Coil nailer buying guide
You have a compressor, a run of timber, and a search page full of drums. A coil nailer buying guide only helps if it starts with the nail, not the brand. Length, head, shank and firing mode decide whether the gun can do the job. The pound price is the check after that. The [coil nailer comparison](/hub/staplers-and-nail-guns/coil-nailer) holds the eleven amazon.co.uk listings this page uses, from £85.46 to £679.44. A qualifying purchase through those links can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Figures were taken from those listings on 20 October 2026. We did not fire the guns.
You have a compressor, a run of timber, and a search page full of drums. A coil nailer buying guide only helps if it starts with the nail, not the brand.
You have a compressor, a run of timber, and a search page full of drums. A coil nailer buying guide only helps if it starts with the nail, not the brand. Length, head, shank and firing mode decide whether the gun can do the job. The pound price is the check after that. The coil nailer comparison holds the eleven amazon.co.uk listings this page uses, from £85.46 to £679.44. A qualifying purchase through those links can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Figures were taken from those listings on 20 October 2026. We did not fire the guns.
Our top picks
| Badge | Product | Nail length | Collation | Firing mode | Note | Price | Offer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | meite meite CN70B | 45–70 mm | Flat-top coil | Not stated | 10.0 | about £149.99 | View offer |
| Best value | 3 Plus 3 Plus HCN45SP | 3/4–1 3/4 in full-head | 15°, 11 gauge, full head | Single shot or bump | 8.8 | about £85.46 | View offer |
Tacwise Tacwise JCN90V | 50–90 mm | Flat top, 2.5–3.3 mm | Sequential and contact trip | 8.4 | about £298.95 | View offer |
On this page
Three guns that share a name
The six checks, in order
What the listing is not telling you
Where to go next
Common questions
What nail length do I need before I pick a brand?
Is a 15° coil the same for roofing and fencing?
Do I need sequential fire or bump fire?
What if the listing does not state pressure or shank?
Do I have to buy a compressor as well?
Can I trust a star line of 1,200 as UK buyers?
Related pages
Sources
Public UK sources from the research digest, listed below. amazon.co.uk prices, stars and review counts are the lines on these listings. Page updated 21 October 2026.
- HSE, Nail guns (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- Control of Noise at Work Regulations 2005, regulation 4 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- HSE, noise duties for employers (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- HSE, PUWER overview (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- HSE, INDG178 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- BS EN ISO 11148-13:2018 (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- Electrical Safety First, nail guns (retrieved 21 October 2026)
- BCAS fact sheet, Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008 (retrieved 21 October 2026)


