Makita drill buying guide
You have a Makita drill in an amazon.co.uk basket, the title says 18 V, and the price looks like the end of the decision. It is not. That voltage covers more than one battery slot, and a low sticker can be a body with nothing that will turn the chuck tonight. Use this order before you pay: which family the listing names, what the included line lists, whether hammer mode is stated, and only then the price. The [Makita drill comparison](/hub/drilling-and-accessories/makita-drill) is the four-row table. This page does not rank those rows. There is no lab test, and a qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
You have a Makita drill in an amazon.co.uk basket, the title says 18 V, and the price looks like the end of the decision. It is not.
You have a Makita drill in an amazon.co.uk basket, the title says 18 V, and the price looks like the end of the decision. It is not. That voltage covers more than one battery slot, and a low sticker can be a body with nothing that will turn the chuck tonight. Use this order before you pay: which family the listing names, what the included line lists, whether hammer mode is stated, and only then the price. The Makita drill comparison is the four-row table. This page does not rank those rows. There is no lab test, and a qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Battery family | Named in the box | Hammer drilling | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Makita DHP487Z brushless body | 18 V LXT | Body and one bit | Yes, 13 mm masonry | 9.4 | about £86 | View offer |
| Best value | Makita DK18015X2 twin pack | BL1813G | Packs and a DC18WA | Yes, diameter not stated | 9.4 | about £182.50 | View offer |
| Alternative | Makita DHP482 with 100-piece set | 18 V LXT | 100-piece bit set | Not stated | 8.8 | about £97 | View offer |
On this page
What 18 V Makita does not tell you
Body only, bit set, or a named kit
Cells that disagree with the bullets
A check order before you pay
Common questions
Is a drill sold for Makita 18 V batteries a Makita drill?
What does the Z on DHP487Z mean?
Does a 100-piece bit set replace a battery?
Why does the DHP482 wood cell say 13 mm?
Which of these four names a charger?
Are the twin packs a way to start an LXT set?
Related pages
Sources
Sources for this comparison, last checked on 22 October 2026.
- Makita UK DHP487 product page (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- Makita UK DHP482 technical PDF (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- Makita UK warranty (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- Part Shop Direct BL1813G battery (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- Control of Vibration at Work Regulations 2005, regulation 4 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- HSE vibration in construction (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- HSE noise for employers (retrieved 22 October 2026)
- HSE CIS36, control of silica dust (retrieved 22 October 2026)


