Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Guano fertiliser for vegetables

Updated: October 2026

You already use farmyard manure or a pelleted feed on the vegetable bed, and a search for guano fertiliser for vegetables has offered 200 g per square metre from a brand that is not in this set. This page stays with the nine saved amazon.co.uk listings. The question is which of them actually name vegetables, fruit, or an area, and which claims are not a dose for a plot. Products Compared has not grown a trial crop. Prices are the saved snapshot in GBP. The [guano fertiliser comparison](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/guano-fertiliser) is the table. Choosing a form in general sits on the [guano fertiliser buying guide](/hub/fertiliser-soil-and-bark-mulch/guano-fertiliser/sub/guano-fertiliser-buying-guide).

You already use farmyard manure or a pelleted feed on the vegetable bed, and a search for guano fertiliser for vegetables has offered 200 g per square metre from a brand that is not in this set.

Our top picks

VitaLink VitaLink bat guano, 3.5 kg

Best overall

VitaLink VitaLink bat guano, 3.5 kg
9.2/10about £26.25
Flower Flower organic guano, 2 kg

Alternative

Flower Flower organic guano, 2 kg
9.0/10about £28.53
CULTIVERS CULTIVERS guano, 25 kg

Alternative

CULTIVERS CULTIVERS guano, 25 kg
8.8/10about £50.31
On this page

Only some of these listings name edible crops

CULTIVERS 25 kg names a vegetable garden. The 1 kg bag names orchard and garden, which is not the same sentence. VitaLink’s bullets say plants, soil builder, and compost activator. In the Amazon reviews, UK reviewers name tomatoes, chillies, and fruit. That is not a vegetable bullet. COMPO names palms, ferns, and pond plants. Flower’s sticks name flowers. A patio pot of tomatoes is still a pot. Houseplants sit on best guano fertiliser.

2 kg for 40 m² is one ornamental listing’s claim

Flower’s 2 kg granules print 2 kg = 40 m² and tell you to incorporate them into the ground. The plants on that listing are roses, hydrangeas, phalaenopsis, and acid plants. The components line reads NPK fertiliser 3-1.5-1.5. The animal is not stated. Saved reviews are not from the United Kingdom. They mention tomatoes and vegetables, and one says 2 kg is not much for a vegetable plot. That complaint is a review, not a second coverage figure. Do not move 40 m² onto the 25 kg sack, onto VitaLink, or onto a shop table of 150–200 g per square metre from a blend that is not in this set. About £14 per kilogramme, from the about £28.53 snapshot, makes this the dearest granules in the set by weight.

The 25 kg sack still has no NPK on the UK listing

CULTIVERS 25 kg is about £50.31, about £2 per kilogramme by division, and it is powder. The UK listing claims a high NPK and prints no numbers. The mixing field 1:1:1 is not those missing figures. According to the manufacturer, a Spanish page prints a composition and euro prices. Do not import that analysis onto the amazon.co.uk listing, and do not replace about £50.31 with a euro price. The animal is not stated. Saved texts are from Spain and France, 4.4 from 65. Smell reports disagree. Reviewers report repeat buys for fruit trees and vegetable plots. One says fine grain acts faster than coarser manure, which is a review, not a bullet. You need dry storage and a plot. Annex I lists Guano. It does not certify this sack or name a vegetable dose.

On agricultural land in England, keep manure back from water

The Farming Rules for Water bind agricultural land in England, not a patio pot. Do not apply organic manure on waterlogged, flooded, snow-covered, or recently frozen soil, under the 12-hour rule. Keep at least 10 metres from inland freshwaters, or 6 metres only with the precision kit GOV.UK lists, and 50 metres from a spring, well, or borehole. This page does not calculate a nutrient plan. How you open the pack is on how to use guano fertiliser. The label still wins over a shop table.

A patio pot is not a field

Choose the 25 kg sack when the listing’s vegetable-garden line matches a plot you can store dry, and accept that the UK file prints no numeric NPK and no animal. Do not treat Flower’s 40 m², or a tomato mention in a review, as that dose. A patio pot of tomatoes sits outside the 10 metre duty. A field that drains to a ditch does not.

Common questions

Which listing actually says vegetables?
CULTIVERS 25 kg names a vegetable garden and garden plants. CULTIVERS 1 kg names orchard and garden. VitaLink’s UK reviewers name tomatoes, chillies, and fruit; that is not the same as a vegetable bullet. COMPO and Flower sticks name palms, pond plants, or flowers.
Is 2 kg enough for a vegetable plot if the bullet says 40 m²?
Flower’s 40 m² sits next to roses, hydrangeas, phalaenopsis, and acid plants. One non-UK review says 2 kg is not much for a vegetable plot. That is not a second official area, and it is not a rate for the 25 kg sack.
Can I use palm sticks on tomatoes?
Not as a vegetable listing. COMPO names green plants, palms, ferns, and pond plants. Flower’s blister names flowers. A stick for a palm is the wrong job for a bed.
Do UK reviewers of VitaLink mention tomatoes, and is that the same as a vegetable instruction?
They mention tomatoes, chillies, and fruit on B01ARR7GVG. That is review evidence on a soil-builder tub, not a bullet that says vegetable garden and not a dose for a plot.
What NPK does the 25 kg sack declare on amazon.co.uk?
None as numbers. The UK listing claims a high NPK. The Spanish manufacturer composition is not that listing. Mixing field 1:1:1 is not an analysis.
Do the Farming Rules for Water apply to a patio pot of tomatoes?
No. Those rules bind agricultural land in England. A patio pot is outside that duty. A field, paddock, or other agricultural land is not.
How close to a stream can I spread organic manure on agricultural land in England?
Keep at least 10 metres from inland freshwaters or coastal waters, unless you meet the 6 metre precision case on the GOV.UK page, and 50 metres from a spring, well, or borehole. Do not spread on waterlogged, flooded, snow-covered, or recently frozen soil under the 12-hour rule.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are from the nine amazon.co.uk listings in the saved files. A 100% organic line names no certifier. A star count whose saved texts are not from the United Kingdom is not UK opinion. This is not a laboratory test. Do not collect droppings from a bat roost.

  1. GOV.UK, manure, guano and digestive tract content (retrieved October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, import of sea bird guano (IIN ABP/21) (retrieved October 2026)
  3. GOV.UK, fertilisers made from processed animal by-products (retrieved October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK, bats: protection and licences (retrieved October 2026)
  5. Bat Conservation Trust, managing droppings and urine (retrieved October 2026)
  6. legislation.gov.uk, Regulation (EC) No 889/2008 Annex I (retrieved October 2026)
  7. GOV.UK, rules for farmers and land managers to prevent water pollution (retrieved October 2026)
  8. RHS, fertilisers (retrieved October 2026)