Independent comparisons. We may earn from shop links. More info

Belt disc sander buying guide for a UK workshop

Updated: 21 October 2026

A belt disc sander buying guide is what you need when the listing is watts, millimetres and stars, and you still cannot tell if the machine fits the bench. You are choosing a corded 230 V combo for a garage or shed: a belt for edges and a disc for square ends. By the end you should know which size class to look for, why weight beats the wattage line, and what to check on dust. Live prices and review counts sit on the [belt and disc sanders comparison](/hub/sanders/belt-and-disc-sanders). Products Compared read amazon.co.uk listings on 19 October 2026 and did not run a lab test. A qualifying purchase can earn us a commission at no extra cost to you.

A belt disc sander buying guide is what you need when the listing is watts, millimetres and stars, and you still cannot tell if the machine fits the bench.

Our top picks

On this page

Who a bench combo actually suits

A bench combo suits you if the job is edges, ends and small faces, and you are tired of holding a portable sander square. Restorers use this class for table legs and drawer fronts. Model makers use the smaller machines for pens. It will not replace a floor sander, a thicknesser or a fabrication grinder. You still need a bench that will not walk, a BS 1363 plug, and somewhere for the dust to go. In these October 2026 listings the usual band runs from about £79 to about £200 for fixed-speed wood machines, with a variable-speed tier above £250.

Belt and disc sizes that match the work

The size for general UK woodwork is a belt about 100 mm by 914–915 mm, with a 150 mm disc. Axminster’s Perform PD150BDS specifies 100 × 915 mm and a 150 mm disc. The Clarke CS4-6E states 100 × 914 mm and a 150 mm disc. The compact class is about 25 × 762 mm with a 125 mm disc. The Sealey SM750 states 25 × 762 mm and 125 mm. The Bucktool MM493C states 25.4 × 762 mm and 125 mm, while its specification line prints 127 mm. That format will not flatten a wide face. If the belt size is not stated, as on both Einhell machines, do not guess a 4 × 36 belt from the wattage.

Motor, speed and the weight of the base

Wattage is a weak signal. Several mid-band machines state 370–380 W and then differ by several kilograms. The Clarke states 370 W and weighs 18.4 kg, with cast iron in the bullets. The KATSU 100198 states 375 W and weighs 13 kg. The Draper 98420 states a 370 W induction motor, cast iron and 17.1 kg, at £199.00, with only eight reviews. Heavier bases tend to walk less. Variable speed is separate from watts. The Bucktool BD4802IV states a 700 W variable-frequency drive at £299.99, with one review and no review text. The Einhell TC-US 380 states a fixed belt speed, and its adjustable rests are not a speed dial.

Dust extraction before you look at the brand

Fixed belt and disc sanders throw fine wood dust. HSE guidance in WD12 and WD13 treats local exhaust as part of using these machines: a hooded outlet on the belt and an annular hood on the disc, with guards left on. A port only helps if a hose is sealed to it and the extractor is running. The Clarke listing states 60 mm, and the Bucktool MM491GV bullets state 60 mm. The Einhell TC-US 350 and the Bucktool MM493C do not state a port at all. Hose sizes and the limit of a hobby setup are in the belt sander dust extraction guide.

A short checklist before you open a listing

On the comparison, match the belt to the work, then the disc, the weight, the dust port and the plug. One reviewer reported a European two-pin plug on the Einhell TC-US 350. A wood-only listing stays wood-only unless the bullets clearly claim metal. Ignore a 5.0 from a single review when a neighbour has more than a hundred. If two rows still look alike, the best belt and disc sanders page sorts them by who should buy which tier.

Common questions

What belt size should I buy for general woodworking?
For furniture edges and small faces, look for a belt about 100 mm by 914–915 mm and a disc about 150 mm. That is the size Axminster prints for the Perform PD150BDS, and it is what the Clarke CS4-6E states. A 25 mm belt is for craft and narrow edges. If the listing does not state the belt, as both Einhell rows fail to do, you cannot assume the larger size.
Is a 370 W motor enough for hobby use?
For hobby edges, a stated 370 W motor is the common mid-range figure, and it is enough if the base is stable and you are not hogging metal. The Clarke states 370 W at 18.4 kg. A lighter 375 W machine is not the same tool. Watts do not tell you the belt width or whether the table stays square.
Do I need variable speed?
You need it for metal, plastics or heat-sensitive edges. The Bucktool BD4802IV states that kind of drive, at £299.99 and with one review. For pine ends, a fixed-speed 4 × 36 combo is the usual DIY choice. Do not read adjustable work support as a speed control. The Einhell TC-US 380 bullets describe fixed belt and pad speeds.
How important is machine weight?
Weight is one of the better clues on the listing. A 7 kg Sealey can be quiet and useful for light work, and reviewers say so, but it is not the same presence as an 18.4 kg Clarke or a 17.1 kg Draper. Light machines walk more unless you bolt them down. Very light units suit occasional hobby use. They are a weak choice if you lean on the belt for long sessions.
Will any dust port fit my shop vacuum?
No. Ports in this class are often somewhere between about 30 mm and 63 mm outside, and the seal matters as much as the number. The Clarke listing states 60 mm. The Bucktool MM491GV bullets state 60 mm. Other rows only say a port exists. If the diameter is missing, budget for a step adapter and test the joint. An open port does not count as extraction.

Related pages

Sources

Sources taken from the research digest. Prices, stars and review counts are the stored amazon.co.uk listing figures.

  1. HSE WD12 — fixed narrow belt sanders (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  2. HSE WD13 — fixed disc sanders (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  3. Electrical Safety First — sanders (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  4. Axminster Perform PD150BDS specification (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  5. Charnwood BD46 product page (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  6. UK Workshop — bench belt sanders (retrieved 21.10.2026)
  7. amazon.co.uk listings for this comparison (retrieved 21.10.2026)