Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Auto darkening welding helmet buying guide

Updated: October 2026

You searched amazon.co.uk for a Stahlwerk welding helmet and the basket is a different set of brands. The twelve listings, captured on 16 October 2026, are DEKO, LIMXYZ, MIGVAN, ANDELI, YESWELDER, TOOLIOM, HITBOX, ATOMPLAN and one unbranded shell. None is a Stahlwerk model. This auto darkening welding helmet buying guide puts the checks in order: the brand on the box, the four-digit optical class, the light and dark shades, the sensor count, then the mark on the filter. Shelf prices run from £24.99 to £103.99. The twelve-row table is on the [Stahlwerk welding helmet comparison](/hub/soldering-and-welding/stahlwerk-welding-helmet). We did not lab-test switching speed. A qualifying purchase can earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

You searched amazon.co.uk for a Stahlwerk welding helmet and the basket is a different set of brands.

Our top picks

YESWELDER YESWELDER 4/9-13

Best overall

YESWELDER YESWELDER 4/9-13
9.1/10about £37.04
Unbranded A810 unbranded

Best value

Unbranded A810 unbranded
7.6/10about £29.90
ANDELI ANDELI MOON

Alternative

ANDELI ANDELI MOON
5.8/10about £103.99
On this page

The name on the search is not the name on the helmet

Stahlwerk does sell auto-darkening helmets, including a fixed DIN 11 ROOKIE, from its own shop. That English page states class 1/1/1/2, two sensors, a 91 by 39 mm window, DIN 3 in the light state and a fixed DIN 11 dark shade, at €24.99 including German VAT. That euro figure is a catalogue price, not an amazon.co.uk price, and the ROOKIE is not one of these twelve ASINs. If the listing says DEKO, YESWELDER or HITBOX, you are buying that brand. The two DEKO rows are both £28.99 and both show 4.3 from 3,675 reviews, so do not add those totals. The A810 prints no brand at all. Who each price band is for is on the best helmets in this set.

Optical class before true colour

The four digits score clarity, scattered light, how even the shade is, and the viewing angle. A 1 is the clearer step on each digit. “True colour” in a bullet is a seller phrase. It does not stand in for those numbers. ANDELI MOON and ATOMPLAN AP-100S state 1/1/1/1. Both YESWELDER rows, TOOLIOM TL-31800H and the A810 state 1/1/1/2. Both DEKO listings state 1/2/1/2, so the second digit is the weaker step. HITBOX HT111, LIMXYZ M-001 and both MIGVAN models do not print the digits. A blank class is not a pass. LIMXYZ’s 4.7 from 112 reviews does not fill it. When two helmets are close in price, take the one that prints the class.
YESWELDER YESWELDER 4/9-13

Testsieger

YESWELDER YESWELDER 4/9-13
9.1/10about £37.04

Shade, grind and sensors

You need a light state for set-up and grinding, and a dark range for the arc. ATOMPLAN states DIN 3 for grinding, DIN 5-9 for cutting and DIN 9-13 for welding. Most others state a light shade near DIN 4 and a dark range of 9-13 or 5-9/9-13. Both DEKO pages mention grind and do not print a numeric range. Do not weld in grind mode. That setting holds a light shade for a disc. Side windows are a separate limit: on the YESWELDER LYG-Q800D they are DIN 5 and do not auto-darken, and ATOMPLAN’s side screens are fixed at DIN 6. Two sensors are the budget pattern. Four or six are stated on the dearer rows. UK reviews on the H-25 and the ANDELI still describe flashing on TIG, so the count is not a guarantee. That case is on the welding helmet for TIG page.

The mark on the filter

The Health and Safety Executive treats the welding visor as eye and face protection and expects a relevant British or European welding standard. The helmet does not control welding fume. Both YESWELDER listings cite EN ISO 16321, with ANSI Z87.1 and CSA Z94.3. Both MIGVAN listings cite ANSI Z89.1 and CE. Z89.1 is a US hard-hat standard, not a welding-filter class, and a CE mark does not state the four optical digits. HITBOX, DEKO, ANDELI, ATOMPLAN, TOOLIOM and LIMXYZ do not cite a welding-standard number in the extract. From 11 November 2025, BSI’s briefing moves new protectors toward EN ISO 16321-1 and welding filters toward EN ISO 16321-2. Older stock may still read EN 379 and EN 175. If the listing is blank, still test the filter, which is the how to use page.

