk listings, and none of the titles states a Howie pattern. Peter F. used university and HSE pages alongside those listings, on 19 October 2026. We did not inspect a garment against a Surrey checklist. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are holding a normal white stud coat, and the practical handbook may be about to refuse it. Howie lab coat vs standard is a difference of neck, front, and cuffs, not a difference of whiteness.

Our top picks

On this page

What each cut covers

A standard laboratory coat is the shape most of this amazon set is selling. The Portwest 2852 is the clearest example: a centre-front stud coat in 245 g Kingsmill polycotton, with three pockets, and no claim of ribbed cuffs. Lab Coat X states a stud fastening and a 40-inch length. Hawthorne states concealed snaps on a women’s slim coat. Those are centre-front coats. A side slit or a smartphone pocket, including on Yeats & Sterling, is not a Howie fastening. A Howie coat closes higher and further round. University of Nottingham describes it as a double front with a high neck and knitted cuffs. University of Surrey’s bioscience list is high neck, stretch ribbed cuffs, asymmetrical studs, and a standard length. University of York biology describes a side-fastening Howie with elasticated cuffs for pathogens above hazard group 1. The three wordings are not identical. The neck is covered, the wrist is covered, and the front is not a single open V. Open cuffs are the practical failure. Ribbed cuffs are also the wrong cuff if your NHS role is direct patient care under bare-below-the-elbows. That NHS rule is about the bedside, not a containment bench.

When UK labs require Howie

Surrey tells undergraduates that a coat which fails the high-neck, ribbed-cuff, asymmetrical-stud list is not accepted for bioscience lab sessions. You buy another. York requires the side-fastening Howie where the work involves pathogens above hazard group 1, and it expects the coat to be fastened in the containment lab and removed before you leave. Edinburgh biological sciences provides Howie coats for those practicals. Edinburgh chemistry does not copy that sentence. Chemistry students buy what that school specifies. University is not one rule. HSE’s clinical-laboratory guidance is the workplace version of the same geometry. At containment level 2 and above, everyone wears a protective coat or gown that covers them standing and seated. At containment level 3 the coat should have a side or back closure, close cuffs, a quick release, and a flame-retardant cloth that can be autoclaved. Close cuffs and a side closure are preferred at containment level 2 as well. If your rule says Howie, none of these twelve titles qualifies on the wording. A student Howie from a UK university or trade shop is often about £14–£26 including VAT. That range is a rule of thumb from outside these ASINs.

When a standard coat is still the brief

Nottingham still allows a standard V-neck for lower-hazard work. The Howie becomes mandatory, in that guidance, for biological and GM work, and it is strongly recommended for higher-risk chemicals. If your supervisor has not named a cut, and the job is dust, dirt, or a low-hazard splash, a centre-front stud coat is the garment they are describing. A workshop or an animal-care room that issues no Howie note can use a thick polycotton such as the Portwest, with the limits on that cloth kept in view. Choose Howie if the written rule or the pathogen work requires the high neck and the closed cuff. Choose a standard stud coat if the brief is lower-hazard or workshop cover and nobody named Howie. The best lab coat page applies the second case to this amazon set. Do not assume every UK university has copied Surrey. Press studs alone do not convert a standard coat. Surrey’s list is the neck and the cuff as well as the studs.

Howie cloth is still not a flame coat

The pattern and the fibre are separate decisions. A Howie coat is often sold in the same 65/35 polycotton as a standard coat. Nottingham’s point still applies: that blend can melt. A high neck does not stop a Bunsen from damaging polyester. Flame-retardant coats in this kind of guidance are a different cloth, often Proban cotton or a garment marked to EN ISO 11612. They are not in this amazon set. A barrier coat is a third fork. EN 13034 Type 6, sometimes with EN 14126, is a splash claim these titles do not make. OEKO-TEX on Yeats & Sterling is not that claim either. If you need flame or a certified splash barrier, leave both cuts and go back to the buying guide, which puts the hazard before the cut. A 60 °C cycle, where the label allows it, is care, not a flame treatment.

Common questions

What is the difference between a Howie coat and a standard coat?
A Howie coat has a high neck, a side, wrap, or asymmetrical stud front, and ribbed, knitted, or elasticated cuffs. A standard coat fastens down the centre, usually with a collar or V-neck and open cuffs. Both can be white polycotton. The difference is what skin stays covered when you reach and when you sit. A photograph of a white coat does not show which pattern you have bought.
Does my bioscience course accept a normal white coat?
Surrey bioscience practicals do not, unless the coat already has the high neck, ribbed cuffs, and asymmetrical studs. Edinburgh biological sciences uses Howie coats for those practicals. Other schools differ. Edinburgh chemistry tells students to buy what that school specifies. Read your own handbook. A normal centre-front coat from this amazon set does not state the Howie features, so do not assume it will pass.
Are press studs enough without knitted cuffs?
No, if the rule is a Howie rule. Studs are the quick release Nottingham and HSE want on laboratory coats. The cuff and the neck are the rest of the specification. A standard stud coat still leaves the wrist open. York’s side-fastening coat uses elasticated cuffs for that reason. Studs without a closed cuff meet only part of the list.
Is the Portwest 2852 a Howie coat?
No. It is general workwear in 245 g Kingsmill 65/35, with a stud front and three pockets, at about £16.64. The listing does not state a high neck, ribbed cuffs, or an asymmetrical front. It can be the right standard coat for dirt and low-hazard cover. It is the wrong coat to take to a Surrey bioscience session that published the Howie list. Thickness does not change the pattern.
When is a V-neck still acceptable?
When the local rule says lower-hazard work and does not ask for Howie. Nottingham still allows a standard V-neck in that case, with press studs. A workshop that never mentioned containment can sit in the same place. A V-neck is not acceptable where the page you were given requires a high neck, or where HSE’s containment level 3 description applies. If you are unsure, ask before the first session.
What does HSE say at containment level 2 and 3?
At containment level 2 and above, HSE expects a protective coat or gown that covers you standing and seated. At level 3 it should side- or back-fasten, have close cuffs, use a quick release, and use a flame-retardant cloth that can be autoclaved. Close cuffs and a side closure are the preference at level 2 as well. Coats come off at the door and are not kept in personal lockers. These amazon titles do not state that specification.
Does a Howie polycotton coat solve a Bunsen-burner risk?
No. The cut covers neck and wrist. The 65/35 fibre can still melt, which is Nottingham’s warning, whether the front is a Howie wrap or a standard stud line. Flame work needs a flame-retardant cloth specified for that risk. A Howie pattern in ordinary polycotton is the wrong reassurance beside a Bunsen. Eye protection and the school or department rule still come first.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 21 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures in the display file. The price bands are this set, not a market average.

  1. HSE: COSHH and PPE (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. HSE: clinical laboratories guidance (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. HSE: HSG272 nanomaterials (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. University of Nottingham: lab coat guidance (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. University of Surrey: Howie coat for bioscience labs (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. NHS uniforms and workwear guidance, April 2020 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. CLEAPSS Student Safety Sheet 101 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Portwest 2852 datasheet (GB) (retrieved 21 October 2026)