Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best cordless drill driver

Updated: 2026-10-23

You want one name, and a UK hallway rarely has only one job. Flat-pack chipboard, a plug in ordinary brick, and a cupboard of blue Bosch packs are three different purchases. This page applies the ten amazon.co.uk listings in the [cordless drill driver comparison](/hub/drilling-and-accessories/cordless-drill-driver) to those jobs. It was prepared from those listings and the UK review notes in this file, not from a lab, on 20 October 2026. Prices are the GBP shelf figures in the comparison. By the end you should know the top pick when brick is possible, the best value when it is not, and which boxes to leave. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You want one name, and a UK hallway rarely has only one job. Flat-pack chipboard, a plug in ordinary brick, and a cupboard of blue Bosch packs are three different purchases.

Our top picks

On this page

A first drill that can meet brick

If the house has brick or block and you do not already own a battery platform, the first tool is a combi with hammer mode stated and a battery in the box. In this set that is the Bosch EasyImpact pair. The top pick is the EasyImpact 18V-40 at £64.97, with 4.7 from 631 reviews. The bullets include impact drilling in masonry, a 13 mm chuck and 40 Nm, plus one 1.5 Ah battery, a charger and a case. A table line says CR2032, which does not match that pack, so ignore the cell line. It is a plug-hole combi, not a rotary hammer. The 18V-38 at £76.50 has a 10 mm chuck, 38 Nm and a 2.5 Ah battery. How far either should go into brick is the cordless drill for brick page.

Best value when the wall is not brick

If the work is flat-pack and timber, you do not need a hammer you will never click. The best value here is the BLACK+DECKER BCD001C1-GB at £35.00, with 4.6 from 1,972 reviews: 37 Nm, a 10 mm chuck, ten clutch positions, one speed at 600 rpm, and a charger listed at about 3.75 hours. Hammer mode is not stated. A UK reviewer says not to try masonry or steel. The Terratek TD18 at £26.99, with 4.3 from 16,144 reviews, is 18 Nm and the listing says it is not for brick. UK reviews say the included bits are cheap. The BETENST at £25.99 claims 45 Nm, but hammer is not stated, and a UK reviewer could not screw a 2x4 and returned it.

If you already own the batteries

A bare tool is a saving only when the pack in the cupboard clicks on. The Bosch Professional body at £48.95, 4.6 from 141 reviews, is a cardboard box, 45 Nm, a 10 mm chuck and a stated impact function. One buyer returned it because green Home and Garden packs did not fit. The name on the listing is Professional 18 V and AMPShare. Skip it if you need a battery today. The GSB 18V-65 with an L-BOXX at £84.99 is the tool and the case, and it prints both 55 Nm and 65 Nm. The £199.98 kit adds two 5.0 Ah batteries and a 13 mm chuck, with 5.0 from three reviews. Price and three reviews do not make it the best drill in the set.

The two-tool kit, and what not to crown

The Stanley FATMAX V20 kit at £140.00 is two tools: a hammer drill at 50 Nm and an impact driver at 165 Nm, with two 2.0 Ah batteries, and 3.9 from nine reviews. One UK reviewer says the tool received was brushed. Do not read 165 Nm as the drill. How the mechanisms differ is the impact driver versus drill page. The WORX WX183.2 at £119.99, 4.9 from 18 reviews, does not state hammer mode or torque, and two bullets describe a hedge trimmer. Chuck and clutch are in the cordless drill driver buying guide.

Common questions

Which drill in this set is the top pick for a first home with brick?
The EasyImpact 18V-40, at £64.97. Hammer mode is stated, the chuck is 13 mm, and the box includes a 1.5 Ah battery and a charger. The star line is 4.7 from 631 reviews. It is a light combi for ordinary plug holes, not a rotary hammer, and the 1.5 Ah pack is short if you drill all afternoon.
Which is the best value if I will never drill brick?
The BLACK+DECKER BCD001 at £35.00, with a battery and charger, 37 Nm and 4.6 from 1,972 reviews. Hammer mode is not stated, so leave brick alone. The charger is listed at about 3.75 hours, which matters if you have only one pack.
Which listing is for someone who already owns blue Bosch batteries?
The Bosch Professional body at £48.95, if the packs are Professional 18 V or AMPShare. It is a cardboard box and a drill, at 45 Nm and a 10 mm chuck. Green POWER FOR ALL packs did not fit for one UK buyer. The GSB body at £84.99 is the other bare Professional tool, with an L-BOXX and two printed torque figures.
Is the £199.98 GSB kit the best because it costs the most?
No. It includes two 5.0 Ah batteries, a charger, an L-BOXX and a 13 mm chuck, which is a complete Professional kit. The star line is 5.0 from three reviews, and the page prints both 55 Nm and 65 Nm. Buy it for the packs, not because the price or the tiny review file makes it the best drill here.
Is the Stanley kit two tools or one drill?
Two tools. The hammer-drill bullet is 50 Nm. The 165 Nm line is the impact driver. You also get two 2.0 Ah V20 batteries, a charger and a bag, at £140.00, with 3.9 from nine reviews. One UK review disputes the brushless claim. Do not read the kit as a single 165 Nm drill.
Can I call the Terratek a combi because the rank says combi drills?
No. A best-seller rank is Amazon’s category, not a mode on the collar. The Terratek listing says the drill is not designed for brick or masonry. It is 18 Nm, one speed and a 10 mm chuck at £26.99. Use it for light timber and screws. Buy a stated combi if the wall is brick.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources from the research digest. Shelf prices and star lines are the amazon.co.uk figures in the display file.

  1. Toolstation drill buying guide (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  2. Homebuilding: types of drill (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  3. UK Tool Store: how to choose a cordless drill (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  4. Gtech: how to choose a cordless drill (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  5. GOV.UK: Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  6. BSI: BS EN 62841-2-1:2018+A12:2022 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  7. HSE: Control of Vibration at Work Regulations 2005 (retrieved 22 October 2026)
  8. HSE: indicative vibration magnitudes (retrieved 22 October 2026)