Inflatable hot tub running costs
The heater is 2,000 W, so it is tempting to multiply by 24 hours and call that about £12 a day. That sum is wrong. Inflatable hot tub running costs depend on how long the heater actually fires, how well the cover holds heat, the tariff on your bill, and the season. Shelf prices sit on the [inflatable hot tub comparison](/hub/swimming-pools/inflatable-hot-tub). Products Compared did not meter a tub. Figures below are quoted from the brand that published them, or marked as a rule of thumb. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
The heater is 2,000 W, so it is tempting to multiply by 24 hours and call that about £12 a day. That sum is wrong.
The heater is 2,000 W, so it is tempting to multiply by 24 hours and call that about £12 a day. That sum is wrong. Inflatable hot tub running costs depend on how long the heater actually fires, how well the cover holds heat, the tariff on your bill, and the season. Shelf prices sit on the inflatable hot tub comparison. Products Compared did not meter a tub. Figures below are quoted from the brand that published them, or marked as a rule of thumb. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Mains stated | Shut-off or freeze | Cover | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Lay-Z-Spa Lay-Z-Spa Aruba AirJet | Not stated (attribute says battery; bullets describe a heater) | Freeze Shield claimed | Yes | 8.6 | about £394.74 | View offer |
| Alternative | EASE.ZONE EASE.ZONE 4–6 person spa | 220–240 V | Not stated | Yes | 6.1 | about £667.92 | View offer |
| Preis-Tipp | MSpa MSpa Tekapo 6P | 230 V AC | Not stated | Not stated | 6.4 | about £399 | View offer |
On this page
Why wattage times 24 is wrong
What Lay-Z-Spa publishes
What you cannot say about the other listings
Cover, season, and Freeze Shield
Common questions
How much does an inflatable hot tub cost to run in the UK?
Does the heater stay on all day?
How much is the first heat from cold?
Does a thermal cover change the bill?
Is Freeze Shield the same as keeping it at 40°C?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources for electrical safety, temperature, planning and the Lay-Z-Spa mains and cost figures. Listings are the amazon.co.uk captures for these eight ASINs, not a live reload on 17 October 2026. Prices on amazon.co.uk move.
- GOV.UK product recall: Go Plus inflatable spa, 20 August 2021 (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- HSE: electrically powered equipment (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- IET Wiring Matters: hot tubs, July 2021 (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Planning Portal: hot tub in a garden (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- BISHTA hot tub owner's handbook (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- RLSS UK: splash safely around hot tubs (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Lay-Z-Spa UK FAQ (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Lay-Z-Spa running costs (retrieved 17 October 2026)
- Clearwater: hot tub chemicals guide (retrieved 17 October 2026)


