Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Long reach hedge trimmer when you will not use a ladder

Updated: October 2026

Your hedge is above shoulder height, and you are deciding between a pole in this amazon.co.uk set and a ladder. A long reach hedge trimmer replaces the ladder only when the top sits inside the stated reach and you can control the weight at full stretch. If the top is still above the figure on the listing, stop. All eleven tools are in the [Stihl hedge trimmer comparison](/hub/lawn-and-garden-equipment/stihl-hedge-trimmer). Written on 16 October 2026 from 15 October listings, with no lab test. Amazon links may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Your hedge is above shoulder height, and you are deciding between a pole in this amazon.co.uk set and a ladder.

Our top picks

HYUNDAI Hyundai HY20CPHT pole

Best overall

HYUNDAI Hyundai HY20CPHT pole
8.3/10about £88.99
WORX Worx WG252E pole

Rank 2

WORX Worx WG252E pole
8.3/10about £129.99
On this page

Pole length is not the height of the hedge

Pole length and maximum reach are different measurements. The Hyundai HY20CPHT listing pairs a 2.6 m extendable pole with up to 3.6 m maximum reach. Buy the 2.6 m pole, and treat 3.6 m as a reach claim, not the length of the tube. Ryobi's site sells a different pole, the RPT184520C kit, as trimming hedges up to 4 metres. The OPT1845 in this set is tool only, with a stated full length of about 2.9 m and a weight of about 5.6 kg. The 4 m line does not transfer. Read the reach line on the listing you are ordering, then compare it with your hedge.

What each long tool in this set actually states

Six tools here are the long ones. Prices are amazon.co.uk figures from 15 October 2026. The Worx WG252E was £129.99: up to 2.8 m, a 45 cm blade, a 16 mm gap, and a 2.0 Ah battery, charger and shoulder strap. The Hyundai was £88.99 with a 2.0 Ah battery and a strap mentioned. The Bosch UniversalHedgePole 18 was £149, battery included, amp-hour not stated, Amazon comparison weight 4.12 kg. The spec table says 43 inches. Bosch's own page says 43 cm. The Ryobi OPT1845 was £106 tool only, about 5.6 kg and about 2.9 m. Skip it with no ONE+ battery. The MZK was £79.99, about 2.4 m, the shortest cordless reach here, with two 4.0 Ah packs in the title. The SuperHandy was £99.99, corded, 550 W, stated 2.7 m. Cable and RCD sit on the how to use a hedge trimmer page.
HYUNDAI Hyundai HY20CPHT pole

Testsieger

HYUNDAI Hyundai HY20CPHT pole
8.3/10about £88.99

Weight and the strap

A listed weight understates how heavy a pole feels at full extension. The mass sits at the far end. The Ryobi comparison figure is 5.6 kg. The Bosch pole on the Amazon comparison is 4.12 kg, while Bosch's own page says 3.6 kg. UK reviews on both call them heavy, and Worx owners still prefer the reach to a ladder. The strap is what makes the overhead cut possible. The Worx includes one. The Hyundai mentions one. The SuperHandy includes a detachable strap. Use it. Weight returns still appear on the cheaper MZK, including buyers with arthritis who sent it back, plus a blade that stopped while the motor ran and more than one broken charger pin. Battery platforms are on the Stihl hedge trimmer buying guide.

When the pole is not enough

Stop when the hedge top is still above the stated reach. Do not use a live blade on a ladder. BS EN 62841-4-2 covers poles up to 3.5 m. That 3.5 m is the standard's scope, not a promise that the MZK at 2.4 m, or the Worx at 2.8 m, reaches 3.5 m. A hedge over 2 metres on your own land does not have to come down to 2 metres. The complaint route is a neighbour's evergreen line that blocks light, and a remedial notice cannot order a cut below 2 metres. If these poles stop short, Just Lawnmowers listed a STIHL HLA 56 at £209 on 16 October 2026. It is not one of the eleven ASINs.

Common questions

Does maximum reach mean the length of the pole?
It means a claimed distance to the cut, often including how you stand, and it is longer than the shaft. Hyundai's listing pairs a 2.6 m pole with up to 3.6 m maximum reach. Those are different claims. Ryobi's up to 4 metres line belongs to the RPT184520C kit page, not to the OPT1845 tool-only ASIN, whose stated full length is about 2.9 m.
Which poles in this set include a strap and a battery?
The Worx WG252E includes a 2.0 Ah battery, a charger and a shoulder strap. The Hyundai includes a 2.0 Ah battery and mentions a strap. The Bosch pole includes a battery, amp-hour not stated. The MZK title says two 4.0 Ah batteries. The Ryobi OPT1845 is tool only. The SuperHandy is corded, with a strap and no battery.
Why do reviews call a 3 kg-class pole heavy?
The head and the blade sit at the end of a long shaft, so the load on your arms is higher than the number on the box. The Ryobi lists 5.6 kg. The Bosch pole lists 4.12 kg on the Amazon comparison and 3.6 kg on Bosch's own page. Worx owners call the WG252E heavy or top-heavy once it is extended, even when they prefer it to a ladder.
What if the hedge is taller than 2.9 m?
The longest stated length in this cordless set is about 2.9 m on the Ryobi OPT1845, and that tool is a bare 5.6 kg pole. If the top is still above the figure for the tool you hold, stop. Do not add a ladder under a running blade. A dealer long-reach STIHL, such as the HLA 56, is a different shop and still has its own reach limit.
Does a hedge over 2 metres have to be cut down to 2 metres?
A hedge on your own land does not have to be reduced to 2 metres because it is tall. The high-hedge complaint route is about a neighbour's evergreen line over 2 metres that blocks light or access. Even then, a remedial notice cannot order a cut below 2 metres or order removal. You can cut overhang back to your boundary. A tree preservation order can still limit that cut.

Related pages

Sources

Sources checked for this comparison; last retrieved on 16 October 2026.

  1. STIHL UK, hedge trimmer buying guide (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. STIHL UK, HSA 50 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. Just Lawnmowers, STIHL hedge trimmers (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK, hedgerow management rules (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK, wild birds: protection and licences (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. HSE INDG480, hand-arm vibration (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. HSE, noise at work for employers (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. GOV.UK, high hedges: complaining to the council (retrieved 15 October 2026)