Plug in timer socket UK: choose the type before the brand
You have a lamp that should come on at dusk, or a fan you do not want left running, and a search for a plug in timer socket UK returns white dials from £4.25 and digital pairs nearer £19. The wall socket looks the same for all of them, which is why people buy on price and then find the timer cannot do a different day, or was never meant for a cylinder. This page is the decision before a model name. It is from the Products Compared editorial team on 21 October 2026, using the eleven amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison. It is not a lab test. The rows are on the [Timer switch comparison](/hub/electrical-equipment/timer-switch).
You have a lamp that should come on at dusk, or a fan you do not want left running, and a search for a plug in timer socket UK returns white dials from £4.25 and digital pairs nearer £19.
You have a lamp that should come on at dusk, or a fan you do not want left running, and a search for a plug in timer socket UK returns white dials from £4.25 and digital pairs nearer £19. The wall socket looks the same for all of them, which is why people buy on price and then find the timer cannot do a different day, or was never meant for a cylinder. This page is the decision before a model name. It is from the Products Compared editorial team on 21 October 2026, using the eleven amazon.co.uk listings in this comparison. It is not a lab test. The rows are on the Timer switch comparison.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Type | Interval | Stated load | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Status Status IONOS 24 Hour Plug-in Timer Switch | Mechanical plug-in | 15 minutes | Not stated | 9.0 | about £4.95 | View offer |
Defender Defender 24 Hour Segment Timer Plug Socket | Mechanical plug-in | 15 minutes | Up to 3200 W claimed | 8.8 | about £7.95 | View offer | |
NOVKIT NOVKIT Digital Security Timer Plug Socket, 2 pack | Digital plug-in | Not stated | 230 V, 13 A, 2900 W claimed | 8.6 | about £18.74 | View offer |
On this page
What you are actually plugging in
The number on the timer
Daily dial or a week of programmes
What the cheap listings do not state
Where to go next
Common questions
Will any UK three-pin timer run a fan heater?
Is 3120 W the same as 13 A all day?
Do I need a digital timer for a lamp that repeats every day?
Can I use it outdoors if the listing says security?
When does this stop being a plug-in job?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources are listed below. Shelf prices and star lines are the figures on the saved amazon.co.uk listings.
- Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved October 2026)
- GOV.UK consumer product safety (retrieved October 2026)
- Electrical Safety First, plugs and fuses (retrieved October 2026)
- Electrical Safety First, buying electrical goods online (retrieved October 2026)
- Approved Document P (England, 2013 PDF) (retrieved October 2026)
- BSI, BS EN IEC 60730-2-7:2020 (retrieved October 2026)
- Timeguard NTT01 instructions (retrieved October 2026)
- HSE electrical equipment user checks (retrieved October 2026)


