Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Solar or mains garden fountain

Updated: 22 October 2026

You are standing on the patio with a stone-effect fountain in the basket and no clear answer on power. The choice is when you want the water to run. In this amazon.co.uk set that is two solar listings against four corded ones, plus a Zedazoom row that never states a power source. The seven rows are on the [stone fountain comparison](/hub/garden-decor/stone-fountain). Why the finish is resin stays on the [stone effect garden fountain buying guide](/hub/garden-decor/stone-fountain/sub/stone-fountain-buying-guide). Peter F. read the listings, the UK texts and Just Fountains’ note on 22 October 2026. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You are standing on the patio with a stone-effect fountain in the basket and no clear answer on power. The choice is when you want the water to run.

Our top picks

On this page

What you give up with solar

Just Fountains puts the trade-off in one place. Mains can keep the same flow at 9pm in November. Solar stops when the light goes, unless a battery is carrying the pump. That is a shop explanation, not a runtime measured on these ASINs. The panel has to see the sun. A bowl in a bright corner still fails if the panel is under a table or on the north side of a fence. On a grey March day you may get a trickle or nothing. If the fountain is why you are outside at dusk, you are buying the wrong power.

The battery line on these listings

Only two kept listings are solar. The Gardenwize lion is about £119.99. A battery backup is claimed, and amazon.co.uk shows 4.5 from 11. One UK text says the power bank runs at night. Another says it needs full sun. There is no hour count. The Teamson FT1024NAS is about £102.99, about 72 cm and 7 kg, and the listing says no outlet is required. UK texts also report a pump that failed at about four months, a panel that then failed, and a unit that died after about two weeks. Zedazoom is not a third solar model. Power is absent, and a leaflet solar kit never arrived.

What mains gives you here

Mains is water when you switch it on, provided the lead reaches a socket. Both Bumilgar models state a 3 m cord. One UK text on the 130 cm cascade still needed an extension past about one metre. The Teamson lion and the stacked bowls, 4.8 from 24 at about £139, do not state a lead length. A UK text on the stacked bowls needed an extension. The LED on that row is on the pump circuit, so the lights are not a separate night battery. UL on a Bumilgar bullet is a US mark, not UKCA. The drip loop is on the how to set up a garden water fountain page.

When to choose which

Choose solar if the panel sees sun, you have no outdoor socket, and a stop after dark is acceptable. That is the Gardenwize lion or the Teamson 4-tier. Choose mains if a socket on a 30 mA RCD is already there and you want water on a November evening. The stacked bowls are the strongest rating if the missing drain suits you. The Bumilgar rows state a 3 m cord. Do not choose Zedazoom to settle power, and do not add a new outdoor socket yourself. NICEIC treats that circuit as electrician’s work. The winter drain is on the winterise a garden fountain page.

Common questions

Will a solar fountain run on a cloudy British day?
It may slow or stop, because the panel, not the bowl, has to see light. Just Fountains’ general note is that solar depends on the light and that winter is quiet. That source does not give a number to put on the Gardenwize or the Teamson tier. If your patio is bright only in the middle of a June day, expect gaps. A mains fountain on an existing socket does not have that gap.
Will it run after dark?
Only if a battery has been charged, and this set never states the hours. One Gardenwize UK text says the power bank covers the night. Another says the fountain needs full sun. Teamson solar texts say it runs after a charge, beside reports of a failed pump and a failed panel. Do not turn that conflict into a promise of an evening’s water. Corded models have no battery. Their LED, where a UK text describes it, is on the mains circuit.
Which two listings are solar?
The Gardenwize lion head at about £119.99 and the Teamson 4-tier cascade at about £102.99. The lion is a wall piece at 4.75 kg with no height in the file. The tier is about 72 cm and 7 kg. Every Bumilgar row and both other Teamson rows are corded. Zedazoom’s power line is empty. A solar kit mentioned on a Zedazoom leaflet was not supplied, according to UK texts, so it does not join the solar pair.
What lead do the mains models state?
Both Bumilgar models state a transformer with a 3 m cord. The 90 cm column has no reviews to confirm that length in use. On the 130 cm cascade, one UK text still needed an extension past about one metre. The Teamson lion and the stacked bowls are plug-in, and the lead length is not stated. A stacked-bowls review needed an extension. Measure from the socket to the pad before you rely on any of those lines.
Is UL the same as a UK plug approval?
No. UL on a Bumilgar bullet is a United States mark. It does not stand in for UKCA, and these saved listings do not show UKCA. A BS 1363 plug on a supplied transformer is what you should see at a UK socket. The mark on the bullet does not prove the pump, the IP rating or the noise figure. IP is not stated on these listings. Treat UL as a label from another market.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources for outdoor electrics, product safety and winter care of water features. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts are from the listings used in this comparison. Retrieved 22 October 2026.

  1. RoSPA, pond safety (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. RoSPA, garden safety (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. NICEIC, gardens and electrics (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. Approved Document P (2013) (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK, Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. Haddonstone, pumps and fountains care (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. GardenSite, how to care for your water feature (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. Just Fountains, solar or mains (retrieved 22 October 2026)