Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Autumn lawn feed UK: what to use and when

Updated: October 2026

By October a lawn can look pale and mossy, but the summer feed in the shed is usually the wrong answer. An autumn lawn feed in the UK should support roots without forcing soft growth before cold weather. The nine listings are in our [Wolf Garden lawn fertiliser comparison](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/wolf-garden-lawn-fertiliser). This page covers whether an autumn formula suits the lawn, which pack size makes sense, and how late you can apply it. Feed only if the grass needs it, and let the label set the date. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.

By October a lawn can look pale and mossy, but the summer feed in the shed is usually the wrong answer. An autumn lawn feed in the UK should support roots without forcing soft growth before cold weather.

Our top picks

On this page

Why autumn feed is not summer feed

Spring and summer feeds are built to push green growth. That helps in the growing season, and it is a poor match when frost is close. The Royal Horticultural Society advises against leftover summer feed in autumn, because higher nitrogen can leave soft growth that does not harden before winter. Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 autumn lawn care states NPK 6-5-10 and iron sulphate for moss. The established Miracle-Gro autumn lawn care 360 m² listing does not state an NPK. The RHS says most lawns can manage without an autumn feed, so use the lawn's condition as the cue. If the problem is weeds, use the weed and moss guide.

The autumn packs side by side

Miracle-Gro autumn lawn care, 360 m², is the best value, at about £24.00, rated 4.6 from 520 ratings. Its part number matches the 360 m² label. Some reviews report damp granules clogging a spreader, so keep the bag dry. The top pick, Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 autumn lawn care, 360 m², was about £24.75 with 5.0 from two ratings. It states NPK 6-5-10 and iron sulphate, but the part number matches the 2.8 kg listing, so check the weight on delivery before you treat it as 12.6 kg for 360 m². The 80 m² spreader was about £14.59, rated 4.3 from 233 ratings. It costs more per square metre and avoids a half-used large bag. Pack size is on the buying guide. The newer 80 m² 4-in-1 was about £12.29 and states NPK 6-5-10, but 3.8 from five ratings includes two reports of burnt or black patches.

Moss in autumn: blacken, wait, then rake

Iron in an autumn feed can blacken moss that is already there. Listings say blackening may show after about seven days, and the 360 m² label says to rake dead moss out after two weeks. Spreading order is on how to apply lawn fertiliser. Keep granules off paving and clothing, because iron can leave rust-coloured stains. Sweep spills onto the lawn before you water. A heavy infestation may need another treatment after six weeks. Shade, compaction and poor drainage can bring moss back. If the ground is waterlogged, correct that before you feed.

How late is too late?

There is no single UK cut-off. The large Miracle-Gro autumn listings give September to November. RHS guidance warns against late fertilising that leaves growth unable to harden before winter. That window is not a reason to use summer feed in November. Do not apply onto frozen or waterlogged ground. Apply when rain is expected, or water in as directed, and keep people and pets off until the lawn is dry. September is the simplest month. October can suit a labelled autumn feed if the ground drains. In November, skip the feed if growth has stopped, frost is forecast or the lawn is saturated. Also skip a healthy lawn, a wildlife lawn you keep on lower inputs, or iron beside pale paving if staining is unacceptable.

Common questions

When should I apply an autumn lawn feed in the UK?
September is the most dependable starting point, but some autumn-specific labels allow application into October or November. Apply only while the grass is still active and the soil is neither frozen nor waterlogged. Local weather matters more than a nationwide date, so follow the product label and postpone treatment when cold or saturation makes an even response unlikely.
What NPK should an autumn lawn feed have?
Look for lower nitrogen and proportionally stronger potassium than you would expect in a growth-focused summer feed. In this comparison the Miracle-Gro 4-in-1 autumn packs state NPK 6-5-10. The established Miracle-Gro autumn lawn care 360 m² listing does not state an NPK. There is no universal ratio, so treat a printed analysis as that product's specification rather than a rule every autumn fertiliser must match.
Can I use weed and feed in October?
Only if the label explicitly permits autumn use and the weather is suitable. Do not use leftover summer weed-and-feed simply to empty the pack: the RHS warns that excess nitrogen can encourage soft growth before winter. In October, an autumn-specific product is the safer seasonal choice when feeding is actually needed.
Does autumn lawn feed with iron kill moss?
Iron sulphate can blacken and control moss already present, but it does not remove the underlying cause. You still need to rake out the dead material at the interval stated on the label, commonly around two weeks on the 360 m² autumn listings. Moss may return where shade, compaction, drainage or mowing practice remains unchanged.
Should I scarify before using autumn lawn feed?
Scarify first when a dense layer of thatch or moss would prevent granules reaching the soil surface, provided the grass is healthy enough to recover. For lighter moss, follow the treatment label, allow it to blacken and rake it out afterwards. Avoid aggressive scarifying during drought, frost or waterlogged conditions.
Is it too late to feed my lawn in November?
Not on the calendar alone. The large Miracle-Gro autumn listings run from September to November, and that outer limit is not a target. If your lawn has stopped growing, the ground is saturated or frost is likely, skip the application. Do not extend the season by substituting a high-nitrogen summer feed.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK and manufacturer sources used for this comparison; last accessed 15 October 2026.

  1. HSE: Pesticides in gardens and homes (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK: Pesticide approval (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK: Manufacturing and marketing fertilisers (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. RHS: Moss on lawns (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. RHS: Autumn lawn care (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. Animal PoisonLine: Fertilisers and pets (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. Westland SafeLawn fact sheet (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. WOLF-Garten: SQ 120 product page (retrieved 15 October 2026)