What to check on the day

Strike a short arc on scrap before you weld anything you care about. If the lens stays light, stop. DEKO reviewers describe a filter that stayed light after a battery change. An A810 reviewer had no darkness knob and a screen that was not dark enough. Cover lenses are a consumable. The A810 title says six replacements, and a UK review says one arrived. A daily HITBOX user cannot find replacement outer lenses. The larger YESWELDER says CR2450 in one line and CR2430 in another. HITBOX says 390 g and 410 g. Solar assist does not replace a flat cell. A TOOLIOM headband broke on a second use, and HITBOX reviewers call the shell narrow with varifocal glasses. None of this is a laboratory score.

Common questions

Are these Amazon helmets actually Stahlwerk?
No. Every ASIN in this comparison is another brand, or an unbranded A810 shell, that ranked for a Stahlwerk search on amazon.co.uk. Stahlwerk’s own ROOKIE specification is published on the manufacturer’s shop in euros. That page is not a UK listing, and that helmet is not in this file. Check the brand line before you pay.
What does 1/1/1/1 mean compared with 1/1/1/2 and 1/2/1/2?
The four digits grade clarity, diffusion, shade evenness and viewing angle. A 1 is the clearer step. ANDELI and ATOMPLAN state 1/1/1/1. Several rows state 1/1/1/2. Both DEKO listings state 1/2/1/2. HITBOX, LIMXYZ and both MIGVAN models do not print the digits. A seller’s “true colour” line is not the same as a 1 in the first position.
What shade range do I need for MIG and for grinding?
You want a light state around DIN 3 or 4 for set-up and grinding, and a dark range that reaches about DIN 9-13 for the arc. ATOMPLAN prints those steps separately. Most other rows print DIN 4 plus 9-13 or 5-9/9-13. Both DEKO pages leave the numbers off. Grind mode is for the disc. Put the helmet back to a welding shade before you strike.
How many sensors matter for TIG?
Two sensors are common under £40 in this file. Four or six are stated on the dearer rows. MIGVAN H-25 states four sensors and still has a UK review of the lens flashing on TIG. ANDELI states six and also has a flicker review, plus a review that says TIG worked. Treat the number as a claim, then test a low-amp arc on scrap.
Is CE or ANSI Z89.1 a welding-filter standard?
No. A CE mark does not state the optical class. ANSI Z89.1, which both MIGVAN listings cite, is a US industrial hard-hat standard, not EN 379 and not EN ISO 16321-2. The YESWELDER listings are the rows here that name EN ISO 16321. Several other listings name no welding standard at all.
What changed with EN ISO 16321 in November 2025?
BSI’s briefing of 11 November 2025 points new eye and face protectors toward EN ISO 16321-1, and welding filters toward EN ISO 16321-2. Older helmets may still be marked EN 379 and EN 175. The change does not turn a blank Amazon bullet into a pass, and it does not mean a CE logo is the new welding mark.
Does the helmet also protect me from welding fume?
No. HSE keeps the visor and welding fume as separate controls. A dark lens does not extract metal fume, and it does not assess a confined space or coated metal. If you employ welders, PPE at Work still requires suitable protection where the risk is not controlled another way. A personal Amazon order is not that assessment.

Related pages

Sources

Public UK sources and the amazon.co.uk listings in this set, captured on 16 October 2026.

  1. HSE, welding controls (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  2. PPE at Work Regulations 1992 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  3. HSE, PPE regulations 2022 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  4. BSI, BS EN 379:2003+A1:2009 (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  5. BSI, eyewear transition briefing (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  6. NHS, eye injuries (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  7. Royal United Hospitals Bath, arc eye leaflet (retrieved 16 October 2026)
  8. Stahlwerk ROOKIE helmet (euro shop price) (retrieved 16 October 2026)