Fire door peephole
A flat entrance door sold as FD30 or FD60 is not a house door you can finish with any spy hole from the shelf. A fire door peephole is allowed only when that viewer is inside the doorset’s evidence and fitted the way that evidence describes. A title that says fire proof does not do that job. This page is the stop-or-go check before anyone drills. The twelve listings are on the [door viewer comparison](/hub/door-and-window-security/door-viewer). Peter F. used GOV.UK, a named doorset manual, and the amazon.co.uk files saved on 19 October 2026. This is not a lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
A flat entrance door sold as FD30 or FD60 is not a house door you can finish with any spy hole from the shelf.
A flat entrance door sold as FD30 or FD60 is not a house door you can finish with any spy hole from the shelf. A fire door peephole is allowed only when that viewer is inside the doorset’s evidence and fitted the way that evidence describes. A title that says fire proof does not do that job. This page is the stop-or-go check before anyone drills. The twelve listings are on the door viewer comparison. Peter F. used GOV.UK, a named doorset manual, and the amazon.co.uk files saved on 19 October 2026. This is not a lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Fire claim | Barrel | Door thickness | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Amig Amig 10013G door viewer | Not stated | 14 mm | 35–60 mm | 9.2 | about £8.50 | View offer |
Bwintech Bwintech UL listed door viewer | UL listed title, not FD30 | 12 mm | 35–60 mm | 8.6 | about £6.99 | View offer | |
| Best value | Desenda Desenda door viewer | Not stated | 14 mm stated | 35–50 mm | 8.6 | about £4.29 | View offer |
On this page
The doorset is the approval, not the peephole title
TS 002, intumescent, and a named test
What to ask before you drill
A camera hole is still an alteration
Common questions
Can I drill a fire door for a peephole?
Does UL listed on Amazon mean FD30?
What is DHF TS 002?
Does the viewer need an intumescent liner?
Who confirms the viewer is allowed?
What should a leaseholder ask the managing agent?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources for the rules and the DP2C specification, last checked on 19 October 2026. Shelf prices, stars, and review counts are from the amazon.co.uk listings in this category on that date.
- GOV.UK: domestic CCTV (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- ICO: home CCTV systems (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- NBS: DHF TS 002:2009 Door viewers (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Secured by Design: UAP door viewers (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Falcon: dual-scope fire door manual (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- GOV.UK: Approved Document B fire safety FAQ (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Rutland: door viewer (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- EZVIZ UK: DP2C (retrieved 19 October 2026)


