Sauna light IP rating for a UK cabin
You have a shade that says moisture proof, a specialist title that prints IP54, and a review that treats IP65 as the only mark worth buying. The sauna light IP rating that UK explainers of BS 7671 Section 703 start from is IPX4, rising to IPX5 if the cabin is cleaned with a hose. When the lamp sits in zone 3, that splash mark still has to sit beside equipment rated for 125 °C. This page follows those public explainers and Approved Document P. We did not heat-test a lamp. Named rows and GBP prices stay on the [sauna lamp comparison](/hub/steam-baths/sauna-lamp), where a qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.
You have a shade that says moisture proof, a specialist title that prints IP54, and a review that treats IP65 as the only mark worth buying.
You have a shade that says moisture proof, a specialist title that prints IP54, and a review that treats IP65 as the only mark worth buying. The sauna light IP rating that UK explainers of BS 7671 Section 703 start from is IPX4, rising to IPX5 if the cabin is cleaned with a hose. When the lamp sits in zone 3, that splash mark still has to sit beside equipment rated for 125 °C. This page follows those public explainers and Approved Document P. We did not heat-test a lamp. Named rows and GBP prices stay on the sauna lamp comparison, where a qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Water claim | Temperature class | Bulb fitting | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | EVTSCAN EVTSCAN sauna light | Fog-proof; no IP code | Not stated | E27 incandescent | 7.9 | about £22.99 | View offer |
| Alternative | Mumusuki Mumusuki oval plastic shade | Anti-fog, moisture-proof; no IP code | Not stated | E27 | 7.5 | about £22.43 | View offer |
| Alternative | BESPORTBLE BESPORTBLE zinc and glass lamp | Water resistant; no IP code | Not stated | E27 | 3.9 | about £18.89 | View offer |
On this page
IPX4 is the splash minimum
IP54 meets the splash digit and stops there
Zone 3 adds 125 °C
Part P is a separate question
Common questions
What IP rating does a sauna light need?
Is IP54 enough to meet IPX4?
Does an IP65 sauna light prove 125 °C?
Where is sauna zone 3?
What does Part P add for a sauna in England and Wales?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listing files named below, checked for this comparison on 19 October 2026. Page updated October 2026.
- Installer Online, electrical requirements for sauna cabins (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Elec-Mate, sauna electrical installation (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Approved Document P (2013 PDF) (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- legislation.gov.uk, SI 2012/3119 (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- IET, Part P frequently asked questions (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- SaunaShop, high-temperature cables for lights (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Saunainter, EOS oval sauna lamp (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- amazon.co.uk listings for the ten ASINs, snapshot 19 October 2026 (retrieved 19 October 2026)


