Sauna heater electrical requirements UK
You have a 3.6 kW or 6 kW stove in the basket and you are hoping it uses the socket beside the cabin. It will not. The serious listings in this amazon.co.uk set either say the plug is absent or they say nothing, and silence is not a 13 A lead. These sauna heater electrical requirements are a hard-wired circuit, designed by an electrician. The listings themselves are on the [3–6kW sauna heater comparison](/hub/steam-baths/3-6kw-sauna-heater). The notes below are public UK guidance, checked on 19 October 2026, and your installation still needs a qualified person. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.
You have a 3.6 kW or 6 kW stove in the basket and you are hoping it uses the socket beside the cabin. It will not.
You have a 3.6 kW or 6 kW stove in the basket and you are hoping it uses the socket beside the cabin. It will not. The serious listings in this amazon.co.uk set either say the plug is absent or they say nothing, and silence is not a 13 A lead. These sauna heater electrical requirements are a hard-wired circuit, designed by an electrician. The listings themselves are on the 3–6kW sauna heater comparison. The notes below are public UK guidance, checked on 19 October 2026, and your installation still needs a qualified person. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Stated power | Supply | Plug | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Mxmoonant Mxmoonant 6 kW digital sauna heater | 6 kW | 215–240 V and 380–415 V | Not included | 6.7 | about £297 | View offer |
| Alternative | Mxmoonant Mxmoonant 6 kW sauna heater | 6 kW | 215–240 V and 380–415 V | Not included | 5.4 | about £269 | View offer |
| Best value | DMETE DMETE 3.6 kW internal-control heater | 3.6 kW | Not stated | Not stated | 3.8 | about £185.05 | View offer |
On this page
There is no plug in the serious listings for a reason
The hot room needs different cable from the rest of the house
England and Wales notify a new circuit; Scotland does not use Part P
RCD is not one slogan
Common questions
Can this stove use a normal 13 A plug?
How many amps is 6 kW at 230 V?
Do I need a new circuit?
Is the work notifiable where I live?
What cable goes inside the hot room?
Does the heater circuit have to have a 30 mA RCD?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listing files named below, checked for this comparison on 19 October 2026. Page updated October 2026.
- Harvia, how to select heater power (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Oceanic Saunas, wall heater volume table (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Elec-Mate, sauna electrical installation (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Sandwich Electrical, sauna heater supply (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- IET Wiring Matters, 3 kW load and a 13 A connection (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- IET, Part P in Scotland and Northern Ireland (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- Harvia Unio 3.6 kW, stated room volume (retrieved 19 October 2026)
- amazon.co.uk, Mxmoonant 6 kW listing B0DD3HCJS1 (retrieved 19 October 2026)


