2m garden parasol: size, mechanism and the missing base
You are standing over a bistro table on a UK patio, or two chairs on a balcony, and the listing in front of you says 2 m. That figure is the canopy, not the height of the pole, and it only works when people sit close together. A 2m garden parasol shades a bistro set or a pair of chairs. It does not shade a four-seat dining table once the sun moves off vertical. Prices in the [200 cm parasol comparison](/hub/sun-shades/200cm-parasol) run from £18.68 to £49.99, and most of those pages do not include a patio base. Listings were captured on 19 October 2026. This is not a lab test.
You are standing over a bistro table on a UK patio, or two chairs on a balcony, and the listing in front of you says 2 m.
You are standing over a bistro table on a UK patio, or two chairs on a balcony, and the listing in front of you says 2 m. That figure is the canopy, not the height of the pole, and it only works when people sit close together. A 2m garden parasol shades a bistro set or a pair of chairs. It does not shade a four-seat dining table once the sun moves off vertical. Prices in the 200 cm parasol comparison run from £18.68 to £49.99, and most of those pages do not include a patio base. Listings were captured on 19 October 2026. This is not a lab test.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Stated size | Opening | How it stands | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | VOUNOT VOUNOT 2 m tilt with ground anchor | Title 2 m; table 410 cm | Manual lift | Spiral ground anchor | 6.4 | about £23.99 | View offer |
Cressi Cressi Sunshell Ø 200 cm | Ø 200 cm | Manual lift | Not stated | 8.4 | about £49.99 | View offer | |
| Preis-Tipp | VOUNOT VOUNOT 200 x 125 cm balcony parasol | 200 x 125 cm | Bendable (spec line) | Cover only, base not stated | 8.0 | about £33.36 | View offer |
On this page
What a 2 m canopy actually shades
Crank, tilt and a vent
The base is a second item
How to read a UV line
What to check on the listing
Common questions
Is 200 cm enough for four people at a table?
Does a 2 m parasol include a base?
What does UV 50+ on the title mean?
Which listings do not state a diameter?
Can a beach spike stand on decking?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings compared on this page. Listings captured 19 October 2026. Updated 22.10.2026.
- NHS: sunscreen and sun safety (retrieved 22.10.2026)
- GOV.UK: ultraviolet radiation FAQ (retrieved 22.10.2026)
- GOV.UK: General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
- Plot & Patio: parasol size, base and UV (retrieved 22.10.2026)
- Plia: choosing a parasol base (retrieved 22.10.2026)
- Umbrella Heaven: 2 m garden parasol (retrieved 22.10.2026)
- Country Living: garden parasols and bases (retrieved 22.10.2026)
- Christow 2 m tilting parasol on amazon.co.uk (retrieved 22.10.2026)


