Infrared heater bathroom zones UK
A bullet that says bathroom or IP54 on amazon.co.uk feels like permission to plug a 1000 W panel beside the bath. It is not. Zone layout under BS 7671, socket distances, ingress claims, and Part P notification are separate tests, and none of the six heaters in the [1000W infrared heater comparison](/hub/heating/1000w-infrared-heater) ships with a certificate for your room. This page is the rule set England’s wiring guides give most UK shoppers first. Scotland and Northern Ireland have their own building control paths. Peter F. compared amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. There was no lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
A bullet that says bathroom or IP54 on amazon.co.uk feels like permission to plug a 1000 W panel beside the bath. It is not.
A bullet that says bathroom or IP54 on amazon.co.uk feels like permission to plug a 1000 W panel beside the bath. It is not. Zone layout under BS 7671, socket distances, ingress claims, and Part P notification are separate tests, and none of the six heaters in the 1000W infrared heater comparison ships with a certificate for your room. This page is the rule set England’s wiring guides give most UK shoppers first. Scotland and Northern Ireland have their own building control paths. Peter F. compared amazon.co.uk listings and public UK sources. There was no lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | IP claim | Mount | Voltage | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Hocosyme Hocosyme UK-C-1000W | IP54 claimed | Wall panel | Not stated | 9.6 | about £139.99 | View offer |
| Best value | Warmlite Warmlite WL42013 | No IP rating | Floor tower | 240 V | 8.8 | about £56.46 | View offer |
Byekalt Byekalt C-WK-1000W | No IP code | Wall kit | Not stated | 7.6 | about £139.99 | View offer |
On this page
What the zones are
What IP54 does and does not prove
Sockets, plugs, and the two distances
Part P and when you stop
What these six listings actually say
Common questions
Can I use a 1000W infrared heater in a bathroom?
What are zones 0, 1, and 2?
Does IP54 mean IPX4?
How far must a socket be from the bath?
Is a plug-in panel allowed if the listing says bathroom?
When is the work notifiable under Part P?
Which of these six heaters is confirmed for a bathroom?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources named below. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts on these six listings were taken from the listing files read on 20 October 2026. Page updated October 2026.
- GOV.UK ecodesign of energy-related products (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- Approved Document P (England, 2013) (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- Electrical Safety First, regulation 701.512.3 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- NICEIC bathrooms and electrics (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- Ofgem price cap, 1 October to 31 December 2026 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- DESNZ infrared heating report (retrieved 20 October 2026)
- OPSS PRISM room-heater note (retrieved 20 October 2026)


