Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best locking window handle: the listing that matches the bar

Updated: October 2026

The lever has snapped, you already know it is an inline espag, and you want a locking replacement from this amazon.co.uk set. The best locking window handle here is the listing that matches a measured spindle, or a kit if you have not measured. The Products Compared editorial team compared twelve white inline listings on 15 October 2026, from about £4.99 to about £24.80. There was no lab test. None of these listings is PAS 24 or Secured by Design. Stars and review counts for the full set are in the [window handle comparison](/hub/door-and-window-security/window-handle).

The lever has snapped, you already know it is an inline espag, and you want a locking replacement from this amazon.co.uk set.

Our top picks

On this page

Who this comparison is for

This page is for a UK casement you have already identified as an inline espagnolette. The lever turns a square spindle. A hooked nose is a different lock, and a handle from this set will not drive it. Tilt-and-turn, sash fasteners and restrictors were not in the twelve listings. The first split is whether you have measured the bar. A complete old spindle, plus the gap between the screws, decides a stated length. A snapped lever with nothing to copy is a kit. If espag and cockspur are still mixed, use the window handle buying guide.

One window, length not measured

For one window, with the spindle unknown, Home Secure is the top pick. It is about £7.99, 4.5 from 2,213 ratings, for most uPVC and aluminium espag windows, not every type. Lengths are not numbered. The bullets do not describe the lock, reviews mention one key with no keyring hole, and the screws are often the wrong length. One UK review said it did not fit. ERA states five spindles at about £6.81, 4.6 from 773 ratings, with a key, cut-to-size screws and 43 mm centres, for uPVC and timber. Aluminium is not named. The unit count says 3, which is not a three-pack.

A known 40 mm or 43 mm bar

When you have measured about 43 mm of spindle and about 43 mm between the screws, WODSTA is the best value in this set. Two handles are about £9.99, about £5.00 each, 4.2 from 1,185 ratings, for uPVC and aluminium, not timber. Reviewers still cut a square bar, and screw caps come loose. Centre, projection and depth are all written as 43 mm, so only the centre field is the screw gap. mwellewm states a 43 mm spindle at 7×7 mm and does not state centres. For one PVCu window, Yale YWHLCK40N-WH is about £6.56, with a 40 mm bullet. Reviews say the bar is sawn, and the plastic lock can leave the window shut. Amazon's centre field says 40 mm and Toolstation says 43 mm. Leave that clash unresolved. Which bar to order is on multi-spindle or fixed window handles.

What not to treat as the winner

Bulivora at about £5.99, 4.7 from 13 ratings, states no spindle length. That star line is not the top pick. Fizzix at about £5.79 sits at 3.8 from 145 ratings, with levers that snap. Blunesta at about £4.99 does not name a lock, and five of ten UK texts report breakage. Lyntrioris at about £4.99 has 3.6 from nine ratings and does not name a lock. PAS 24 tests a complete window or doorset, not one of these levers. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Common questions

What is the best locking window handle in this set?
There is no single best locking window handle for every sash. Home Secure is the top pick for one espag window when you have not measured the spindle: about £7.99, 4.5 from 2,213 ratings. WODSTA is the best value when you have measured about 43 mm of spindle and 43 mm centres: two handles at about £9.99. A 4.7 from 13 ratings does not overrule either condition.
Which handle is for one window when I have not measured the spindle?
Home Secure is the high-volume single, with several lengths in the reviews and no millimetre list on the listing. ERA states five spindles and 43 mm centres at about £6.81, for uPVC and timber. Shield adds five screw sets at about £6.99 and does not state centres. If the old bar is still intact, measure it before you choose between them.
Which listing states a 43 mm spindle and 43 mm centres?
WODSTA states both as 43 mm, on a pair at about £9.99 for uPVC and aluminium. mwellewm states a 43 mm, 7×7 mm spindle and does not state centres. ERA states 43 mm centres and five spindles, not a single 43 mm bar. Yale's Amazon centre field on the single is 40 mm, which clashes with 43 mm on Toolstation, so those two numbers stay unresolved.
Is the Yale single better than Home Secure because it is Yale?
The Yale single names model YWHLCK40N-WH and a 40 mm bullet, at about £6.56 with 4.1 from 1,695 ratings. Home Secure has the larger sample and a multi-spindle title, at about £7.99 with 4.5 from 2,213 ratings, and does not number the lengths. Yale is the clearer buy when you already want that 40 mm bar.
When is the ten-pack the right buy?
The GB DIY Store ten-pack suits several matching white uPVC windows after you have fitted one. It was about £24.80 on 15 October 2026, 4.6 from 967 ratings, with 40 mm only in the title. Open the rest only after that first spindle and the screws have worked.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources used for this comparison. Listing prices, stars, and review counts are from amazon.co.uk on 15 October 2026.

  1. GOV.UK — Approved Document Q, security in dwellings (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  2. BSI — PAS 24:2022+A1:2024 (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  3. Secured by Design — windows (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK — Approved Document B, fire safety, dwellings (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  5. RoSPA — falls (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  6. HSE — falls from windows (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  7. Handlestore — how to measure uPVC window handles (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  8. ERA — window handles (retrieved 15 October 2026)
  9. amazon.co.uk listings for these twelve handles, 15 October 2026 (retrieved 15 October 2026)