Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best lab coat

Updated: 21 October 2026

You want one everyday coat from this amazon.co.uk set, and you do not have a Howie specification or a flame-retardant specification in your hand. The best lab coat in that narrow job is the listing that names the cloth, not the listing with the friendliest costume reviews. For dirt and low-hazard cover, that is the Portwest 2852, a 65/35 Kingsmill polycotton at 245 g, at about £16.64, with 4.5 from 5,110 reviews. It is the top pick inside this comparison. It is not the best coat in the UK, and the stars are not a laboratory test. The [Lab coat comparison](/hub/occupational-safety/lab-coat) is the full set of twelve. Peter F. used the amazon.co.uk rows captured on 19 October 2026 and public UK guidance. We did not wash, burn, or splash these coats. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You want one everyday coat from this amazon.co.uk set, and you do not have a Howie specification or a flame-retardant specification in your hand.

Our top picks

On this page

What a stronger coat means in this set

Stronger, here, means a stated heavy polycotton, a stud front, and a large UK review sample that talks about thick cloth. It does not mean the highest price, and it does not mean the most stars on a one-review listing. MF Professional shows 5.0 from a single review with no text, at about £25.99, and the cloth is not stated. That star line cannot outrank a named 245 g coat. FAHAKO shows 4.4 from 226 reviews at about £9.49 with fancy dress in the title. Popularity in a browse category is demand, not protection. The criterion also excludes anything your department has already specified. If the paper says Howie, side fastening, ribbed cuffs, Proban, or EN ISO 11612, every row in this folder fails on the wording. HSE treats clothing as PPE only when it gives a specific protection. Calling it the best lab coat is fair only inside that limit: everyday cover, no named containment level, no flame brief. Price bands in the captured rows run from about £8.49 to £26.95. The Portwest sits in the middle at about £16.64.

Portwest 2852, size M and size L

Both Portwest rows are style 2852 in white. Size L is ASIN B004TLCNHY, item weight 570 g. Size M is ASIN B004TLFLPA, item weight 530 g. The price on both captured pages is about £16.64. The rating on both is 4.5 from 5,110 reviews, so these are two sizes of one coat, not two independent tests. Portwest’s GB datasheet for 2852 describes general workwear: Kingsmill 65/35 at 245 g, concealed studs, three pockets, and a 60 °C wash. The amazon care lines in this set say 40 °C. Follow the label in the garment you receive. Laundry detail is on how to wash a lab coat. UK review notes praise thick cloth that softens or stays strong after washing, and they praise large pockets. Buyers call the coat long, and they describe a male fit that is not cut for a woman’s hips. Size L’s listing agrees that the front is a concealed stud. Size M’s bullets say stud and the care field says button. Size L is the top pick because the cloth is named and the closure line agrees with itself. Size M is the best value only because it is the same cloth and the same price and it is not already the top pick. You do not need both.

Who should skip it

Skip the Portwest if your course requires a Howie coat. Surrey bioscience practicals ask for a high neck, ribbed cuffs, and an asymmetrical stud front. A centre-front 2852 does not state those features. Edinburgh biological sciences practicals use Howie coats as well. The Howie lab coat vs standard page is that refusal. Skip it beside a Bunsen or a large solvent risk. Nottingham’s guidance says a 65/35 polycotton can melt. The 2852 datasheet is general workwear, not EN ISO 11612. Skip it if you need a women’s hip cut. Hawthorne, at about £26.95, is the slim women’s coat in this set, and it does not state a gram weight. Skip it if you need the listing’s wash lines to match before you buy. Bullets say 60 °C and the care line says 40 °C on both sizes. That is a reason to read the sewn-in label, not a reason to invent a third temperature.

