Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Best extension lead UK

Updated: 23 October 2026

You want one extension lead named for the room in front of you, and roundups say best without saying who should walk away. The best extension lead UK, in this comparison, is the listing whose stated length and features match the job. Star ratings are amazon.co.uk scores, not a lab certificate, and nothing here was tested on a bench by Products Compared. The [extension lead comparison](/hub/sockets-and-extension-leads/extension-lead) holds the twelve rows, with prices from 21 October 2026. A qualifying Amazon purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.

You want one extension lead named for the room in front of you, and roundups say best without saying who should walk away.

Our top picks

On this page

What best means on this page

Best here means a stated job: a switched 2 m lead for a desk, a basic 2 m lead when price is the point, or a 5 m unswitched lead when the socket is across the room. The top pick is the 4.8-star switched Masterplug. The best value is the £6.99 Desiretech, with far more reviews and no surge claim. Neither badge is a safety award. The checks before a short list are on the extension lead buying guide. Lookinto, on 8 October 2026, noted that the switches on the £9.50 Masterplug do not add capacity, because one fuse still protects the strip. Every pick is a 13 A lead.

A switched 2 m lead when you want surge and a socket you can turn off

The default within 2 m is the Masterplug SWSRG4210N-MP, B07XJFH54B, at £9.50: four switched sockets and 370 joules in the table. Across 1,232 reviews it is 4.8 stars, the highest in this set. That is the top pick when you want a switch and a printed joule figure. Skip it for 5 m or more. A second lead on the end is the wrong fix. Wall mounting is not stated, there is no USB, and the lights are bright in a dark room. Four switches are not four times 13 A.

A basic 2 m lead when the price is the point

Choose the Desiretech four-gang, B08TWZD1H4, at £6.99 for four sockets and about 2 m. It is 4.6 from 13,380 reviews, the largest sample here, which is why it is the best value. It does not beat the switched Masterplug at being a surge lead. The title claims none. At least one reviewer calls the plastic cheap, and another reports a unit that arrived broken. The outdoor field states no IP rating, so keep it indoors. There are no switches and no USB. If a television or a PC is the reason to buy, pay for a lead that prints joules.

A 5 m Masterplug when the socket is across the room

Choose the Masterplug BFG5-MP, B0001P0GDK, at £9.99 when the socket is on the far wall and you do not need switches. It is four sockets, 5 m, 4.7 from 10,218 reviews, and the bullets cite BS 1363-2 and safety shutters. The table says 4 USB ports and 1 joule. The title says basic and unswitched, so those cells are not features. If you need switches and 5 m together, the PARTH 3026-5m at £23.99 does that and still prints no joules. That comparison is on the surge protected or basic extension lead page.

Who should skip the longest, the tower and the smallest review sample

Skip the 10 m PARTH, B0CGHTNFS9, at £29.99 unless you have measured that run. It has a surge claim, no joule figure, and 4.6 from 223 reviews. Spare cable has to lie loose, not under a rug. Skip the TESSAN tower, B09C29CGMS, at £25.99 if you need a stated length. It claims 1,700 joules and dry conditions only, and the bullets never state the metres. The table says 101 A beside a 3,250 W bullet. Skip the IECOPOWER, B0F2N6TYRT, as a default: £23.99 and 1,050 joules claimed, but only 90 reviews at 4.4, including a pop on first plug-in.

Common questions

Which listing is the sensible default for a normal room?
The switched Masterplug four-socket 2 m lead at £9.50, if the socket is within 2 m and you want each socket off on its own, plus 370 joules in the listing. It is 4.8 from 1,232 reviews. It is the wrong default when you need 5 m, USB, or a lead you can confirm is wall mounted, because wall mounting is not stated on that listing.
Who should buy the £6.99 Desiretech instead?
Buy it for lamps and chargers on a 2 m run when you do not need surge protection or switches. The 4.6 from 13,380 reviews is a large sample for a basic strip, which is why it is the best value here. Do not buy it for a television you would be upset to lose, and do not treat the outdoor recommended-uses field as an IP rating.
When is the 5 m unswitched Masterplug the better fit?
When the wall socket is across the room and a 2 m lead would leave you pulling the cable taut or adding a second lead. It is £9.99, 4.7 from 10,218 reviews, with a BS 1363-2 bullet. Ignore the table’s USB ports and 1 joule. If you also need a switch on every socket, this unswitched bar is the wrong 5 m lead.
Why is the 10 m PARTH not the best just because it is longest?
Because spare cable still has to lie loosely, and this listing does not print joules beside its surge claim. It costs £29.99 and has 223 reviews. Buy 10 m when you have measured 10 m. A shorter lead that reaches is the better buy for a desk, and coiling the rest under a rug is the failure mode the length creates.
Does 4.8 from 1,232 beat 4.6 from 13,380?
They answer different questions. The 4.8 is the highest star rating in this set, on the switched 2 m Masterplug. The 4.6 from 13,380 is a much larger sample on a basic Desiretech with no surge claim. Neither figure is a safety test. Use the stars with the feature list, not instead of it.

Related pages

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Prices and review counts are a stored amazon.co.uk snapshot, not a live check. This page did not run a lab test.

  1. SI 1994/1768 — Plugs and Sockets etc. (Safety) Regulations 1994 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  2. GOV.UK — Electrical Equipment (Safety) Regulations 2016 (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  3. Electrical Safety First — Extension leads, cable reels and block adaptors (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  4. Electrical Safety First — Plugs and fuses (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  5. London Fire Brigade — Cables, fuses and leads (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  6. Scottish Fire and Rescue Service — Electrical safety (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  7. County Durham and Darlington Fire and Rescue Service — Extensions and leads (retrieved 22.10.2026)
  8. HSE — HSG107 Maintaining portable electrical equipment (retrieved 22.10.2026)