Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Lithium or lead-acid pallet truck

Updated: 22 October 2026

You are choosing a battery for the way the day runs, not for a slogan on a listing. A lithium or lead-acid pallet truck decision comes down to when you can charge, and what the room can cope with. Lithium suits short top-ups, if you use the maker's charger. Lead-acid can still fit an overnight charge, if the bay can deal with hydrogen. That is a rule of thumb from UKMHA guidance, not a lab result, and not a ranking of the six amazon.co.uk files. Which lines they print is on the [electric pallet truck comparison](/hub/lifting-equipment/electric-pallet-truck). Peter F. checked them on 19 October 2026. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are choosing a battery for the way the day runs, not for a slogan on a listing. A lithium or lead-acid pallet truck decision comes down to when you can charge, and what the room can cope with.

Our top picks

Generic Generic KM-nessoj 3300 lb

Best overall

Generic Generic KM-nessoj 3300 lb
8.2/10about £1,100.99
JYBNBBE JYBNBBE Hcvnbg6795

Best value

JYBNBBE JYBNBBE Hcvnbg6795
6.0/10about £926.99
Not stated Lijiaxiuyc-101

Alternative

Not stated Lijiaxiuyc-101
4.1/10about £2,656.64
On this page

Match the battery to the shift

A flooded or sealed lead-acid pack suits one shift that ends on charge until morning. Jungheinrich's battery guide calls it the cheaper chemistry for that pattern, with distilled water on flooded types and gas near the end of charge. It is a poor match if people unplug it at lunch and expect the same life. Lithium-ion is for short runs with breaks. You can charge while the truck is standing, and you do not water the cells. UKMHA Guidance Note GN69 says a fast charge needs a supply sized for it. As a rough guide in that note, a one-hour charge can need about eight times the current of an eight-hour charge. A socket planned for overnight lead-acid does not make a one-hour lithium claim true. None of the six listings is a documented lead-acid truck you can price against.

Hydrogen against no hydrogen

Lead-acid charging produces hydrogen. Ecclesiastical's note asks for a dedicated place, combustibles kept clear, and about 2 m of clearance. Operations Engineer, citing BS EN 62485-3:2014, puts that charging in a ventilated area. HSE's SR18 note on acid mist is a reason to take ventilation seriously. It is not a pallet-truck ranking. Lithium-ion charging does not evolve hydrogen. UKMHA GN69 says that plainly, and it does not say lithium cannot burn. A damaged pack, or a charger the battery management system does not expect, can still start a fire. Frequent short runs point to lithium, with the right charger. An overnight finish in a ventilated bay is where lead-acid can still fit.
Generic Generic KM-nessoj 3300 lb

Testsieger

Generic Generic KM-nessoj 3300 lb
8.2/10about £1,100.99

The charger has to belong to that pack

A removable battery is not a second pack, and it is not permission to use a bench charger from another machine. GN69 says lithium-ion traction batteries are charged through the battery management system. A random charger can miss the limits that system is there to enforce. Lead-acid has its own charger curve. Swapping the leads because the plug happens to fit is how a cheap saving becomes a damaged pack. Look for three lines before you trust battery included. The chemistry, the voltage and capacity in a unit you can read, and the charger by name. Large-capacity lithium without a voltage is not enough to buy a spare charger. Ampere written where you expected amp-hours is not the same figure. None of the six files states a BS 1363 plug. How you unplug and check the pack on the morning you use it is on how to use an electric pallet truck.

What these amazon.co.uk listings actually say

The six files are not a lead-acid sample. B0H6SC3366 states 48 V/15 Ah and a charger. B0HHS768KT states 48 V/20 Ah and does not name a charger. B0DPYTYK18 writes 24 V/20 A, ampere rather than amp-hour. B0HCZK4FJW says lithium-ion and a charger, with no voltage. B0HHS95GVZ and B0H33BGVVS do not give a voltage you can match to a spare charger. You cannot opportunity-charge a pack the listing has not identified. The electric pallet truck buying guide puts the charger after the load and the drive. Use this page for the shift. Use the listing only to see whether it has said enough.

Which chemistry follows the day

If the truck finishes a shift and then takes a full overnight charge in a ventilated bay, lead-acid can still be the duty cycle that fits. If you charge in short pieces through the day, lithium fits, and only with the maker's charger on a supply that can take the current. If the listing does not name the chemistry, the voltage and the charger, the argument stops until the seller fills those lines.

Common questions

Which battery for one shift?
Lead-acid still fits a single shift that ends with a full charge overnight, if the room can ventilate hydrogen and, on a flooded pack, someone trained adds water when the maker says so. Lithium also works for one shift. You are paying for a habit of short top-ups you may not need. These files do not show a lead-acid price, so the cheaper chemistry on a dealer guide is not automatically the cheaper truck here.
Can I top up lithium at lunch?
Yes, that is the point of opportunity charging, using the maker's charger and a supply that can take the current. UKMHA describes a one-hour charge as needing much more current than an eight-hour charge, as a rough guide. Do not do the same short top-up as your plan for a flooded lead-acid pack that is meant to finish a proper charge.
Does lithium need a hydrogen room?
No. UKMHA GN69 says lithium-ion charging does not generate hydrogen, so the lead-acid explosion distance is not the lithium rule. You still keep combustibles away, and you still take a damaged pack out of service. Lithium can catch fire. No hydrogen is not no fire.
Does lead-acid need ventilation?
Yes. Hydrogen comes off, especially near the end of charge, so the bay needs ventilation. Ecclesiastical asks for a set charging place and about 2 m of clearance. Do not charge a gassing pack in an unventilated cupboard because the truck was cheap.
What if the charger is not listed?
Treat it as not included until the seller says otherwise. In this set only B0H6SC3366 and B0HCZK4FJW name a charger. The other four do not. Do not assume a 13 A UK plug. None of the six states a BS 1363 plug.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources named below. amazon.co.uk shelf prices on these six listings were read on 19 October 2026. None of the saved listings has a review count. Page updated October 2026.

  1. HSE: LOLER overview (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. HSE: safe lifting (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. HSE: workplace transport FAQ (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. HSE: PM15 pallet safety (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. BSI: BS EN ISO 3691-1:2015+A1:2020 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. BSI: BS EN ISO 3691-5:2015+A1:2020 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Trucks Direct UK: HELI CBD15J-LI3 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Ecclesiastical: battery charging for fork-lift trucks (retrieved 19 October 2026)