Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Petrol or battery brush cutter: which should you buy?

Updated: October 2026

Choosing a petrol or battery brush cutter is less about declaring one technology stronger and more about where, how long and how often you cut. A battery machine can clear brambles when it has the right blade, but its working session depends on the pack and the load. Petrol travels beyond cables and recharging, yet brings fuel mixing, fumes and starting maintenance. The [Stihl brush cutter comparison](/hub/lawn-and-garden-equipment/stihl-brush-cutter) includes both types plus one useful third option, a corded Bosch. Compare the whole working setup rather than voltage, engine capacity or a body-only price in isolation. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.

Choosing a petrol or battery brush cutter is less about declaring one technology stronger and more about where, how long and how often you cut.

Our top picks

Bosch Bosch AFS 23-37

Best overall

Bosch Bosch AFS 23-37
9.2/10about £124.90
Einhell Einhell Agillo 36/255

Preis-Tipp

Einhell Einhell Agillo 36/255
8.6/10about £158.99
eSkde eSkde BC52-S23

Alternative

eSkde eSkde BC52-S23
8.0/10about £120
On this page

Three power sources in this search

Petrol makes sense when the site is remote and the work outlasts the batteries you can carry. The eSkde BC52-S23 and the 5-in-1 both claim 52 cc two-stroke engines. You can refuel and continue only with the correct petrol-oil mix. The eSkde ratio is not stated and must not be guessed. Battery suits a domestic garden when compatible packs are already on the shelf. The 36 V Einhell Agillo 36/255 takes PXC batteries, the Ryobi OBC1820B uses ONE+, and the 18 V Agillo uses a single PXC pack. Those listings are body-only. The Greenworks costs £250.10 and includes two 40 V 2 Ah packs and a charger. Mains is the third option when the plot is within a safe lead. The Bosch AFS 23-37 supplies 950 W, uses a 23 cm blade or 37 cm line and costs £124.90. The cable is the constraint around gates, paths and tangled growth.

What a charge is worth

Voltage is not runtime. Amp-hours, the motor, the head and the vegetation all change how long you can work. A 40 V label does not automatically outlast an 18 V machine with a larger pack. Ryobi OBC1820B reviewers describe roughly 12 to 30 minutes from a 4 Ah pack, and some accounts say 30 to 45 minutes on a 5 Ah battery. Greenworks reviewers often report about 15 to 30 minutes from each included 2 Ah pack. Those figures are reviewer reports, not laboratory specifications. Two small packs help only if the first recharges before the second is empty. A two-hour boundary needs spare packs, a pause or another power source. The brush cutter buying guide puts packs into the purchase cost, and charging garden tool batteries safely covers storage and charging. STIHL battery figures stay with STIHL machines. The FSA 80 uses the domestic AK system, and professional AP packs are not interchangeable with AK. A STIHL runtime does not establish Greenworks, Ryobi or Einhell runtime.
Bosch Bosch AFS 23-37

Testsieger

Bosch Bosch AFS 23-37
9.2/10about £124.90

Starting, fumes and noise

Battery starting is a charged, approved pack and the controls in the manual. There is no two-stroke mix to store. That matters if you cut occasionally, because old fuel can make a petrol tool reluctant to start. Reviews of the eSkde BC52-S23 mention pull-start and plastic choke failures, and the 5-in-1 draws complaints about the pull cord and fuel cap. Those are review patterns, not a prediction for every unit. The £120 to £143.99 price is not the same purchase as a petrol machine with a dealer parts route. A harness does not reduce exhaust, noise or fumes. Battery tools remove exhaust at the point of use, but head noise remains. Employees still fall under UK noise and vibration assessment. Households have no single national set of permitted garden hours.

Which should you buy?

Choose battery for one garden, limited sessions and packs you already own. The Einhell 36/255 is best value for dense growth on PXC. The Ryobi is the ONE+ route. If you own no platform, compare the complete cost with the Greenworks kit. Choose petrol for long work on large or remote ground, if you will mix and store fuel correctly. For weekly use, parts matter more than the lowest price. An orange eSkde is not a STIHL. An Amazon snapshot on 16 October 2026 showed an FS 55 R at £325 and an FS 56 C-E at £420. Those prices are context, not rows here. The top pick when the whole job is within a safe cable is the corded Bosch: blade and line, no batteries and no fuel, with 4.6 from 2,695 reviews. Skip it where the cable would cross access routes. A domestic plot with packs favours cordless. Hours of remote clearance favour a supported petrol machine.

Common questions

Will a battery brush cutter clear brambles?
Yes, if the machine is approved for a suitable metal blade and has enough battery capacity for the session. The Einhell 36/255 receives positive bramble comments. Ordinary line or small accessory blades are less suitable for established woody growth.
How long does a cordless brush cutter run?
There is no universal figure. Reviewers report about 12 to 30 minutes for a Ryobi 4 Ah pack and often 15 to 30 minutes per Greenworks 2 Ah pack. Treat those as user experiences, not guaranteed specifications.
Does 40 V mean more runtime than 18 V?
No. Voltage alone does not state stored energy or efficiency. You also need battery capacity, and even watt-hours cannot account fully for head type and cutting load. Compare model-specific evidence rather than the largest voltage.
What does body only mean?
It means the tool is sold without a battery and usually without a charger. This keeps the price attractive for owners of the platform, but a new buyer must add compatible packs and charging equipment before making a fair comparison.
Is mains a serious brush-cutter option?
Yes, for a domestic plot with safe power access. The Bosch offers continuous 950 W and blade or line cutting without fuel. The extension lead limits range and requires careful routing, so it is unsuitable for every site.
Do STIHL 4-MIX engines need mixed fuel?
STIHL describes its 4-MIX engines as using a petrol-oil mixture, despite their four-stroke operating principle. Follow the manual for the exact model and never apply an eSkde, STIHL or generic ratio to a different engine.
Which battery fits the STIHL FSA 80?
The FSA 80 is part of STIHL's AK system. AK and professional AP batteries are different systems and are not interchangeable merely because both are STIHL products. Confirm the exact tool and package before buying a battery.

Related pages

Sources

Sources checked for this comparison; last retrieved on 16 October 2026.

  1. STIHL UK, guide to grass trimmers, brushcutters and clearing saws (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. STIHL UK, FS 55 petrol brushcutter (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. HSE, hand-arm vibration in forestry (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. HSE INDG480, hand-arm vibration (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. Control of Vibration at Work Regulations 2005 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. ISO 11806-1:2022, combustion-engine brush cutters (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. amazon.co.uk search, stihl bush cutter, 16 October 2026 (retrieved 16 October 2026)