The other prices

Lab Coat X at about £19.49 has 4.4 from 789 reviews and a stated 40-inch length. Reviewers call the cloth thickish, and they also buy it for cosplay. It runs very large, and the fabric weight is not stated, so 789 reviews do not make it a clearer cloth than the Portwest. Labmarc at about £14.95 states 200 GSM polycotton, with 4.3 from only 15 reviews. That is a lighter, less proven cloth than 245 g, though it is not a costume title. The thin-style coat at about £8.49 has 3.0 from 470 reviews and repeated see-through comments. Those costume titles are separated on lab coat too thin. Yeats & Sterling at about £23.95 and Hawthorne at about £26.95 cost more than the Portwest and do not win on cloth. Yeats has OEKO-TEX in the title and 4.2 from 6 reviews. OEKO-TEX is not a reason to rank it first. Meichoon at about £20.99 states a 35/65 blend and has no reviews. If the job is everyday cover and nobody has required Howie or flame cloth, buy the named 245 g coat in the size the chart supports.

Common questions

Which listing is the stronger everyday buy in this set?
The Portwest 2852, because the listing states 65/35 Kingsmill polycotton at 245 g, studs, and three pockets, at about £16.64 with 4.5 from 5,110 reviews. That is a cloth claim plus a large UK sample, for dirt and low-hazard cover. It is not a national best, and it is the wrong buy if you were told to get a Howie coat or a flame-retardant coat. A higher star line on a single silent review does not beat it.
Should I buy size M or size L of the Portwest 2852?
Buy the size the Portwest chart gives you. The two ASINs share the price, the cloth, and the 5,110-review pool. Size L weighs 570 g and size M weighs 530 g. Reviews call both long, and they call the cut male. Size M’s page also conflicts on stud versus button. If you usually take a medium and you are short in the body, read the length comments before you assume M will be short enough.
Is the Lab Coat X at about £19.49 a better coat because it has 789 reviews?
No. The review count is real, and reviewers call the cloth thickish, but the fabric weight is not stated and the coat runs very large. A UK 16 and an S/M wearer both found medium and large huge. It is also bought for cosplay. Use it if you want a 40-inch stud coat and you will size down. It is not a clearer specification than the 245 g Portwest.
Why not the thin-style coat at about £8.49?
UK reviews call that cloth thin, see-through, or more transparent than a shirt, and they call it useless for work. The score is 3.0 from 470 reviews, and the title says thin style and fancy dress. It can be a costume on purpose. It is not the everyday work coat, however low the price. A high rank in a browse category would not repair that cloth.
Is Hawthorne or Yeats & Sterling the top pick because they cost more?
No. Hawthorne is about £26.95, a women’s slim 33-inch coat with 3.8 from 56 reviews and no stated cloth weight. Yeats & Sterling is about £23.95 with OEKO-TEX in the title and only 6 reviews. Extra pounds do not add a gram weight or a Howie pattern. OEKO-TEX is not chemical PPE. They are alternatives for a slimmer or concealed-stud preference, with those limits attached.
What if my university requires a Howie coat?
Do not buy the Portwest 2852 and hope the practical accepts it. None of these twelve titles states a high neck, ribbed cuffs, and a side or asymmetrical front. Surrey will refuse a coat that fails that list. Buy or borrow the specified Howie coat. A student Howie from a UK university shop is often about £14–£26 including VAT, which is a rule of thumb, not a price from these ASINs.
Does 4.5 from 5,110 reviews mean it passed a lab test?
No. That figure is the amazon.co.uk star line for the Portwest 2852. We did not test splash, flame, or fit. The reviews describe thick cloth, pockets, and a long male cut. They do not certify EN 13034 or EN ISO 11612. Use the stars only after the cloth and the job are already right.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, last checked on 21 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures in the display file. The price bands are this set, not a market average.

  1. HSE: COSHH and PPE (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  2. HSE: clinical laboratories guidance (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  3. HSE: HSG272 nanomaterials (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  4. University of Nottingham: lab coat guidance (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  5. University of Surrey: Howie coat for bioscience labs (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  6. NHS uniforms and workwear guidance, April 2020 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  7. CLEAPSS Student Safety Sheet 101 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
  8. Portwest 2852 datasheet (GB) (retrieved 21 October 2026)