Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Stainless steel cutting disc

Updated: 21 October 2026

You have cut a stainless bracket or a length of tube, and a day later the edge shows rust spots that the parent metal never had. A stainless steel cutting disc is the pack that says stainless or inox, and a contamination number counts only when that listing prints it. The [cutting disc comparison](/hub/sanders/cutting-disc) holds the GBP prices and the wording on each amazon.co.uk row. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you. Peter F. compared the listings and the review notes on 19 October 2026, and did not section a weld. Diameter sits on the [cutting disc buying guide](/hub/sanders/cutting-disc/sub/cutting-disc-buying-guide).

You have cut a stainless bracket or a length of tube, and a day later the edge shows rust spots that the parent metal never had.

Our top picks

On this page

Why stainless is fussier than mild steel

Stainless resists rust because of the chromium-rich surface. Iron, sulphur and chlorine left in the cut can break that surface down, which is why a brown freckle appears along an otherwise bright edge. A disc labelled for mild steel can still sever the metal. It is the wrong tool when the edge has to stay stainless afterwards. Saw-Tech’s UK guide puts aluminium oxide on ferrous metals, including stainless. Engweld puts silicon carbide on non-ferrous work and masonry. Inox on a pack is the trade word for stainless. It is not a laboratory analysis of the bond. In this set of twelve listings, only one bullet states a limit. Everything else that says stainless, INOX, or V2A/V4A is a material claim without that number.

What these listings actually print

Metabo’s 616358000 is a tin of ten A 60-R discs, 115 × 1.0 × 22.23 mm, at £4.95, maximum 13,200 rpm. The bullets state iron, sulphur and chlorine at or below 0.1 percent. EN 12413 is not in the safety field. The star line is 4.6 from 465. The written reviews are from other Amazon marketplaces, so they are not UK opinion. When you need the limit in writing, this is the listing that has it. Starrett at £5.03 and the Merryland 115 mm packs name stainless or INOX and do not print a contamination figure. Merryland’s 4.6 from 8,013 is one shared review block, not a stainless test. TechZone’s 0.8 mm pack names stainless and does not state a bore. STONE REEF names V2A and V4A, which are grade families, not an Fe + S + Cl figure. Faithfull lists stainless beside brick and plastic. The Lozlin diamond set, 1.0 from one review, is the wrong shortlist for a bright edge.

Thin kerf on sheet and tube

On stainless sheet and thin tube, a narrow kerf keeps the heat in a smaller band. The small-grinder discs here are 0.8 mm, about 1.0 mm, or WORKPRO’s 1.2 mm. The Bosch disc is 230 × 3 mm, and it is a poor substitute for a 1 mm slit in thin sheet. Thinner is easier to twist. A UK review of Starrett says thin discs shattered after kickback. Straight cuts only. Do not dress the edge by laying the cutting disc on its side. FEPA says a cutting wheel is not a grinding wheel. If the guard is 125 mm, the word inox does not settle the size.

What to buy for which stainless job

If the edge has to stay corrosion-resistant and you want the limit on the listing, buy the Metabo tin and accept that EN 12413 is not printed there and that the written reviews are not British. If a stainless label is enough, Starrett at £5.03 or a Merryland 115 mm pack is the shortlist, provided the grinder is 115 mm. TechZone is the thinner kerf, with the bore missing. Skip MIDO until the 1 mm versus 1.2 mm conflict is resolved. Skip the diamond set, Faithfull when the afternoon is also masonry, and any 125 mm pack if the guard is 4.5 inch. The best cutting discs page sets those conditionals. Mounting is on the how to use a cutting disc page.

Common questions

What does inox mean on a pack?
Inox is the usual trade label for stainless steel. On Merryland’s bullets it appears as stainless / INOX beside steel, angle and pipe. It tells you the seller is aiming the disc at stainless. It does not, on its own, state how much iron, sulphur and chlorine is in the bond. Only a figure printed on that listing does that.
Will a normal steel disc leave rust on stainless?
It can. Iron from a general steel disc, or from cutting mild steel and then stainless with the same wheel, is a common way for rust spots to appear on an edge that should stay bright. This page cannot quantify that for every brand. If the appearance matters, use a disc that says stainless, and use the Metabo listing when you need the 0.1 percent line in the bullets.
Which listing states iron, sulphur and chlorine?
Only Metabo B000VE2LH0. The bullets say iron, sulphur and chlorine at or below 0.1 percent. The disc is 115 × 1.0 × 22.23 mm, class A 60-R, 13,200 rpm, £4.95 for ten. EN 12413 is not in the safety field. Do not copy that 0.1 percent line onto Starrett, Merryland, TechZone or STONE REEF.
Does V2A or V4A on the STONE REEF pack mean iron-free?
No. The listing names stainless, including V2A and V4A, on a 125 × 1.0 mm disc at £12.99. It does not state an iron, sulphur and chlorine limit. Those grade names describe the steel you might cut. They are not a chemistry spec for the wheel. The pack is also 125 mm, so it belongs on a 125 mm guard.
Can I use the diamond blade on stainless?
The Lozlin set is three 115 mm diamond blades, brand field Penfuzon, at £9.79. The only UK review describes a very slow cut on an M10 mild-steel screw. The title also lists concrete, PVC, granite and marble. That is not evidence of a clean stainless edge. Use a bonded inox disc for the bracket, and leave this set until it has more than one review.

Related pages

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Prices, stars and review counts are the stored amazon.co.uk listing figures from 19 October 2026.

  1. HSE HSG17 — Safety in the use of abrasive wheels (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  2. HSE — PUWER overview (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  3. FEPA — Safety leaflet, bonded abrasives (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  4. Abrasives Safety — Reinforced bonded wheels (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  5. Engweld — How to choose a cutting disc (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  6. Saw-Tech UK — Choosing a cutting disc (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  7. Cutwel UK — Grinding discs guide (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  8. Toolstation — Angle grinder buying guide (retrieved 21.10.2026)