Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

BS 3621 door lock insurance: what the schedule asks

Updated: October 2026

BS 3621 door lock insurance is a contract question. No UK statute names one product for every home. The schedule applies to you, and a fitted lock that stays unused can still sit outside it. None of the four listings in the [door lock comparison](/hub/door-and-window-security/door-lock) states BS 3621 or TS007. The Yale 77 is the top pick and the lowest price, so there is no separate best-value badge. Standard security is not an insurance approval. Peter F. checked the listings and UK sources in October 2026, with no lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

BS 3621 door lock insurance is a contract question. No UK statute names one product for every home. The schedule applies to you, and a fitted lock that stays unused can still sit outside it.

Our top picks

Yale Yale 77 nightlatch

Best overall

Yale Yale 77 nightlatch
9.2/10about £11.64
On this page

What the schedule is asking for

The AA treats BS 3621 as the usual minimum many policies expect on a final exit, and warns that missing it can leave a theft claim unsuccessful. AXA's LC01 asks for a BS 3621 lock or a key-operated multipoint of at least three points. Saga, above £75,000 of contents, asks about a five-lever mortice, a rim automatic deadlock, or a multipoint of three or more. MoneySuperMarket says multipoints generally need five points. ProtectUK cites BS 3621:2017 where a key deadlock is required, often with a Kitemark. A familiar brand does not supply the mark if the faceplate has none.

Fitted is not the same as used

In DRN-5526434 the Financial Ombudsman looked at a 2024 theft claim that Covea declined. A nightlatch was on. A key-operated mortice beside it was not. The ombudsman upheld the insurer. Fire-brigade advice did not override the endorsement. Use at the time of the theft was the test. AXA's LC01 says the required locks are in use at night. An escape-route exception applies only if your policy prints it. You snib the nightlatch and leave the mortice key on the hall table. If the endorsement requires the mortice, that habit is the breach. The nightlatch or mortice page is why those two locks are not substitutes.
Yale Yale 77 nightlatch

Testsieger

Yale Yale 77 nightlatch
9.2/10about £11.64

Where the four amazon listings sit

None of the four listings states BS 3621 or TS007. That limits what you can tell an insurer. The Yale 77 at about £11.64 is standard security: a rim cylinder, a spring latch and a snib. This set does not contain Yale's BS 3621 nightlatch. The QWORK at about £11.99 and the ANNFUZ at about £50 name no security mark. The Nuki at about £309 turns a euro cylinder. The amazon.co.uk capture does not state TS007. Nuki's site names SKG, EN 1303 and DIN 18252, which are not the words BS 3621.

Flats and smart locks

ProtectUK points flat entrance doors to BS 8621:2017, the thumbturn, so you can leave without a key, and still cites BS 3621:2017 where a key deadlock is required. Saga points smart locks back to a mortice and to BS 8621 or BS 10621. A motor meets TS007 or BS 3621 only when the lock underneath already does. A BS 3621 mortice, or a multipoint the schedule names, sits outside this basket.

Common questions

Do all UK insurers require a BS 3621 door lock?
No. There is no single UK law that sets one lock for every home policy. The AA describes BS 3621 as what many policies expect, and it warns that a miss can mean a theft claim fails. AXA’s LC01 offers BS 3621 or a key-operated multipoint of at least three points. Saga, above £75,000 of contents, includes a five-lever mortice, a rim automatic deadlock, or a multipoint of three or more. Your schedule is the list that applies to you.
What if the lock was fitted but not locked?
Fitted was not the test in the Covea case. The nightlatch was on and the key-operated mortice was not engaged at night. The insurer declined the 2024 theft claim and the ombudsman upheld that decision, DRN-5526434. Fire-safety advice the customer relied on did not replace the endorsement. AXA’s LC01 says the required locks are used at night, with a written exception that keys may stay in an escape route. If your wording lacks that exception, an open mortice is a risk to the claim.
Is a standard Yale 77 enough for home insurance?
Not on the listing. The Yale 77 in this comparison is standard security, at about £11.64, and it does not state BS 3621. It is the top pick for a like-for-like 60 mm nightlatch, and it is also the lowest price, which is why there is no separate best-value badge. It can still be a second lock for the same hole. If the schedule names BS 3621, this model does not show that mark.
What do uPVC doors need instead of a mortice?
Often a key-operated multipoint, and the number of points is where published advice splits. AXA’s LC01 says at least three points. MoneySuperMarket has said multipoint locks generally need five. Some schedules accept the multipoint in place of a BS 3621 mortice. Some still want a TS007 cylinder in that strip. The Nuki box includes a cylinder, and that amazon listing does not state TS007.
Does a Nuki smart lock change my cover?
The amazon.co.uk listing, at about £309, does not state TS007 or BS 3621. Nuki’s site names SKG, EN 1303 and DIN 18252, which are not a UK schedule clause by themselves. Saga points smart-lock questions back toward a mortice and toward BS 8621 or BS 10621. Whether you must tell the insurer is a question for the schedule. A motor keeps whatever standard the cylinder already had.
What should a flat use if I need to leave without a key?
ProtectUK points to BS 8621:2017 for flat entrance doors, the thumbturn version, so the inside does not depend on finding a key. BS 3621:2017 remains the reference where a key deadlock is what the wording asks for. Glass next to a thumbturn is called out separately, with BS EN 356. Your block’s fire rules and your schedule both apply. This shortlist does not include a BS 8621 mortice.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK and manufacturer sources from the research digest, used for this page in October 2026. Prices, stars and review counts are the amazon.co.uk figures in this comparison. None of the four locks is treated as BS 3621, TS007 or Sold Secure.

  1. AA Insurance: door locks (retrieved October 2026)
  2. AXA LC01 locks requirement (retrieved October 2026)
  3. police.uk: door and window lock advice (retrieved October 2026)
  4. ProtectUK: security at home (retrieved October 2026)
  5. West Yorkshire Police: burglary advice (retrieved October 2026)
  6. Allianz: house locks (retrieved October 2026)
  7. Financial Ombudsman DRN-5526434 (retrieved October 2026)
  8. Yale BS1 nightlatch (retrieved October 2026)
  9. Master Locksmiths Association (retrieved October 2026)
  10. Nightlatch measuring guide (retrieved October 2026)