Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best electric stapler UK: three mechanisms compared

Updated: October 2026

You need an automatic stapler for a home desk, but the amazon.co.uk shelf makes seven colour listings look like seven different machines. The best electric stapler UK choice in this group is a decision between three mechanisms: Rapesco 626EL, Eagle EG-1610BA and EcoElectronix EX-25. Our [electric stapler comparison](/hub/staplers-and-nail-guns/electric-stapler) carries the individual prices and specification rows. Here, the question is who each mechanism suits, where its claim stops, and when a cheaper colour is the same working parts. These are listing and review comparisons, not laboratory tests.

You need an automatic stapler for a home desk, but the amazon.co.uk shelf makes seven colour listings look like seven different machines.

Our top picks

On this page

What a top pick means in this group

A top pick should match your normal stack before it wins on colour, star rating or the largest number in a title. Rapesco states 15 sheets of 80 gsm. Eagle raises the number to 20 but does not state the paper weight. EcoElectronix says 30 sheets, again without a gsm figure. A bare 30 is not proof that the machine will handle twice the workload of a documented 15-sheet model. Rapesco names 26/6 and supplies 1,000 staples. Eagle names both 24/6 and 26/6, though its bullets do not state that staples are supplied. EcoElectronix does not name its staple code on these amazon.co.uk listings.

Rapesco 626EL when 15 sheets of 80 gsm is enough

The Rapesco 626EL is the clearest fit for letters, invoices and other short stacks of standard office paper. It specifies 15 sheets of 80 gsm, a front-loading half-strip magazine and 26/6 staples. The box includes 1,000 staples and a USB cable. Four AA batteries and a mains USB charger are not included. Its concealed head suits a home or shared desk, provided you treat it as stationery rather than a toy. Powder blue, clear and black use the same mechanism. On 16 October 2026 their amazon.co.uk prices were £25.95, £28.57 and £35.21, while capacity, staple code and the shared rating were unchanged. Powder blue is the best value among the 626EL listings unless you specifically want a transparent case or a black finish. Paying more for black did not buy a stronger motor or a higher stated capacity. The compromise is the 15-sheet ceiling, and reviews include jams.

Eagle when you want 24/6 and 26/6 named

The Eagle EG-1610BA explicitly accepts both 24/6 and 26/6. It claims up to 20 sheets and can run from an AC adapter or four AA cells, not both at once. At £26.99 on 16 October 2026 it sat close to the cheapest Rapesco. Eagle does not state the paper weight behind 20 sheets. Its bullets do not clearly include staples, and no warranty line was on the listing. The material field says UK adapter, but the included-components list is absent, so confirm the current box. The rating is 4.1 from 166 reviews. Some owners mention a shallow throat or incomplete clinching. It suits a buyer who wants two named staple codes, and it is less persuasive if you need capacity tied to 80 gsm. Those code trade-offs are on the electric stapler buying guide.

EcoElectronix when the 30-sheet claim is the point

The EcoElectronix EX-25 is the fit when you want the largest stated stack in this compact group. It claims 30 sheets, uses a full-strip magazine and can run from an AC adapter or six AA cells. The shared 4.5 out of 5 from 4,636 reviews is the strongest rating line here. Reviews include sustained daily use and units that failed after days or months. The white and black listings include the stapler, owner's manual and AC adapter. The red listing mentions adapter operation in its bullets but does not list an adapter under included components. White and red were both £32.90, and black was £35.90, so white was the clearer package at the lower EX-25 price. The listings do not state the paper weight or the staple code. The warranty field says "No warranty", and a bullet on the black listing says limited lifetime warranty. Confirm both with the seller. A 30-sheet claim does not place it in the same class as a 50-sheet, 230 V Rapid office machine.

Who should skip all seven listings

Skip this compact group if you routinely staple more than 30 sheets, need a specified deep insertion point, or only staple a couple of comfortable stacks each week. A manual model avoids batteries and a mechanism that may sit unused. None of these machines is for upholstery, timber or cable. If you already own a 626EL, follow the maker's load and jam steps rather than a procedure written for another brand.

Common questions

Which listing suits short stacks of ordinary paper?
The Rapesco 626EL is the clearest match because it states 15 sheets of 80 gsm and includes 1,000 of the required 26/6 staples. Powder blue was the least expensive colour on 16 October 2026. It is the wrong fit if your routine stack exceeds 15 sheets.
Are the three Rapesco colours different machines?
No functional difference is stated. Powder blue, clear and black share the 626EL mechanism, the 15-sheet 80 gsm claim, the 26/6 staple code, the power options and the review line. Prices differ, so choose the least expensive colour unless the finish itself is worth paying more for.
Is Eagle the only model that names two staple codes?
Yes within this group. Eagle lists both 24/6 and 26/6. Rapesco specifies 26/6, while the EcoElectronix listings do not state a staple code. Two compatible codes are useful, but they do not fill in Eagle's unstated paper weight or unclear box contents.
Which EcoElectronix colour lists the adapter?
The white and black listings include an AC adapter. The red listing's bullets mention adapter operation, but its included-components line is absent. White cost the same as red on 16 October 2026, so white was the clearer package if those prices still match.
Does each colour have its own full review count?
No. Rapesco colours share 4.1 from 1,232 reviews, and EcoElectronix colours share 4.5 from 4,636. Adding those totals once per colour would count the same shared review population repeatedly and make the evidence look larger than it is.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources on plugs, voltage, staple sizes, and faulty goods, plus the Rapesco 626EL sheet. amazon.co.uk listings checked 16 October 2026. Prices move.

  1. Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016, regulation 35 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. GOV.UK, Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. Electricity Safety, Quality and Continuity Regulations 2002, regulation 27 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. GOV.UK, accepting returns and giving refunds (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. AOS staple size guide (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. Leitz stapler buying guide (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Rapesco 626EL instructions (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. Rapesco 626EL product page (retrieved 16 October 2026)