Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best Ryobi cordless drill in this set

Updated: 2026-10-23

You want one Ryobi drill from these five amazon.co.uk listings, not a general course on drills. The best Ryobi cordless drill in this folder is a different ASIN depending on whether you already own ONE+ packs. On the saved captures the two-pack kit is £97.80, the percussion body is £55, and the brushless body is £89.99. This page, dated 22 October 2026, attaches a person to each row and says who should leave it. It is not a lab test, and a qualifying Amazon purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. The table without a single winner is the [Ryobi cordless drill comparison](/hub/drilling-and-accessories/ryobi-cordless-drill).

You want one Ryobi drill from these five amazon.co.uk listings, not a general course on drills. The best Ryobi cordless drill in this folder is a different ASIN depending on whether you already own ONE+ packs.

Our top picks

On this page

The kit most people are looking at

The R18PD3-215GZ is the listing with the large review file. Saved price £97.80, two 1.5 Ah ONE+ batteries, a charger and a double-ended bit. Across 7,197 amazon.co.uk ratings it is 4.7. A later view of the same ASIN showed £78.99 and 7,204 ratings. Treat that as a price movement, not a second tool. Those 1.5 Ah packs run out on longer jobs, there is no case, and a battery that failed on arrival or died after about four months is in the file. That is not a failure rate. Brushless is not stated, and listed torque is 50 Nm. This is the top pick when you own no ONE+ pack and the wall might be brick. It is the wrong spend when you already have packs. How long 1.5 Ah lasts is the Ryobi ONE+ battery for a drill page.

If you already own ONE+ packs

The R18PD3-0 at £55 is the percussion body. It is 4.6 from 1,560 reviews. UK buyers in the file mostly already owned ONE+ packs, and several used the hammer with a separate 4 Ah pack for ordinary house jobs. The title says percussion. The drill-type cell says Basic Drill, and the bullets do not print the word hammer. Buy the title's claim. Ryobi's own page for this bare tool showed £82.99, so the Amazon £55 is the saved shelf price, not the maker's ticket. The chuck can let go of a bit in speed 2 when the trigger is released. One UK review describes smoke on the third use while drilling in soil. That is one report. This is the best value when the packs and a charger are already yours and brick is possible. The R18DD3-0 at £54 is a drill driver. The title does not state a hammer mode. It is the body for screws and flat-pack, not for plugs in brick.

The only brushless listing

The RPD18BL2-0 at £89.99 is the only row that states brushless. The listing prints 95 Nm and 2,100 rpm, and the title excludes the battery and the charger. Across 211 reviews it is 4.7. Those texts describe a chuck that grips, and spade bits that run more easily than on an older brushed Ryobi. One comment about percussion on concrete is not a trial that replaces an SDS+. The same file records stalls under load, a whine one reviewer would not live with, and a chuck trim that rattled after about a month. The Amazon wood cell prints 13 mm. Retailers for this model print about 54 mm. Do not treat 211 reviews as the same evidence as 7,197. Choose this body when brushless is stated and you already own a ONE+ pack.

The 1.3 Ah kit

The R18PD3-113G at £84.99 is a combi with one 1.3 Ah battery in the title, listed at 50 Nm. It is 4.7 from 183 reviews. The 1.3 Ah pack is called light for hard work. A ratchet failed after about eight months in one report, and a battery would not charge after light use in another. The bullets include a battery and a charger. The included-components cell says only drill, so the carton disagrees with itself. It is not the same 4.7 as the kit with thousands of ratings. Brushless is not stated. The two-pack kit remains the top pick for a first combi. The £55 percussion body remains the best value once the packs are already on the shelf.

Common questions

Which Ryobi drill should I buy first?
If you own no ONE+ pack, the R18PD3-215GZ kit is the first combi in this set, because two 1.5 Ah batteries and a charger are in the description. Expect those packs to be short on a long job. If you already own packs, start from the £55 percussion body or the brushless body, not from another kit.
Is the brushless body the best because it says 95 Nm?
No. 95 Nm is the figure printed on the RPD18BL2-0, and brushless is stated only there. The review file is 211 ratings, with stall and whine comments. It is the row to buy when you want that motor claim and you already have a pack. It is not a tested winner over the kit.
Is the £55 percussion body good enough?
For ordinary house jobs, the UK texts say yes, especially with a larger pack than the kits include. You need to own a ONE+ battery and charger already. Read the Basic Drill cell as a conflict with the percussion title, not as proof there is no hammer. One smoke report while drilling soil is one report.
Should I skip the drill driver?
Skip the R18DD3-0 when the wall is brick. The title does not state a hammer mode. Keep it when the work is screws, flat-pack and timber and you already own a pack. At £54 it is the lowest saved price, and it is still the wrong tool for plugs.
Is 4.7 from 183 reviews the same evidence as 4.7 from 7,197?
No. Both lines are 4.7 on amazon.co.uk, and the counts are not interchangeable. The R18PD3-113G has 183 reviews and 27 UK texts in the file. The R18PD3-215GZ has 7,197 ratings. Use the larger file when you are judging how often a complaint repeats, and still read the 1.3 Ah carton on its own contents clash.

Related pages

Sources

Public sources listed in the research digest, plus the amazon.co.uk listings stored for this comparison. Page updated 22 October 2026.

  1. Ryobi UK, R18PD3-0 combi drill (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. Ryobi UK, how to choose batteries and chargers (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. Ryobi UK, does the charger matter (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. Ryobi UK, product registration and warranty (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. Ryobi UK, different types of drills (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. R18PD3 instructions (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. GOV.UK, Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. HSE, hand-arm vibration regulations (retrieved 22 October 2026)