Sauna hourglass buying guide
You have a home cabin and you are about to spend about £8 to £20 on a wall sand timer, while amazon.co.uk mixes cabin glasses with kitchen timers and accuracy slogans. This sauna hourglass buying guide is the checklist before you pay. The [Sauna hourglass](/hub/steam-baths/sauna-hourglass) comparison holds the listing table and the scores. Accept a 15-minute run, screws, and printed marks. Refuse a kitchen glass, adhesive-only fixing, and a printed tolerance treated as a certificate. The Products Compared editorial team used amazon.co.uk listings from 20 October 2026 and did not time the sand in a lab. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.
You have a home cabin and you are about to spend about £8 to £20 on a wall sand timer, while amazon.co.uk mixes cabin glasses with kitchen timers and accuracy slogans.
You have a home cabin and you are about to spend about £8 to £20 on a wall sand timer, while amazon.co.uk mixes cabin glasses with kitchen timers and accuracy slogans. This sauna hourglass buying guide is the checklist before you pay. The Sauna hourglass comparison holds the listing table and the scores. Accept a 15-minute run, screws, and printed marks. Refuse a kitchen glass, adhesive-only fixing, and a printed tolerance treated as a certificate. The Products Compared editorial team used amazon.co.uk listings from 20 October 2026 and did not time the sand in a lab. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Run time | Wall mount | Interval marks | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | TFA TFA 40.1001 sauna hourglass | 15 minutes | Not stated | Not stated | 7.2 | about £14.00 | View offer |
| Best value | XLKJ XLKJ z229 wall hourglass | 15 minutes | 2 screws, hidden bar | Not stated | 6.6 | about £8.49 | View offer |
| Alternative | Temple Lodge Temple Lodge SAUST15 | 15 minutes | Strip, 2×30 mm screws | 5 and 10 minutes | 5.9 | about £11.99 | View offer |
On this page
What you are actually buying
Six checks before you pay
What the price does not buy
Timer only, or a dial as well
Common questions
What should a sauna hourglass listing say before you pay?
Is 15 minutes the only useful run time?
Do you need screws, or is adhesive enough?
What does ±10% or "accurate to 30 seconds" mean?
When is the Hojalis set the wrong buy?
Related pages
Sources
Sources taken from the research digest. Listings were checked on 20 October 2026.
- TFA Dostmann — sauna hourglass 40.1001 (retrieved 20.10.2026)
- GOV.UK — General Product Safety Regulations 2005 (retrieved 20.10.2026)
- legislation.gov.uk — Consumer Rights Act 2015, section 9 (retrieved 20.10.2026)
- Collingwood Surgery NHS — sauna or jacuzzi in pregnancy (retrieved 20.10.2026)
- UHCW NHS — cardiac rehab leaflet (retrieved 20.10.2026)
- WARMTH — sauna FAQ (retrieved 20.10.2026)
- ASA — substantiation of objective claims (retrieved 20.10.2026)
- amazon.co.uk — TFA 40.1001 listing (retrieved 20.10.2026)


