Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best picket fence

Updated: October 2026

You want a short answer for a bed, a path, or a small dog, and you want to know when none of the four listings is the right buy. The best picket fence in a star table is easy to misread, because the highest rating here is a 61 cm steel bed fence, not a front boundary. The [picket fence comparison](/hub/fencing-and-wire/picket-fence) lists the four amazon.co.uk products in this set. Peter F. read the stored UK review notes behind the scores on 19 October 2026. This page says who each listing suits. It does not teach post holes, and it does not quote the planning orders.

You want a short answer for a bed, a path, or a small dog, and you want to know when none of the four listings is the right buy.

Our top picks

On this page

Best for a flower bed

JonesHouseDeco is a dark brown roll, 120 cm by 30 cm by 1.35 cm, at about £25.99, with 4.0 from 498 ratings. You tap each picket in soft ground. A hard hammer splits the wood, and the tool-free line does not match the reviews. Treatment is not stated. One reviewer saw rot after a year and pulled the roll after four. At 1.2 m it is the shortest run at the highest price. LIANTRAL is ten steel panels, 61 cm by 33 cm, a stated 3.3 m, at about £23.48, with 4.6 from 110 ratings. Powder coat clogs the threads, and firm ground bends the wires. It covers more length than the roll for less money. The roll is the timber whose size agrees with itself. Earlier checks are on the picket fence buying guide.

Best if you only need a look

BURAKH is ten black wood-effect panels, about 60 cm by 33 cm, at about £12.49, with 3.1 from 123 ratings. Lugs snap, spokes break unless the soil is very soft, and one run buckled in the wind after a day. No separate stakes are in the box. Leave it if the line has to stay straight in a breeze. AJ is about £9.99, at 4.4 from 17 ratings. The title says 40 by 99 cm. One bullet says 40 by 99 mm. One of twelve UK reviews found short nails and a pale with one nail at each end. No Use Class, and no posts. That price and those stars are why it is best value. Measure it before you plan a run.

Best for a small dog on a bed

LIANTRAL is the only listing sold as an animal barrier, and it says it may not stop bigger dogs digging. Reviews describe small dogs kept off beds, including a pug and a Jack Russell, and note that a dog could hop 61 cm. One dog bent the wires and got through in under two minutes. East Coast Fencing's gaps of about 70 mm are that supplier's panels, not a figure on LIANTRAL. A dog that pushes, digs or jumps will beat 61 cm. The 30 cm roll only stopped people letting dogs onto the plants. If the dog has to stay in the garden, none of these four is the fence. The roll's ground contact is on the wood vs plastic picket fence page.

What to buy for a front boundary

A front boundary wants posts and pales, commonly about 0.9 m beside a road, plus any gravel board. Forest Garden showed panels from about £44 to £136 before posts on 19 October 2026, which is not a price from this batch. These listings top out at 61 cm of steel, or a timber piece AJ does not settle. LIANTRAL is the top pick for about 3.3 m at 61 cm. A 0.9 m front fence is a posted panel, not a second pack from this set. If you buy through a link on this page, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. This is not a laboratory test.

Common questions

Which of these four is the best boundary fence?
None of them is a posted boundary panel. The tallest stated height is LIANTRAL at 61 cm, and that is the panel before the leg is buried. AJ's title says 40 by 99 cm and a bullet says millimetres. JonesHouseDeco is 30 cm. BURAKH is about 33 cm. A front boundary needs posts you buy as well.
Is the 4.6-star steel set the one to buy?
Buy it when you want about 3.3 m of 61 cm steel around a bed, at about £23.48, and a small dog is the animal in the story. Skip it when the dog can jump or push through, when the ground is too hard to spike, or when you wanted a timber front fence. Galvanising is not stated.
Is the wooden roll worth about £25.99 if it is only 1.2 m?
It is worth it when you want that 120 cm by 30 cm curve and you value 498 ratings over a lower unit price. It is a poor buy when you need length. LIANTRAL's stated 3.3 m costs about £23.48, so you pay less and change material. The roll states no treatment, and one review reports rot after years in the soil. A hard hammer also splits the pickets.
Should you trust 4.4 stars from 17 reviews?
Seventeen ratings can sit at 4.4 and still be a thin sample. Twelve UK reviews were read, and most are a single positive line. One review is about short nails and an upright that fell off. The price is about £9.99, which is why it is best value on price and stars. You still measure whether the panel is 99 cm or 99 mm.
When is the plastic pack at about £12.49 enough?
It is enough for a decorative bed or path edge in soft soil, where a snapped lug is annoying rather than a failed boundary. BURAKH is 3.1 from 123 ratings, and the first 50 UK reviews dwell on flimsy clips, broken spokes and a line that buckled in the wind. If the edge has to survive a windy day without extra stakes, the pack is the wrong money even though it is cheap.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings used for this comparison. Prices stored 19 October 2026.

  1. Planning Portal, fences, gates and garden walls: planning permission (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  2. Town and Country Planning (General Permitted Development) (England) Order 2015, Schedule 2 Part 2 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  3. Welsh Government, planning permission for fences, gates and garden walls (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  4. mygov.scot, building a fence or wall at your house (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  5. Planning (General Permitted Development) Order (Northern Ireland) 2015, Part 3 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  6. HM Land Registry, boundaries and boundary disputes (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  7. Wood Protection Association, buyer guide to preservative treated wood, September 2025 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
  8. Timber Development UK, fencing products (retrieved 19 October 2026)