Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

3/4 socket set buying guide

Updated: 22 October 2026

You are looking at a 3/4 socket set on amazon.co.uk because a hub nut or a crank bolt has outgrown the 1/2 in sockets in the drawer. A 3/4 socket set buying guide settles five lines: the square, the depth, the steel, the printed millimetres, and whether a ratchet is in the box. The nine listings in the [3/4 socket set comparison](/hub/hand-tools/3-4-socket-set) run from about £55.96 to £85.72 on pages saved on 20 October 2026. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. The Products Compared editorial team wrote this on 21 October 2026 from those listings and public UK guides, not from a torque bench.

You are looking at a 3/4 socket set on amazon.co.uk because a hub nut or a crank bolt has outgrown the 1/2 in sockets in the drawer.

Our top picks

On this page

The square is 3/4 in, the nut is in millimetres

The 3/4 in figure is the square that plugs into the ratchet or the impact gun, about 19 mm across that plug. The millimetre figures are the openings that drop over the nut. RS separates those two measurements and puts large sets at 3/4 in or 1 in drive. Ordinary wheel nuts rarely need this drive. An adapter does not rewrite the square. The CASOMAN deep set includes a 1/2 in female to 3/4 in male adapter, and the loaded part is still the smaller square. Chrome Trader’s note is that drive size is not a torque rating. Greensen’s attributes say hex shank against a 6-point title. US PRO’s attribute says 7/16 in against a 3/4 in and 1 in title. Treat a disagreeing square as unconfirmed until you can see the plug.

Depth, steel, and the printed list

Shallow sockets sit where a long wall would foul a flange. Deep sockets reach a stud that stands proud of the nut. Toolstation’s rule of thumb is that a deep socket is about twice as long, so overtightening is easier. CASOMAN CS534 and TecoTek TC061EU are shallow, both printed from 17 mm to 55 mm. The CASOMAN deep set stops at 41 mm. Hilka does not state depth. Toolstation puts chrome vanadium with hand ratchets and chrome molybdenum with impact guns, and it says standard sockets must not go on power tools because they can shatter. Listings that say impact and then name another steel are on the impact or hand 3/4 socket page. Hilka’s material line only says metal. A missing size costs more than a low piece count. Hilka’s bullet says 16 sockets and then prints 15 sizes from 22 mm to 50 mm. Greensen claims 22–50 mm and never prints each size. If 36 mm is absent, the piece count cannot help. Grooved nuts are a different tool, on the 3/4 socket set for HGV hub nuts page.

Ratchet, sliding bar, case

Sockets alone make sense when the 3/4 in ratchet or the impact gun is already on the bench. Greensen, both CASOMAN sets, Ejoyous and TecoTek name sockets and a case or box. They do not name a ratchet or a sliding bar. The first movement on a tight nut belongs on a solid bar. The ratchet spins the nut once it is free. Hilka includes a reversible ratchet and a sliding T-bar. KATSU 420463 includes a 24-tooth ratchet, a sliding bar and a steel case in the bullets. KATSU 420462 puts a 24-tooth ratchet in the title only. If the bar is missing, you still cannot crack the nut.

Words that do not prove a test

CASOMAN’s bullets say the tools meet or exceed DIN, with no part number. TecoTek says the same about ANSI. BS ISO 2725-2:2017 covers dimensions for machine-operated square-drive sockets. BS ISO 1711-2:2019 covers a torsional test, not a full endurance test. None of the nine files cites either number. A DIN or ANSI phrase does not become that test. About £56–£63 in this sample is sockets only. About £70–£77 adds a ratchet on the KATSU and Hilka rows. US PRO is £85.72. Hilka’s code on this amazon.co.uk row is 04102102. A different code on the manufacturer site is a different set. Consumer Rights Act 2015 section 9 judges quality against the description and the price.

Common questions

Is 3/4 in the nut size or the square?
3/4 in is the square drive, about 19 mm across the plug. It has to match the ratchet or the impact anvil. The nut size is the millimetre opening. If a listing gives you only one of those numbers, you do not yet know which fastener it will fit.
Do I need a 3/4 in set for ordinary car wheel nuts?
Most car wheel nuts come off with a 1/2 in drive and a size you already own. A 3/4 in set earns its place on larger or seized fasteners: some hub nuts, crank bolts, tractor and plant work, and some commercial vehicles.
Should I buy shallow or deep sockets?
Buy shallow when a long socket would hit a flange first. Buy deep when the stud sticks out past the nut. Toolstation’s rule of thumb is that a deep socket is about twice as long, so overtightening is easier. Hilka does not state depth.
What changes between chrome molybdenum and chrome vanadium?
Chrome molybdenum is the steel these listings use when they mean an impact socket. Chrome vanadium is the usual hand-tool steel. Carbon steel, on KATSU 420462, is a third claim under a title that still says impact. The colour of the paint does not decide it.
Why is a missing 27 mm worse than a low piece count?
You need the opening that matches the nut you can see. Ten sockets that include 27 mm will do that job. Twenty-six that skip it will not. Ejoyous claims eight sockets and lists ten. Hilka claims 16 and prints 15.
Does “meets DIN” or “meets ANSI” mean a British Standard test?
CASOMAN uses a DIN sentence and TecoTek an ANSI sentence, both without a part number. BS ISO 2725-2:2017 covers dimensions and BS ISO 1711-2:2019 covers a torsional test. None of these nine listings cites those numbers.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, used for this page on 22 October 2026. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures recorded in that digest on 20 October 2026.

  1. Toolstation socket buying guide (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  2. Chrome Trader: chrome versus impact sockets (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  3. BS ISO 2725-2:2017 impact socket dimensions (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  4. BS ISO 1711-2:2019 impact socket torsional strength (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  5. HSE INDG229: using hand tools (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  6. PUWER 1998 regulation 4 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  7. Consumer Rights Act 2015 section 9 (retrieved 20 October 2026)
  8. Sealey Premier impact socket set AK8892M (retrieved 20 October 2026)